We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for caring for us distressed passengers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After flight cancellations due to bad weather, West Jet provided a free stay at this hotel until we could fly out the next day. When we arrived, the front desk staff asked if we were the "distressed passengers", and proceeded to efficiently handle many passengers from the three cancelled flights (I think we overheard that nearly 50-rooms were booked for these passengers). Check in and check out was effortless and the quickest I have ever seen. The restaurant was 5-minutes away from closing when we arrived, but understood that none of us had eaten, since we had been standing in line at the airport for the last 3-hours, So, they took our orders and told us to wait in our room for the call that the food was ready for pick up. The food orders were huge, and I wonder if this was also to help us feel less distressed! The room was a clean and comfortable "home base" until we were able to fly out the next day. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review.

YOU ARE WELCOME. We understand that your stay wasn't what you had planned to do, but loved that despite events you weren't even more 'distressed' by your stay. In a circumstance as such, the little things make the most difference and I thank you for taking the time to let us know how happy you were. Life away from home can sometimes be unpredictable, we want everyone to know that we strive to make every guest's stay a little more familiar to home. We do hope to see you next time you are in Victoria by choice not by necessity, of course. Thank you AGAIN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Nice place just a few minutes out of downtown, let us check in early there for a wedding ans some of our family arrived really early and they let them check in. Clean well equipted. quiet night sleep, easy free parking.We did noteat in teh resturant for breakfast bbut had other guest tell us it was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled you were happy with your stay. We are more than happy to accomodate early check in if you let us know well in advance and occupancy allows. We can never guarantee but ALWAYS do our best to make sure your stay is a HAPPY one. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We held my husband's 50th birthday party in the meeting room at The Lakes Grillhouse n' Bar last Saturday night. The venue was perfect, the room is not huge but not small which seemed to be the perfect size for a mingling party for 60 people - could easily fit 70. The food was amazing - we ordered plenty of finger foods and was pleased to know that ALL of the food is prepared right there on sight (nothing frozen out of a box!). We received many compliments on the food from the guests. Very, very good food! Kudos to the cook (I've forgotten his name). I want to mention the staff - they were amazing! Patrick, Scott and Katie - thank you for your attentiveness, your exceptional service, your advice in planning and for helping us to enjoy a stress free, fantastic evening. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, very centrally located. They offered guests of our party a deal since we ended up having 8-9 rooms booked for the occasion. Only complaint would be that they couldn't match the on-line price which was $5 cheaper than the deal they gave us. Otherwise, my comment is that this hotel is quite comfortable. Note: it is not near the downtown core, rather in a suburban area, 20 mins from downtown by vehicle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soozbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your review. I have forwarded your wonderful words to the staff in The Lakes.

I apologize for the rate discrepancy. Please feel free to contact myself personally next time you stay and I WILL make sure we make that up to you. There are certain advantages though when booking a group through the hotel directly, for example the opportunity to cancel. Quite often these rates that are slightly less expensive online are pre-paid and have no option to cancel. I do however stress to my staff that we will price match and try to beat online rates if possible. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor Community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Awesome price for what you get compared with other hotels in the region. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice clean and comfortable room in an excellent location close to Victoria downtown and the airport. Handy underground parkade with direct access to the lobby and upper floors.
Definitely it will be my choice for future trips to Victoria and area.

Room Tip: Very friendly staff. Excellent price for what you get. Nice decent rooms, underground parkade and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albernio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to impressing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
LANGLEY
11
Reviewed 9 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
964 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
813 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Dr, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range: $128 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing