We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Dutch Colonial Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dutch Colonial Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Holland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Made my reservation for this B&B about a month ahead for one night for 3 sisters with 1 king-size bed and 1 sleeper sofa. Two days before arrival, owner asks to put us into another room, as he has long-time customers coming into town for 3 nights. That was agreeable, as it would have been the same sleeping accommodation, but 2 baths. Then upon arrival, we are told we have been given the Master Suite. It has only a queen-size bed. The owner offered to bring in a cot or the 3rd person could sleep in another room. The whole idea was to be together so we opted for the cot. We ended up putting the sofa cushions on the floor and the little cot mattress on top. Did not appreciate being thrown from pillar to post. Did not get what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readytogo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Dutch Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Bob & Pat were very accomodating & gracious innkeepers. They went out of their way to make sure the nine of us had what we needed. They were very helpful with directions, ideas, restaurant suggestions, etc. And one of the most important things, it was very clean! The home is decorated very nicely & I appreciated Bob saying grace before our wonderful breakfast each morning. Would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UMeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I was very impressed with this Inn as soon as I walked in the door. They were very accomodating to every "special" request our large group had. The little extras like home made cookies in our rooms every day really made us feel at home.
The cleanliness was unparalled. I had no qualms about sitting in the jacuzzi tub in our room for a relaxing bath. That's NOT something I would be willing to do just anywhere!
The history of the house, the furniture, and collectable pieces throughout the house were graciously shared by Bob and Pat. I enjoyed their company very much.
The food was amazing, and I appreciate the fact that they took time to say grace before the meal.
The whole experience was like staying with good friends rather than a motel and I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling in the Holland area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PoodleFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Absolutely no complaints. Clean, nicely appointed room in a quiet neighborhood in a "historic" section of Holland. Wonderful hosts; fantastic food (and lots of it)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinaHKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

1st off let me say that Pat and Bob (the inn keepers) are wonderful hosts! They really made us feel welcomed! Pat provided the best breakfast I have every had at a B&B and Bob and his stories about the Holland area were both helpful and entertaining. They really make you feel at home!

We stayed in the Master Suite and I highly recommend it to anyone coming to Holland for their honeymoon or anniversary. Wonderful large room, very private, with a spectacular whirlpool bath! The Dutch influenced decor was very nice and Bob has quite a collection of glassware - be sure to ask him about it.

We will return to the Dutch Colonial Inn the next time we are in Holland, MI.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This is our favorite place to come as a couple. We have been coming for years. The hospitality is outstanding. The quiet atmosphere is relaxing. I am a runner and the town is a running friendly place. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and the comon areas are large and inviteing. The innkeepers are a pleasure to be with.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I'm late writing the review I know, but we had a wonderful stay here during the Tulip Festival in 2004. The place is exactly as the pictures are, and extremely clean. The time to go to Holland is the Tulip Festival. We felt like we were honoured guests the whole 3 nights we stayed. We appreciated the grace before the breakfast but beyond that there was no further discussion. We are guests in their home and if that bothers you stay elsewhere.
We were in the cozy corner, which was cozy. The cookies were a lovely touch and Pat & Bob were only too happy to answer any questions we had. The perfect B & B experience!

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holland hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
878 reviews
3.9 km away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
1.4 km away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
1.6 km away
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Colonial Inn

Address: 560 Central Ave, Holland, MI 49423-4846
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Holland
Price Range: $147 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dutch Colonial Inn Bed and Breakfast originated as a family residence. The initial structure, built in 1928, served as a wedding gift for the bride and groom. We offer beautiful guest rooms and elegant suites with king or queen size sleeping accommodations. All rooms have private baths with tiled shower, most with a double jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The inn's wonderful atmosphere is perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, birthday celebration or just a getaway. Spacious common areas include a delightful wicker-clad sun porch and a living room on the formal side, yet cozy enough to unwind in. Warm weather permitting, the white wooden rockers on the open front porch invite you to relax and rock as the world walks by. Our delicious full breakfast pampers you, yet provides a healthy and hearty homemade feast. Awaken to fresh brewed coffee, the fragrance of homemade muffins, coffeecakes and ham/sausage egg casseroles. Close to beautiful downtown Holland and just a short drive from one of the most beautiful beaches in Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing