We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We chose this hotel because it was the location of a wedding my husband was a participant in and we wanted to be close. Check in was miserable. We arrived at 9pm and there was not an attendant at the desk. The front desk phone was ringing off the hook. After finally getting checked in our room was out dated and marginally clean. After driving from Colorado to Michigan I was looking forward to sleeping in the next morning. Unfortunately the cleaning staff in the next room spent the 7am to 8am ramming the sweeper against the wall and the adjoining door. Later we needed to replace a key and we found out that the front desk employee lost the check in form we signed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColoradoFigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stay at this hotel on business every autumn, and in the six years I've been doing so nothing has changed. And that's the problem. The wall coverings, the carpets, the furniture, the no-longer-competitive squishy low mattresses, the cheap fuzzy 25-inch CRT TVs, the basement pool -- everything is exactly the same. Time to invest some money in this property. And please, improve the wireless Internet, which is very sketchy and slow. This is a university town, for Pete's sake!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed two nights at the Franklin while attending an MTU alumni reunion. I had a lakeview room on the 5th floor, king bed. The room was large, had a fridge / microwave, good air conditioning, desk, table chairs, couch and coffee table. Rate was about $100 a night.

The good:

Good front desk service, and the maid service was also good.
Comfortable bed, sheets were not too scratchy.
Room furniture was a little dated, but still very servicable.
Good water pressure, bathroom appeared to be udpated recently.
I used the hot tub, and it was clean and about 103 degrees.
View of the portage was great, and location between downtown and campus is optimal.

The could be better.

Sound from hallway carried inside room, but I shoved pillows under the door which helped.
The bath soap was very glyceriney, if that's a word - it didn't wash off clean, but Houghton also has very hard water.
Old TV, but didn't use it much anyway.

I thought it was a great spot and would stay there again n a heartbeat. Special kudos to the front desk person Vicky who was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I was a Michigan Tech student when this place was built and it was the nicest (and fanciest) place in town. No more. I'm pretty sure that the furniture and linens are the same ones installed when it was built in the mid-1980's. The air conditioner barely worked, and our call to the front desk for help didn't produce any results. I think you could stay at any other hotel in the area and do better, and likely spend less.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilLeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We checked in and were given a river view room. its an ok view.
We went upstairs to have dinner. The staff bring out the food and inform you the plates are very hot. They are but the food is lukewarm. The food here is mediocre at best. Arriving back at the room, we opened the door to have an overwhelming smell of mold and the room was musty as well. The front desk changed our room for us. The beds were nothing fancy. The washroom is small.
Would i stay here again? Not a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silkenflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Spent two nights at the Best Western Franklin Square Inn. Quiet, good sleeping, beds comfortable, adequate size room, WiFi worked fine, bathroom a bit small, but clean. Parking is a bit tight, be we had no problems. Another in our group said the pool was closed (I can't confirm that was true), but we weren't using it, so that didn't bother us. Good location on the edge of downtown Houghton. We had good rates, but we booked several months ahead. Last minute booking on BW web site was $20 more. Staff friendly. Overall a good choice if you are coming up to Copper Country.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Went back to Houghton (graduated from Michigan Tech decades ago) to visit old friends and make new ones, Always loved the atmosphere of Houghton and the Copper Country. Things have changed more than a bit from what the town looked like back in the 70s ... and they were currently tearing up the street through downtown. However, the Best western is situated right at the edge of it, so access was not a problem, plus it's located directly between the University campus & everyplace I wanted to be in town. The staff, as usual, were awesome, and my room perfect - situated on the backside of the hotel, overlooking the canal. Great place to relax in between seeing friends and exploring the gorgeous countryside. A little pricier than other places in town, but not outrageously.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost-on-purpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
41 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
103 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: $150 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing