We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kamel with a 'K' rocks!!!”
Review of Kamel

Kamel
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Albert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Delightful local restaurant serving Middle Eastern/ North African inspired mezze dishes. Friendly service & Australian wine list. Perfect for couples, groups of friends & family dinners. Close to from Albert Park lake & the beach, only 3km from the CBD on the number 1 tram.
Reviewed November 11, 2017

How did I not know about this place until yesterday?
Everything was incredible. From the online booking and confirmation service to the wonderful staff. Cannot fault our experience.
And let me tell you about the food.......
OMG!!! Every mouthful was sublime. There was not a thing we ate that we did not love.The beef cheek was soft as butter. The tagine meat fell apart. The pork belly was to die for. The sweet potato and sesame seed falafel was deliciously flavoursome.
What elevated this restaurant above so many others we have eaten at was the portions. There was a piece of each entree for each of us. No cutting the one piece of saganaki into 5. There were 5 pieces!!! There were 5 falafel.
Our waitress was so helpful and accommodating. The owner was so lovely to talk to....and we do apologise for being the last ones to leave.
We simply cannot wait to return.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2017

We went for dinner, great choice of food. Alas the beetroot salad is not on the menu at present. Lovely bread and dips, lovely filo parcel, my husband was very happy with the pork belly. It was a shame the courgette and corn fritters were not so nice but give the staff due they took it off the bill when I said they weren't very nice. The sweet potato chips were amazing!!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank den003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

A girlfriend I visited for a casual birthday dinner and found the food and the service to be delightful!

We'd had a big lunch so shared a number of small plates between the two of us. The Ali Baba cocktail was delicious.

Highly recommend a visit for delicious food and a casual and friendly night out.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Katie_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

"A taste of home". We had the tasting menu and it was a beautiful collection of dishes to spark fond memories of family dinner. A cosy atmosphere with friendly staff, we would definitely recommend it for a catch up with friends or an intimate dinner for two aside a warm fireplace.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank ClairePelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Still a good alternative to the usual pizza and pasta in the area. Dishes are good value for money, tasty and authentic.
Staff are friendly and helpful. A nice open fire in the back room.
Three of us had banquet #1 and it was filling. Easy Street parking as the restaurant is a short distance from the main accumulation of shops.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank LuckyPhil21C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamel also viewed

Albert Park, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
North Fitzroy, Yarra
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Kamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing