We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Super Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Super Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Amway Grand this weekend. The room was a luxury suite, so it was really nice and the view of the Grand River was spectacular! Beyond the room, the staff were amazing. The hotel was 100% full, and yet room service was fast, they were always professional and the night was quiet. The pool was perfect for the kids. Great stay, we would return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    363
    111
    68
    41
See reviews for
214
366
44
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I attended a conference in Grand Rapids at the Amway Thursday - Sunday... overall had a very good experience. I requested and received a higher floor, better view room (1791). We were in the newer 'tower' side... the view was of the river, JW Marriott and the city. Good sized room, a bit dated decor (I hear they're going to make some improvements soon). Bathroom is kind of boring - no granite, slate, nothing really special. One complaint is that the heating system fan was really loud. I actually turned off the system; luckily the weather allowed it. The service throughout the hotel was consistently very good - to the point that some younger guy who probably worked in maintenance actually walked us thru the building to find the access to the skywalk instead of just telling us how to get there.

Room Tip: request a high floor, tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lansingmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Polite staff, clean rooms. There are plent of restos nearby so don't bother eating in the hotel. Note the parking garage is on the left before you reach the main entrance on Pearl. Menswear shop in the lobby has dress socks and ties if you forgot. Their wi-fi does tend to kick you off rather quickly if inactive, but that's a minor quibble. Good for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
763 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Amway Grand while attending a meeting. I arrived relatively late and was checked in very quickly. My room was in the older part of the hotel on the 5th floor. It was relatively small but well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the TV was a nice flat screen. The internet was included and worked well with the wired connection. The bathroom was very small (think cruise ship with a tub). The water pressure in the shower was bad....I'm sure it's a "green" showerhead but I cannot understand how water is saved when a shower takes three times as long. Anyway, the small size was fine for one but if my wife had been along, it would not have been easy.

The hotel has severals shops and restaurants, which were convenient. I ate lunch in the sports bar and the food/service were fine. The meeting catering was typical...chicken entree. They did serve a chocolate dessert that was great.

I had an early flight home so the night before I asked the desk to schedule a cab. They did and it was waiting the next morning. The staff is a strong point of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbhakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was genuinely excited to be staying at the Amway Grand Plaza based upon it's reputation. As a business traveler, I usually settle for the mundane (i.e. Hampton Inn, etc.) but I went for the upgrade ; I thought. This place is an average (or below) hotel charging first class rates. It is remarkable that for a one night stay, I experienced the following : they charge an additional fee for the use of the health club (remember that they charge top dollar for room), there was no room service menu in room and after waiting over 45 minutes for one to arrive, I had a very poor fish and chips at the sports bar ; well below average. The coffee shop, scheduled to open at 6:30, opened 15 minutes late even though customers were waiting outside and employees casually ignored us. 15 minutes is alot when you are on a schedule. Coffee was $2.50 for a small cup. When my breakfast arrived at my room (on time at 7:30) I was shocked that the scrambled eggs were in fact rancid. I work in the food industry so I know rancid. It took almost an hour to get a replacement meal which has seriously impacted my schedule. "Grand Plaza" indeed !!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Ignace, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Michigan Fair Association holds its annual convention at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. This place is a sea of history, beauty and customer satisfaction at the top of their list. The 3-in-1 facility has merged 3 historic buildings to give multiple choices of accomodations, eateries and entertainment venue's and multiple choices on prices also, enabling people of all income levels to have a good time. The kitchen, built in the basement of the Pantlind hotel part of this complex, is the hub of all the out of this world tasty treats and meals for all the restaurants (about 5 or more), plus the banquets and weddings that take place here. There is a brand new kitchen in the Welch Auditorium/DeVos Hall part of the complex that is used only when a massive event is happening. A movie was shot in the tunnels that connect all the buildings, Pure Michigan ads were discussed and born during an event at the Amway Grand. They take pride in being almost totally green and master recyclers, and aim to use the resources found in Michigan to serve in the restaurants and other meals. An awesome blue LONG couch in the front Monroe street Lobby is the best people watcher spot too.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms in the Pantlind side are numbers ending with 47. The suites in the Pantlind side ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us! We know you and your organization have many hotel options in the Grand Rapids area and appreciate your choosing us. We are proud to have been the host to so many conventions and exciting events, but hearing from guests who have enjoyed their experience with us like you makes us even prouder. Thanks again for choosing the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel; we look forward to your next visit.

At your service,
C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent two nights at Amway Grand while my son participated in the All-State band program which was part of the Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association conference being held at this hotel and at DeVos center. We chose the hotel mainly on its proximity to DeVos center where rehearsals were being held. We were given a group rate for our room which was slightly less than the published AAA rate.

We were in a standard (their "classic") 2-queen room in the "glass tower" side of the hotel. While the room itself was fine, it was smaller than what I would expect for the price in this market. After all, we're not in Chicago or NYC. And the bathroom was surprisingly small and spartan; more like what I would expect in a Courtyard or Best Western. On this point, the Pantlind rooms may be more interesting and it's my understanding that they vary in size moreso than the newer glass tower side.

Our room was furnished with a flat-screen TV (42" or so?), worktable/desk, small fridge, small coffeemaker and the usual hair dryer, iron, etc. There were two desk chairs as well as a stuffed chair in addition to the two queen beds. The room had internet connection as well as wi-fi. We used both during our stay and they were easily accessed. The usual bath products (shampoo, soap, lotion, etc.) were provided.

Beds were comfortable; nice linens, great towels, robes provided. Our only complaint (but, unfortunately, a big one for us) were the bed pillows. The intent, I believe, was to provide three different types of pillows on each bed but, boy, did they skimp here. Hard-as-rock foam, lumpy foam and scratchy feather...

The hotel has an indoor pool, hot tub and workout gym area on the 4th floor of the glass tower side. They charge $5 per day access which, frankly, I was surprised by. The facilities are not nice enough, imo, to charge extra for and, at the prices they charge for the room, it just seemed tacky and annoying for the 15 mintues we spent in the luke-warm hot tub.

The other small annoyance was the email I received prior to arrival which asked about special amenities for our stay. The email offered a choice of complimentary daily newspapers, which I selected. I assumed it would be delivered to the room in the morning like any other business hotel. Never received one. Why bother asking if you're not going to deliver?

Despite the small annoyances, however, we really liked the feel of this hotel. It did, as advertised, have that "old world" ambiance, with a warm and inviting grand lobby where people naturally congregated, chatting over coffee, drinks, etc. The standout, for us, were the staff. Everyone, from the front desk to the valet staff and room service, were friendly and efficient and helpful. Even during what was obviously a very crowded and busy week at the hotel, they managed to maintain the level of service which we really appreciated. There were no long waits for valet parking or at the front desk and our room service arrived as promised. We don't always use these types of hotel services but, when we do, it's usually because we're pressed for time and it was a relief to be able to depend on them.

In the end, it was the hotel staff that turned an "average" stay into one that we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetTigerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 km away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing