We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place to relax and unwind after a hard days work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax and unwind after a hard days work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel on business. The staff is very friendly and made me feel at home each night. The resturant has great food (both breakfast and dinner). The pool area is a bit older, but still in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
31
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We chose this hotel because it was the location of a wedding my husband was a participant in and we wanted to be close. Check in was miserable. We arrived at 9pm and there was not an attendant at the desk. The front desk phone was ringing off the hook. After finally getting checked in our room was out dated and marginally clean. After driving from Colorado to Michigan I was looking forward to sleeping in the next morning. Unfortunately the cleaning staff in the next room spent the 7am to 8am ramming the sweeper against the wall and the adjoining door. Later we needed to replace a key and we found out that the front desk employee lost the check in form we signed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoFigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stay at this hotel on business every autumn, and in the six years I've been doing so nothing has changed. And that's the problem. The wall coverings, the carpets, the furniture, the no-longer-competitive squishy low mattresses, the cheap fuzzy 25-inch CRT TVs, the basement pool -- everything is exactly the same. Time to invest some money in this property. And please, improve the wireless Internet, which is very sketchy and slow. This is a university town, for Pete's sake!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed two nights at the Franklin while attending an MTU alumni reunion. I had a lakeview room on the 5th floor, king bed. The room was large, had a fridge / microwave, good air conditioning, desk, table chairs, couch and coffee table. Rate was about $100 a night.

The good:

Good front desk service, and the maid service was also good.
Comfortable bed, sheets were not too scratchy.
Room furniture was a little dated, but still very servicable.
Good water pressure, bathroom appeared to be udpated recently.
I used the hot tub, and it was clean and about 103 degrees.
View of the portage was great, and location between downtown and campus is optimal.

The could be better.

Sound from hallway carried inside room, but I shoved pillows under the door which helped.
The bath soap was very glyceriney, if that's a word - it didn't wash off clean, but Houghton also has very hard water.
Old TV, but didn't use it much anyway.

I thought it was a great spot and would stay there again n a heartbeat. Special kudos to the front desk person Vicky who was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I was a Michigan Tech student when this place was built and it was the nicest (and fanciest) place in town. No more. I'm pretty sure that the furniture and linens are the same ones installed when it was built in the mid-1980's. The air conditioner barely worked, and our call to the front desk for help didn't produce any results. I think you could stay at any other hotel in the area and do better, and likely spend less.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilLeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We checked in and were given a river view room. its an ok view.
We went upstairs to have dinner. The staff bring out the food and inform you the plates are very hot. They are but the food is lukewarm. The food here is mediocre at best. Arriving back at the room, we opened the door to have an overwhelming smell of mold and the room was musty as well. The front desk changed our room for us. The beds were nothing fancy. The washroom is small.
Would i stay here again? Not a chance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silkenflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Spent two nights at the Best Western Franklin Square Inn. Quiet, good sleeping, beds comfortable, adequate size room, WiFi worked fine, bathroom a bit small, but clean. Parking is a bit tight, be we had no problems. Another in our group said the pool was closed (I can't confirm that was true), but we weren't using it, so that didn't bother us. Good location on the edge of downtown Houghton. We had good rates, but we booked several months ahead. Last minute booking on BW web site was $20 more. Staff friendly. Overall a good choice if you are coming up to Copper Country.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.0 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Property: Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing