We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
27
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lord carnarvon guest house officers mess boer war cape town antique furniture the owner safe parking overnight stop value for money rooms are large dining area lamb pieter kitchen history restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Rooms spacious and well decorated. Had good heating and comfortable blankets. The bathroom was neat and clean. Breakfast was well portioned and served in style. Will most definitely be back soon as doing work there for a while. Have also booked all our staff here if they travel to Carnarvon. Evening meal was just as nice in the owners own restaurant. Nice steak.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quentin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

We booked this facility by word of mouth and was very impressed.
Our room was large and tastefully decorated, everything was in place.
As country places go , this is as good as its get.
You can book with Pieter anytime.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank JPS594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

This little gem really surprised me. Filled with some beautiful Victorian furnishings and of course the history of the house.
Well sized rooms, comfortable beds and was very clean.
Our host Pieter was lovely. We had breakfast included which was very good and just what we needed to load us ready for the rest of the trip.

My only crit and it is a very tiny one, by this time I was getting desperate for some real coffee. The breakfast only had the option of instant coffee and no fresh coffee - But this could possibly have been that this particular day there was only us and another couple staying over.

The restaurant a block away is along side the Lord Carnarvon Hotel, called Lord Carnarvon's Kitchen. The lamb was fantastic. I had the lamb chops and my husband had the shank. Both done very well in the way only the people living in the Karoo know how too. If you are not staying over night, I recommend you pop in for your taste of Karoo Lamb.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise to be welcomed by the friendly staff and taken into the tastefully furnished and decorated rooms...affordable pricing, safe parking and an excellent supper at the nearby Lord's Restaurant completes the picture. I recommend Lord Carnarvon to everyone who admires and appreciates quality, good taste and friendly service.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulHWessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018

If using the R63/R27 between Johannesburg & Cape Town, or the Weskus, then The Lord Carnarvon hotel (Annexes and restaurant) is the only halfway stop on the route worth considering. If you have a grain of adventure and decided to avoid the soul destroying N1, then this route is best. Halfway, (More or less) you will be in Carnarvon, an old trading town from yesteryear. Today it is a little run down. The Lord Carnarvon however, is not! Well appointed and full of treasures collected by the owner, its a welcoming venue to stop and stretch before a relaxed nights sleep in very comfortable rooms, many filled with old antique furniture that today we only ever see in museums and timeless homes such as this. Rates are extremely reasonable and the management/owners very accommodating. The stress of the trip can be left at the gate and the halfway stop can truly be part of the holiday experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews