We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
eDreamsUS$99
CheapTicketsUS$99
TravelocityUS$99
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
220
145
25
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
220
145
25
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner local restaurants great value beds were comfortable stay there again coffee maker easy access microwave and refrigerator pleasant stay upper peninsula several years a great place to stay friendly owners stayed one night friendly service ski trip porcupine mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 397 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2021 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a comfortable night in a two bed corner suite. The kids loved that they could be in a separate area to watch TV on a hideaway in addition to a TV by the beds. Our host gave us a map of recommendations for places to visit nearby, and we followed the advice to See Black River Harbor at sunset— beautiful!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FamTravelerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Cox, General Manager at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2021

Thank you for staying with us, and for your email! We appreciate your staying at our motel! Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Budget Host on our way north. It was very tidy and well kept. We appreciated the fridge, coffee maker and tips on the area. We could have done without the political overtones. Hotels/motels often have bibles, but do not usually openly advertise their faith/political beliefs. Others may not be bothered by it.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank summer_laura_1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Cox, General Manager at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2021

Yes, we have a "Jesus is my Savior, Trump is my president" flag flying on our balcony, but I never mention it. Yes, the Bibles are laying open out on the tables, but they aren't glued there. Guests who don't want them there, put them away in the desk drawer. I usually don't get "political" unless the subject comes up, and people want to talk about issues. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2021 via mobile

Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Price was also reasonable and manager was friendly. Several local restaurant discount cards and tourist brochures are available in the office. If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this one won’t qualify.

Room tip: Easy access to hotel on US 2.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Cox, General Manager at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2021

Thanks for staying with us! No, we aren't a fancy motel. Just very clean, large rooms, reasonable rates, friendly hepful service! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2021

A friend and I were touring Lake Superior and needed a place for the night. This hotel is basic but has everything you need for a good night's rest. It may not be as fancy as some places but I was really impressed at how very clean everything was. All was in working order as well. Owner Kevin was very helpful showing us a map and telling us about things to see in the area and places to eat. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Cox, General Manager at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2021

Thanks for staying with us! No, we don't have the swimming pools, hot tubs, exercise rooms, or spas.......but our rooms are large, well kept, clean, and each have 2 queen sized beds! Right now is a good time to bike, hike, visit the Black River Harbor scenic area, and go hiking in the Porcupine Mountains! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2021 via mobile

The owner gave us great advice about Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park that enhanced our visit there. Very clean room. There was even a deck of cards on the room. He advised where the best breakfast value was, and they had a small coupon to use.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rduet1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Cox, General Manager at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2021

Thank you very much for staying at our motel, and for your encouraging review! We try to tell our guests where the best dining, and best scenic experiences are in the Ironwood area. There's a lot to do and see here. We love the Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park area! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews