We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on who else is staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Overall the room was nice, the bed comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and apologetic. However, the rooms were not quiet. There was some sort of hockey tournament going on in town. The kids set up some practice equipment in the hallway and were very loud all day from 2 in the afternoon until 10 at night. We asked them to be quiet several times. Then the parents were partying in the hallway until midnight. Then someone was knocking on doors at 2:30am. They never knocked on our door, but it did not matter, they knocked loud enough to wake us up. Funny thing was we could not hear any television or noise from the rooms next to us, only what was happening in the hallway. So if your neighbors are quiet, I bet this is a great place. Unfortunately for us, we had frat house neighbors.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wisconsin_bob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at the Inn, hoping to enjoy the area. The bed were very comfy, as with the pillows, and probably had been remodeled not to long ago - - a few years....for the money, tho, it was overpriced. We had a small dog, and had signed a 'lengthy' ''contract'' for the $20 charge fee, and ''hoped'' nothing happened!! ALOT of extra charges for the pet stay could have been exspensive even more!!! We will be 'watching' our credit card closely. The restaurant was very good & quality and quantity!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Inn and attended a wedding reception there. The rooms were clean, beds were cozy, updated and freshly painted. We had a wonderful view of the water. The reception room was beautiful the staff was very friendly and food was wonderful.

To top it off we got a coupon for a free drink in the bar and a coupon for breakfast for $2.99 or $3.00 any regular breakfast, free continental breakfast. The $2.99 breakfast was a choice of a couple different items but we had 2 eggs, toast, potatoes, sausage, and coffee for 6 bucks.

It really could not have been a better stay. If you are looking for a place to stay when the colors are changing I would recommend the waterfront view. But in the winter you can see the ski hill.

I will be back !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisas2urn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have to say that my husband after traveling from Eagle River up to Copper Harbor and then to Houghton were very pleased with this hotel from the moment we walked in the door. They gave us a 10% discount for being on our bikes. We had a beautiful room that over looked the water. We went to the lounge and I wanted a certain wine that they did not have at the bar and the bartender went down to the 'cellar' and returned with the perfect bottle of wine for me! I was very pleased! We sat on the cushions by the window and enjoyed the scenery while the sun was setting and the boats were going by... The restaurant was just as accomodating they had awesome bread, and I couldn't choose between the lobster or the mushroom ravioli and they did half and half. With a side of spinach I was very pleased! My husband enjoyed his steak very much. We were so full but still wanted the creme brule' and the very nice waitress put it, two spoons and a pitcher of water, the rest of my wine( that the bartender made sure we were charged for the bottle in the end and not per glass.) all on a tray for us to take to our room.
I have to say it was a perfect night for our anniversary celebration and from the moment we walked in a positive experience! We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kathhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I'm a wheelchair bound "local yokel" who stayed with my nephew from Brooklyn, New York, over-nite. The caliber of this facility is outstanding!! From Brian, Jan and Liz (in training-- give her time) at the front desk, Cormac in the Lounge, Kendra waitress at breakfast, handicapped accessible room, comfortable mattress-- you can't go wrong!! .

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms cost alittle more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wheelie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

After being unable to stay at another place in Houghton, we were lucky enough to get a room here after literally walking in off the street. The check-in clerk was busy, but pleasant and helpful, and - as a nice gesture - gave us the lower "streetside" rate for a "lakeside" room that had a truly spectacular view of the Portage Lake canal. The room was small but clean and functional. The shower was especially good! (A darker curtain/shade would have been good, given the long summer days in Houghton.)

Other aspects of our stay are worth mentioning. I appreciated the coupons for dining in the hotel's restaurant; we had a breakfast up there and thought it was very good. It's true that the pool could be updated, but it was more than adequate. (My two daughters loved it.)

The hotel's location is absolutely ideal: it's right on Houghton's main street, and no more than ten minutes' walk to every bit of downtown. The hotel overlooks the waterfront, which means great views of the canal and easy access to a walking path along the canal. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctassava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom60, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please contact the hotel if we can be of any further service. Hope you stay with us again in the future. Jan Lubinski, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for years and finally stopped due the ongoing frustrations.
It has a nice location and view of the waterfront canal. The furniture in the rooms and dining room are in need of repair, refinishing and/or replacement. The mattresses are old and uncomfortable, as are the couches and chairs. The suites with a balcony are very cold in the winter from the aluminum frame doors with poor insulation.
The restaurant and bar are in desperate need of refurbishment. The bar is often out of select liquor. The food is basically Sysco entrees and seem pre-cooked. The entrees are very mediocre, extremely salty and very over priced. Breakfast is a reduced price for guests, but was always a chaotic experience. I had to walk into the kitchen on numerous occasions to find the wait staff to be seated for breakfast when the dining room was empty.
i feel Michigan Tech University keeps them in business.
The desk staff have always been very friendly.

Room Tip: Best rooms are with the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gniedermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom60, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

I would like to offer my deepest apologies for your disappointing stay at our hotel. To better serve our customers, we are in the process of updating our guest rooms with the latest hospitality trends. Unfortunately, this is not an overnight process. If you choose to stay with us in the future, I hope you will be pleased with the changes made. Thank you, Jan Lubinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
41 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
103 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: $150 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing