We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Reviewed 27 September 2010

One of the first hotels into Victoria from the ferry terminal and likely the best. No problems and very clean. The food was great and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyall-sarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2009

I was met by Michael the GM and it only got better from there, as if I were the only guest staying there; no surprise surprise they are always full.
It was some of the best hotel experience(s) I have had needing some well deserved 'solace' and quiet place, for cases in process of litigation; they staff was great, Don was excellent, coupled with Michael's most accommodating attitudes, how can anyone go wrong?
Located, just off the 'busy street', it offers a quiet suite, one looks forward to returning to after a day at the Harbour and/or after a 'tough day' per working; either way, it offers a pool/sauna and many other amenities that would satisfy even the seasoned/demanding traveller. The SERVICE/ATTITUDE is unmatched, only to be 'bested' by a busy/fun property, beyond worth every penny when you lay your head on those pillows.
Michael- thanks for a non-problematic time there, beyond; recommending family, friends and others whom are looking for 5 Star service at a 3 star price!
PHIL R.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uragr8lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

I stayed 2 nights while working in Colwood. Once again I was not disappointed. The lobby, the hallways and my room was 5star maintained. The front desk staff was very efficient. I will return in March for a 3 night trip. "5 STARS"

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

This is a newish motor hotel located in a distant suburb right beside the highway. For visitors driving in from the ferry terminal at Swartz Bay, the hotel is easy to spot just before its exit at Royal Oak. There is ample parking around and under the hotel. While it is close to the highway, traffic noise is not a problem.

Since the building is fairly new, the rooms are modern and well-equipped. My double queen bed room had wireless Internet, a large TV, a sink, microwave, desk, and a good sized bathroom. The room overlooked the large outdoor swimming pool at the rear of the building. Everything was clean and up to date.

The halls were well-lit and the stairwells accessible. In fact, I was pleased to be able to use the stairs to go directly from the basement parking right up to the top (3rd) floor. In many properties, you must exit the stairs at the lobby. Every time I have visited this hotel, I have found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Good morale is apparent.

The lobby here is grand for a motor hotel. Off to one side is a nicely arranged bar and adjoining restaurant. Unfortunately, on the morning I went for breakfast, the staff's attention was divided by the task of tidying up a banquet room next door. As a result, the half-dozen diners had to wait long periods for service, so long that a few ended up walking out... I was disappointed to not be able to report on the quality of the food. The only other option in the area is a Tim Horton's in a strip mall.

In fact, this hotel is far from everything worthwhile in Victoria. I can recommend staying here only if you came by car and don't mind using it to get to the sites. Parking is free at the hotel, but the harbour is a 20-minute drive and you'll pay to park around there. Several city buses converge on a major stop about half a kilometre away, but the ride downtown would be long.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I stayed at the Howard Johnson on Elk Lake Drive recently and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The restaurant was fabulous, exceeded our expectations. Staff were VERY helpful and courteous. They recently received the Hero's of Hospitality Award from Howard Johnson Canada and earned it....What a memorable stay. Rooms were very clean. Outdoor heated pool was convenient. So worth staying here than downtown, free parking, WIFI, local calls, coffee/tea, water and fruit bars upon arrival. Alround fabulous. Can't wait to head back to Victoria to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MissAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

My sister and I stayed in this hotel for three nights. It was mid-week and in the off season.

I am fifty years old. In my entire life I have never stayed in any hotel which was a incredibly out of control and noisy. There were people screaming in the halls until well past midnight on all three of the nights we were there.

The front desk staff, as wellas the day manager were passively indifferent. They were very able to say "sorry", but nothing was done to get the ongoing "in hall parties' moved inside the rooms.

Also, at one point , I had a knock on my door at after midnight.
At my door was a "very scantily dressed women with WAY too much make up" .

This is NOT the placet o bring families, respectable people, or people who are naive enough to expect to SLEEP at a hotel.

Stay at ANY other hotel in the entire Province, you will have a much better time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

This hotel is great, the restaurant is awesome, and the hotel rooms are beautuiful.

There is a great heated pool, facing the south/west, so the sun is shining on the pool all day, until the beautiful sunset over the mountains.

There is free parking.

I have stayed downtown before, and had to pay $20 for parking, this hotel, is only 10 minutes away, and you can take the bus which is right outside the hotel and go downtown for $1.50.

I would defintely stay that again.

The staff was great also, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travel-queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
960 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
813 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Dr, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range: $130 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing