We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Certificate of Excellence
Round Lake Beach, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The staff was great, the room was very nice, the mattress was firm, the pool, whirlpool and sauna was excellent and the only complaint was no cable tv. We were able to find a few movies even though there was no cable, the reception was great and there were many channels to choose from.

Room Tip: Jaccuzzi room and jaccuzzi room with fireplace are both just a few dollars more and very nice if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am pleased that you had an excellent experience. I am happy to see that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities we offer and had fun in our indoor pool, spa and sauna. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River for your lodging needs and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    45
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
30
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our family stayed here after a day of skiing and found it to be a great choice for us. Our kids were eager to head to the pool while the adults enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. We have five in our family, so needed extra linens right away and the staff was very accommodating. The room location (third floor) was quiet. The breakfast was delicious and saved us $$.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the pool area and everyone had fun. There is nothing like our AmericInn Perk Breakfast to get you started for the day! Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River for your lodging needs and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

While a bit pricey, the AmericInn in Iron River (as with all AmericInn motels I've stayed at) provides a comfortable room and nice amenities. The rooms are large and clean and the beds comfy. The staff was friendly. The lobby area is quite nice, with coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and hot cider always available. The free breakfast selection includes belgian waffles, cereal, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, and even potatoes and biscuits and gravy (I wouldn't recommend the potatoes, however).
The motel is adjacent to the snowmobile trail, which is a plus or a minus, depending on your point of view. We only heard a few snowmobiles after dark.
It's about a 15 minute drive to Ski Brule, and a number of restaurants are nearby. I'm a former local, so here's my recommendations: Riverside for pizza, Alice's for a nice Italian dinner, Mr. T's (or Fob's in Crystal Falls) for a diner style lunch. Also check out Bigari's Ace Hardware on the south side of Iron River for a little shopping-if they don't have it, you don't need it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the breakfast. It's very convenient with the snowmobile trails out our back door. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Hotel was clean, room was nice. Staff was unfriendly to say the least. After being by the pool 10 minutes my eyes were burning and all of my children, as well as all the other guests, we're coughing uncontrollably. We had to vacate the pool. When it was brought to the attention of the staff on duty, she blamed the guests, saying it was due to too many people in the hot tub. Needless to say, my children were disappointed they could not swim.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolenekane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for writing a review. Our guests comments are important to us. I am pleased you liked your room. I apologize you felt the staff was not friendly and had problems with the pool area. Our goal is to make all of our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable stay and I am sorry you did not. Hopefully you will come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Midwest
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stay here when visiting family nearby. There are not many places to stay in the area, but the AmericInn in Iron River is a good choice.

Nothing fancy. However, we have always experienced friendly servce here, the towels are fluffy (and the rooms clean). The free am breakfast was fine. The internet connection was also free and fast. There is a nice pool area.

The hotel is downtown, by the river. Ski Brule is not far away, south of town, if you are looking for a place to stay while on winter holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4MidwestFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel has all the amenities of AmericInns: Pool, hottub, sauna, free breakfast, internet, etc. The mattresses are hard and the TVs are getting older but overall, it is not a bad place to stay. They do have microwave and fridgerators in the room and pretty much everything else you would need. The bedding and the beds are getting dated though. The hottub was the perfect temperature and sauna was working well too. They do have some hot food items for breakfast in addition to the standard continental items such as sausage, gravy/biscuits, and eggs. The location of this hotel is perfect to include walking distace to the restaurants and bars. I have stayed here a few times and haven't had a bad stay or feel like it was a bad value/

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for using TripAdvisor to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and pool area during your stay. I am pleased you believe our hotel is a value to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Take this for what it's worth, but there was nothing special about this hotel. First, we were placed in a "suite" directly over the reception area; the noise was quite annoying up to midnight. The pool area is very small and overly saturated in chlorine, we only lasted 20 minutes before we had to vacate the area (people all over the place were having coughing fits because of the chlorine). The room itself was adequate, what you'd expect from an Americinn. Problem is, you don't have much choice when visiting Iron River....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flip_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you liked your room, the suites are very nice for families. I apologize for the noise. Our quiet time in the lobby and halls is 10pm and monitored very well. The noise must have been coming from the room next door. We are staffed 24 hours so if any of our guests have any problems they can call us and we can take care of it immediately. Our pool area has a indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, video games and a pool table along with many tables and chairs for guests. We try hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer and I am sorry that you did not. Although there are several other motels in town to choose from, we hope on your next stay you visit us and if you run into any problems let us know immediately, we will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iron River
2.0 km away
Lakeshore Motel
Lakeshore Motel
#2 of 4 in Iron River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.4 km away
Chicaugon Lake Inn
Chicaugon Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Iron River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
18.6 km away
The Listening Inn
The Listening Inn
#1 of 1 in Crystal Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
Address: 40 E Adams St, PO Box 308, Iron River, MI 49935-1544
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing