We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Stay There in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Whenever I have to go to Victoria, BC for business or pleasure I look forward to staying at the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites - Elk Lake. The service is great, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean, bright and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Cindy,

We really appreciate you making us your home away from home in Victoria, and taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We love having you here, and we can't wait to see you again soon :)

Sincere regards,
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

One of the best hotels for price.Very clean and great staff. Also great food at Lakes restaurant. A must stay. Has pet friendly suites and close to stores and commonwealth pool.Can rent bike? Great bus service downtown close by.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Ken,

We really appreciate you staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We love how you consider us a "must stay." To answer your question, yes we do provide bike rentals on site. There is a lot of fantastic areas to explore around our hotel, so we want to give our guests the opportunity to do so if they wish.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Victoria.

Sincere regards,
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

we stayed here for a night. It was clean, convenient for our purpose and available. It is just off the highway close to two lakes and shopping is near by. My husband ate at the restaurant for breakfast and enjoyed it. I found the room comfortable yet a wee bit dated. We overlooked the pool which looked inviting. The room was furnished with coffee/tea maker water & cereal bars.A small fridge, microwave, safe and fan along with the usual bathroom supplies. I would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mayasmom247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Mayasmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor after you stay. We appreciate all of the kind words you provided in your review. We are always looking for areas of improvement, so your comment about the dating of the room has been passed on to our management team.

We hope to earn a 5 out of 5 rating on your next stay!

Sincere regards,
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

A very nice place to stay on the edge of Victoria. There is easy access off the main highway and ample parking. The restaurant provides a wide range menu and is open all day. Later in the evening food may still be available in the Bar. It is located close to a swimming complex as well as 2 lakes with walking trails. Rooms are well maintained, reception is friendly and competent. It is our go to motel any time we visit Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hello Terry,

Thank you very much for making Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites your go to place in Victoria! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and providing the online community with details about our location.

You are correct, our lounge does provide food service till 10:30 p.m.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria again :)

Sincere regards,
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank tomwL5900WS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed at the Hojo for the Labour Day weekend. We had great service. I want to thank Yuko for getting our room ready fast! We got there at 11:30 and our room was ready in an hour. This was a first and very appreciated! Very clean hotel and clean pool. Beds super comfy. I will definitely recommend this hotel. We will return again next year for the 5th time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Shawna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Shawna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor after your stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here during the Long Weekend. All of our staff, from housekeeping to our front desk team, try our best to allow a guest to check-in to their room as soon as possible.

We really appreciate you recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again next year :)

Sincere regards,

Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The hotel and staff for the most part were good.

The on-sight restaurant had broken down air conditioning in the lounge. The food was relatively expensive, but the quality was good.

The exercise equipment was another matter. First, the equipment is next to the hot tub. The stationary bike was an old manual friction type. The more modern treadmill didn't seem to work at all, or at least we couldn't manage to get it to work. Both the key for the treadmill and towels were only available at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoVic, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dale,

We appreciate you taking the time to express your views to the TripAdvisor community after your stay. We apologize that the A/C was down in the lounge during your stay. It was an issue that involved a crane to fix, and unfortunately those are not available on a days notice. We are pleased to say it has now been fixed, and the lounge is more comfortable than ever.

You are correct about our fitness equipment. That is why we do not advertise having a gym. We have three pieces of equipment for people who choose not to run outside our take one of our rental bikes for a spin. We should also mention, there is also a full sized gym next door at Saanich Commonwealth Place for people that are looking for a more full body workout.

We apologize that you did not have a perfect stay, and we hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria.

Sincere regards,

Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
958 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
811 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Dr, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range: $130 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing