We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

After being unable to stay at another place in Houghton, we were lucky enough to get a room here after literally walking in off the street. The check-in clerk was busy, but pleasant and helpful, and - as a nice gesture - gave us the lower "streetside" rate for a "lakeside" room that had a truly spectacular view of the Portage Lake canal. The room was small but clean and functional. The shower was especially good! (A darker curtain/shade would have been good, given the long summer days in Houghton.)

Other aspects of our stay are worth mentioning. I appreciated the coupons for dining in the hotel's restaurant; we had a breakfast up there and thought it was very good. It's true that the pool could be updated, but it was more than adequate. (My two daughters loved it.)

The hotel's location is absolutely ideal: it's right on Houghton's main street, and no more than ten minutes' walk to every bit of downtown. The hotel overlooks the waterfront, which means great views of the canal and easy access to a walking path along the canal. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctassava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom60, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please contact the hotel if we can be of any further service. Hope you stay with us again in the future. Jan Lubinski, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
31
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for years and finally stopped due the ongoing frustrations.
It has a nice location and view of the waterfront canal. The furniture in the rooms and dining room are in need of repair, refinishing and/or replacement. The mattresses are old and uncomfortable, as are the couches and chairs. The suites with a balcony are very cold in the winter from the aluminum frame doors with poor insulation.
The restaurant and bar are in desperate need of refurbishment. The bar is often out of select liquor. The food is basically Sysco entrees and seem pre-cooked. The entrees are very mediocre, extremely salty and very over priced. Breakfast is a reduced price for guests, but was always a chaotic experience. I had to walk into the kitchen on numerous occasions to find the wait staff to be seated for breakfast when the dining room was empty.
i feel Michigan Tech University keeps them in business.
The desk staff have always been very friendly.

Room Tip: Best rooms are with the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gniedermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom60, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
I would like to offer my deepest apologies for your disappointing stay at our hotel. To better serve our customers, we are in the process of updating our guest rooms with the latest hospitality trends. Unfortunately, this is not an overnight process. If you choose to stay with us in the future, I hope you will be pleased with the changes made. Thank you, Jan Lubinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Visited in July 2010 while visiting friends and family in the Keweenaw. Rooms are outdated, pool is outdated (in the basement with no windows and poor ventilation), and the service was mediocre. Were it not for the view of the canal and the short walking distance to local restaurants I would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel on business. The staff is very friendly and made me feel at home each night. The resturant has great food (both breakfast and dinner). The pool area is a bit older, but still in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We chose this hotel because it was the location of a wedding my husband was a participant in and we wanted to be close. Check in was miserable. We arrived at 9pm and there was not an attendant at the desk. The front desk phone was ringing off the hook. After finally getting checked in our room was out dated and marginally clean. After driving from Colorado to Michigan I was looking forward to sleeping in the next morning. Unfortunately the cleaning staff in the next room spent the 7am to 8am ramming the sweeper against the wall and the adjoining door. Later we needed to replace a key and we found out that the front desk employee lost the check in form we signed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoFigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stay at this hotel on business every autumn, and in the six years I've been doing so nothing has changed. And that's the problem. The wall coverings, the carpets, the furniture, the no-longer-competitive squishy low mattresses, the cheap fuzzy 25-inch CRT TVs, the basement pool -- everything is exactly the same. Time to invest some money in this property. And please, improve the wireless Internet, which is very sketchy and slow. This is a university town, for Pete's sake!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed two nights at the Franklin while attending an MTU alumni reunion. I had a lakeview room on the 5th floor, king bed. The room was large, had a fridge / microwave, good air conditioning, desk, table chairs, couch and coffee table. Rate was about $100 a night.

The good:

Good front desk service, and the maid service was also good.
Comfortable bed, sheets were not too scratchy.
Room furniture was a little dated, but still very servicable.
Good water pressure, bathroom appeared to be udpated recently.
I used the hot tub, and it was clean and about 103 degrees.
View of the portage was great, and location between downtown and campus is optimal.

The could be better.

Sound from hallway carried inside room, but I shoved pillows under the door which helped.
The bath soap was very glyceriney, if that's a word - it didn't wash off clean, but Houghton also has very hard water.
Old TV, but didn't use it much anyway.

I thought it was a great spot and would stay there again n a heartbeat. Special kudos to the front desk person Vicky who was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Property: Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing