We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cherry Tree Inn(Saanich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$121
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent Inn Victoria(Victoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$174
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Motel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$134
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$167
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
74
105
42
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
105
42
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommonwealth pooloutdoor poolstationary bikefreezer compartmentfitness equipmentadjoining restaurantnice hot tubhockey tournamentwould stay here againsmall fridgebusiness tripferry terminalqueen suiteone night stayrooms are cleanfireside grilleasy access
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 235 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent 2 working weeks here, and found the stay to be very agreeable. Bed fine. Temperature fine. Sink, fridge & uWave worked.
Hotel restaurant was pretty good. You will want to plan to eat out ~4/7 nights for variety.
In-room desk was a little high for extended computing sessions.
Wireless internet was reliable 89% of the time. (Lots of Skype meetings & VPN'ing.)
Lost internet for one day. It was a snow day- I could see the wireless yagi antenna & it was all caked up with snow & the trees in the path were very heavily laden. Sun came out in the afternoon & internet came back up.

Was walking distance from the company I was working with, and I could walk the 1.5 Km west just fine even when it snowed. (hiking boots)
Felt secure walking in the area at all times. (as a 6'2" male)
There are a couple of shopping centers close by for the necessities (water, fruit, nuts, & a nice bakery!)

The Elk Lake park is just a couple of Km East, which has a very nice trail that circumnavigates the lake. ~10Km around. I did it on a showery Sunday, and the trail was in pretty good shape, with shale gravel footing & a few fun little streams crossing the trail that I could hop over. Lots of walkers & runners on this trail.

There is a bus terminal 0.5 Km west of the hotel with decent connections.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Howard Johnson on Elk Lake Drive in Victoria, in my opinion, can't be beat! We've been staying there during our yearly vacation to BC for around 7 years in a row, and are continually impressed with everything there! To start off, it's location is very nice. It is situated right next to Beaver and Elk lake parks, and is easily accessible from the Patricia Bay Highway. It is about ten minutes away from a small shopping complex, which is a nice bonus if you need that accessible, and there are a couple attractions nearby. The hotel itself is surprisingly nice! Everything looks newly renovated, the lobby is outstanding for the style of hotel, and everything is clean, contemporary, and comfortable. The staff are absolutely wonderful, and we have made good friends with lots of them during all of our visits there. They are always so friendly and helpful and really make you feel like you are at home. The hotel rooms are also fabulous. The beds are very nice, the televisions are newer and in good condition, and the bathrooms are roomy, clean, and comfortable. The hotel also has nice amenities such as free parking under and above ground, an outdoor (seasonal) pool, and an indoor fitness facility. The restaurant (The Lakes) attached to the hotel is also superb and the food and service can't be beat. All in all a very nice hotel, and I'd highly recommend this place to anybody looking for a nice place to stay while in the Victoria area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheYYCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take pride in our regular guests who return to the hotel year after year. We are always happy to see familar faces. Again, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you back for your annual visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Spent two nights here while visiting family over Christmas. First, let me say that the staff were incredibly friendly. Our first night there we were in a room at the front of the hotel. We did not sleep well it was too noisy due to the traffic from the highway. We also found the beds a bit saggy. We requested another room for our second night, this one across the hall facing the back of the hotel. No problems with traffic noise. We did, however, hear our neighbours talking at night. Fortunately, this did not last long and we slept OK. Nevertheless, I don't think one should hear the neighbours talking at all! The heating/airconditioning unit was too noisy - we were cold!

I also did not like being charged extra for having a third person in the room (our daughter) when we had booked two queen beds. We certainly did not get anything extra...no extra towels, etc. As well, the outdoor pool was closed for the season. I think for the price we paid (and for the fact that for very little more we could have stayed at a posher placer downtown) that this HoJo's is not really worth it. It is certainly OK if you want a location away from town, but the poor night's sleep does not make this hotel not a good choice, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Traffic noise too loud at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Sept 13 a group of us had made an arrangement to stay here for the second time. Reservations were prefect....got room requested...reservations for breakfast was right on....good breakfast and good rooms...friendly staff and helpful!

Room Tip: Request your intentions for the group and if they can do it they will do it for will...great co operation..
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanaimo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager11927, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

We are so 'happy' you took the time to write a review about your recent visit with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay AGAIN. We appreciate your business and loyalty. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is on the edge of Victoria. It is a quiet location that seems safe. There is underground parking which is great in rainy weather. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. Staff were friendly and a problem with our shower curtain was attended to very quickly. I would stay here again because I loved the location. It is just off the Pat Bay highway, on the way in to Victoria from the ferries.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou9408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager11927, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

We appreciate the time you took to write a great review of our property.THANK YOU! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. GO HAPPY. GO HOJO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews