We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing pet friendly accommodation”
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Lovely, Australian bush gardens great use of space for extra guest to stay, with quality linen, robes and towels supplied
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Lovely, Australian bush gardens
great use of space for extra guest to stay, with quality linen, robes and towels supplied
Luxury all way, comfort plus bed, fine bed linen, towels and robes
Great yard for  you and your pets to explore, play, swim in the creek and chill
Full kitchen with all the essentials plus much more to make cooking easy
Lovely decks with daybeds and seating with bbq area for the ideal holiday
Your own gazebo to rest in, read in and relax in
Explore the amazing creek
Pets having fun on holiday at Mount Browne Cottage
Large yard area
Relaxing decks
Amazing creek
Enjoy your own gazebo
Admire the Australian Bush rainforest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Upper Orara, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beth B
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing pet friendly accommodation”
Reviewed April 27, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here with our two fur babies for two days on our way to Brisbane and then (booked for two days) on the return journey but extended to four days as this lovely cottage has everything for humans and dogs to ensure a relaxing time. It was a great and quiet location that just oozed kicked back relaxation from sitting on the deck watching kookaburras or stretched out on the lounge binging on Netflix (included). Kitchen had everything for staying in or town was 10 minutes away. Thank you Dale it was lovely to meet you. Highly recommend this boutique accommodation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2018
Thank you Beth & Mike for your lovely comments we feel the same about our cottage. Dale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pet friendly accommodation”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband, 2 pooches and I loved the place. As soon as we got there the dogs were off running around. Exploring. We heard the running of the creek and took off to check it out. Ended up staying there for ages as it was so relaxing. Best time of year I would say because there were no mozzies.
When we finally went inside the cottage, it was wonderful. So clean, well presented, and comfortable. Enough firewood was supplied for our 2 night stay.
And the bed was SO comfortable.
The only down side to our getaway was that the stay was way too short. Would loved to have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Hi Julie, Thank your for your lovely comments and so glad to hear you enjoyed the cottage and found it relaxing. Hope to see you again. Dale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbrown456...
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A serene location, quiet, yet close to all amenities and the sea; a class of accomodation that is hard to find.”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Nestled in the hinterland of Coffs Harbour, this is a gem. A superbly appointed cottage that offers all modern amenities in the style of a period building complete with leadlight doors and windows, and stained timber nestled in a lush rainforest. Large yard including a secure run for your pet. A cottage that transports you back to the 1880s when this area was first settled but with every holiday luxury that you could want. Our dog had a great time. We could not believe the amenities that were made available down to the owners complimentary free range eggs. Do not normally provide reviews, but this place was exceptional.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review, its feedback like yours that makes it all worthwhile. Regards Dale & Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tav007
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Calm and comfortable away from the coast”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have been traveling with our small dog from Adelaide to Brisbane and finding places to stay along the way proved to be a challenge. When we saw that this cottage was 'pet friendly' it gave us an ideal opportunity to have a bit of a spell over two nights and recover from all the driving. It was a great choice. It's a lovely property, just ten minutes away from Coffs Harbour in a lovely rainforest setting. Lots of birds (even saw a superb blue wren), a creek at the bottom of the garden, a fenced in area for the dog, a warm fire and a really well equipped home away from home. We cooked a roast dinner without a fuss... Very comfortable, great amenities - would be pleased to come back any time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and comfort of the house
Liked least: Some of the rules for the dog were a bit unrealistic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveFlm
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A charming, fantastic experience. We chose the Mount Browne Cottage mainly because they allowed us to have our two small dogs with us, the secluded location and cozy cottage was a bonus. Slightly difficult to find if you arrive after dark as we did, but that quickly gets forgotten as you step inside for the first time, the cottage is so inviting and homey. We felf comfortable, at peace and safe from the first moment we arrived on the property to the time we had to leave. The cottage is very well equiped with everything you would need to stay one night as we did or for several nights, all you need to do is supply your food. The bed in the master bed room was so comfortable, we had the best sleep that night. There are books, games, DVD's and a TV, which we didn't even turn on but it's there. There is wifi but we didn't bother to ask about it as we were there only one night and were happy to not use our technology. Cell phone reception at the cottage is very limited so keep that in mind when booking. Long story short, we would absolutely stay here again if ever back in the area. It's in a beautiful area, the cottage is perfect and it's so quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and quiet
Liked least: We only could stay for one night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice but needs some maintenance attended to”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family were keen to try out a pet holiday in a rental house. The booking all went well and we stayed at the "Top House". Now this place is located on a nice rural property which is about 10 mins west of Coffs Harbour. There is a corner shop half way in if needed.
We decided to get takeaway most nights or you can cook for a large family in the kitchen with gas cooktop and electric oven. Kitchen has a dishwasher which can't fit the large dinner plates which is slightly annoying :). The open plan kitchen dining and loungeroom is very comfortable for relaxing. The kids loved the pool which has a nice view of the mountains. This property is not fenced to contain a dog, it only has rural type fencing. Also there is nothing stopping your dog roaming down the property entrance road towards the public road. The pool is fenced well. Annoying things which occurred were cold showers every night ( I assume off peak hot water ) , little to no flyscreens, no garbage bins near house and the water pump constantly kicking in & out when turning the taps on ( it also goes off during early hours for some reason?). I did mention to the owner that it needs to be soundproofed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
This review is not for this property. I am not sure why it was placed here under Mount Browne Cottage. Could you please remove this as it is confusing to our customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPTravell...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a nervous and protracted wait for booking confirmation (the only negative of the whole experience was that we found it difficult to get in touch with the owners) we were pleasantly surprised to find the place was even better than expected. So well maintained and very clean, the owners have really thought of everything to keep every member of the family (furry ones included) happy. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thanks for your comment. When you book, it goes straight through, nothing to worry about. Thanks for staying with us and the nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing