We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, walk to downtown and museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Not only is the location of this property great for walking just about anywhere in downtown Grand Rapids, the hotel itself is really nice. Very clean and updated and the staff was extremely friendly. The little lobby bar is wonderful and they have great happy hour specials. There is a restaurant on site. We did not eat there, but ordered appetizers at the bar and they were stellar so I am guessing the food is good all the way around.

Yes it is adjacent to the expressway but we heard absolutely nothing and slept well.

The fabulous public museum is right next door, the Gerald R. Ford museum is directly across the street and the downtown area is just across the bridge and a super easy walk. If you're attending Artprize next year, this would be the place to stay!

Room Tip: If you're worried about expressway noise, request a room away from it. We were about halfway do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writesabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Was part of a group spending a night here. We booked 6 rooms all on Priceline name your own price. Ended up getting this place for around 90 dollars. Walking distance to downtown, although there were closer and nicer looking hotels close to the heart of the city. We did hear a bit of road noise being close to the expressway, but nothing too bad. Overall good choice for what we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel is nicely located across the street from the Gerald Ford museum and the Grand Rapids public museum. It is an easy walk to De Vos Center and downtown area. We went to the Wine, Beer and Food Festival, it was great. The hotel is very modern, decor up to date, very stylish. The room was comfortable, nice that sink is in room. Bathroom very clean but tiny. Others have complained of highway noise but we did not experience this. What was bothersome was a large bus with it's engine running parked outside below our room at 1:00 am. At first I thought it was someone checking in but after more than hour I called the front desk. Reply was "they're leaving now'. Not much sleep that night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The main purpose of my stay was business but I found that I had a lot of free time and was extremely happy that the hotel and the location fit both my needs. The hotel was nice and updated, clean, and in an excellent location within the city. The staff was extremely helpful as well and directed me to a host of local breweries/restaurants within a nice walking distance. As a solo female I asked about the safety and was told it was very safe and felt very comfortable walking throughout the city from the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to many great places in Grand Rapids. It is also next to a highway but I had no problems with any noise from it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksm67e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Grand rapids, Michigan in October for my son's wedding. We thought that other relatives would be staying here and we would all be together as a block of rooms was held months in advance of the wedding. So we moved from one hotel to the Holiday Inn where we all were placed on different floors, not happy about that #1. #2 the commodes would not flush, had to flush several times before it worked. Sinks are outside of the bath area. Just was not what I expected for the money we paid to stay here. Have to stay it was very clean. Another disappointment, one of the staff assumed I was drinking a "beer" in the lobby and frowned upon it and said drinking was not allowed in the lobby unless we were drinking in the bar area, well it was a can of soda not beer. So they were assuming before really checking to see what i was drinking. Not happy about that either. I would give 3 stars only~ Country Inn & Suites was the best, great staff, awesome beds, clean building.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed here for a business trip to Grand Rapids and was pleasantly suprised. Rooms were very nice and spacious, the location was great and the staff was very helpful. You can walk anywhere downtown to get some food or drinks and it was right off the highway so the location really made the place fantastic. I also got great advice from the staff on a place to eat within walking distance. Free wifi worked great too. Overall a super stay for a business traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank db70disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious, the room was spacious and even had a nice little kitchenette with a breakfast bar. Shower was perfect, the bed was comfortable, and it is a very convenient location for downtown Grand Rapids (esp during ArtPrize). Would definitely recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 km away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
371 reviews
0.7 km away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 km away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 km away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $194 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing