We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
27
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lord carnarvon guest house officers mess boer war cape town antique furniture the owner safe parking overnight stop value for money rooms are large dining area lamb pieter kitchen history restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 49 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

A vehicle breakdown forced us to stay over in Carnarvon and thank heavens we managed to get a room at Lord Carnarvon. Rooms are well appointed and impeccably clean - and, more importantly, very private.

The adjacent restaurant serves great meals at extemely reasonable prices.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndriesVrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We stopped overnight at Lord Carnarvon Guest House en route from Plettenberg Bay to Augrabies Falls and found the accommodation comfortable. It was an interesting building, having being used as a Mess House during the Anglo - Boer War and the decor was appropriate and fascinating. We did not have the breakfast but would haves loved eating in the long dining room, unfortunately we had an early morning departure. Pieter arranged a fantastic picnic breakfast which we enjoyed at a stop en route.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aubrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016

An old British Officers Mess and quarters from the Boer War. Very historic and interesting place. Although it doesnt have a restaurant on the premises the owners have a restaurant very close by where you can get the best traditional Karoo food. The rooms are large and very well decorated and clean.Lovely place!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rogerbR2770TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Pieter jy is te dierbaar!! ...even kilometers away from big cities you find this haven in Carnarvon filled with love, warmth and friendliness. I simply love the decor and history of the house. Thanks to Pieter and staff for making me feel at home after a long drive. Please visit the Lords Kitchen for the best "Skaapstertjies" yummy...my mond water nou nog, lekker plaas kos, met yummy brood. From the decor, the food, the staff, totally the best

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laetitia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

This (seriously) beautiful guesthouse will blow your mind. We had to stop during our trip to Augrabies and Carnarvon seemed like the most convenient location, but we had very low expectations. Until we arrived, that is.
The house is the restored Officers Mess from the Boer War and in perfect condition. The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and warm (with electric blankets), shower hot, and decor spectacular.
Breakfast was delicious and we dined at the owner's restaurant in town, Lord's Kitchen, which was also (seriously) fabulous. Well done to Pieter and his team, this was the highlight of our trip. We'll be stopping in Carnarvon again just to visit your places.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FabandFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews