We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Small room, clean no amenities. But a safe clean spot to sleep. Wi-Fi is pretty spotty, but it's less than $10 to down town by Lyft on. a Wednesday night. Easy access to the highway and right across from The Crew for breakfast

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Scubansurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Scubansurf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We appreciate the compliments on our property and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay greatly. It is our goal to make sure our guest are 100% satisfied during their stay.

We do hope you may give us a chance in the future to change your opinion of us if your travels bring you back to the Kalamazoo area.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

A bit high priced by $20 in my opinion. Rooms are more well furnished than in the past. Main disappointment was a lack of sound proofing from parking lot voices and vehicles. Had to run the loud A/C fan all night to over come external noises. Next time I'll drop 20 bucks more for a better place and get a breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Mr. Bill H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not one to remember as it is our goal for every guest to depart with nothing but good memories of their stay. I have spoken with our staff about the issues you experienced during you stay to insure these issues don't happen again in the future. I do want to let you know that at any point and time during your stay at Red Roof Inn you experience issues with your room there is someone happy and willing to help you with those issues at our front desk 24/7.

We do hope you may give us a chance in the future to change your opinion of us if your travels bring you back to the Kalamazoo area.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed here two nights while in KZoo for a concert, and we were quite happy with our room. Staff are Very engaging and helpful. Room was comfortable with modern appointments and a good hot shower. Coffee maker and fridge in the room, fresh hot coffee in the lobby, too. Neighborhood is industrial park with other hotels and restaurants in the area. Denny's, The Crew and Burger King are within walking distance. I was even able to walk up the road to Sweetwater Donut Mill. Some of the bad reviews made me hesitant to stay here, but everything was fine. I always read reviews thinking is this a Hilton person staying in a Red Roof, which you can't really compare the two. This is a review written by a "Roof" patron saying this is a perfectly fine Red Roof Inn. Great value.

Room Tip: I think we were in 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ms. Jane P.,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent experience with us at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We are so pleased that we have become a tradition in your travels both coming and going. Our most important task is to keep guest's like you returning to our Inn for years to come, while keeping them happy and comfortable during their stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us and wish you the best until then.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Booked this room for 2 nights. Placed our belongings in the room, turned on the air conditioner and drove to a local attraction. When we returned to our room, a bad musty odor was in the room. We quickly learned that the odor was coming from the air conditioning unit. The room was dark, so we opened the blinds completely for better lighting. We then also noticed that the bedspread on the bed nearest to the window had multiple heavy stains on it. Due to these conditions, we asked for a refund but were told by a night shift employee that we could only request this tomorrow with management.
We contacted 1st shift employees the following day and did recieve a full refund.
Photos of bedding at this same property posted here by guests on TripAdvisor, show similar conditions to the ones that we experienced. In my opinion, day shift management seemed fair and very understanding of the situation and especially so when I explained that a child would have been sleeping in the room that we had booked. On the other hand, the female employee that we dealt with on the aftenoon shift made the most minimal of efforts to resolve the situation. In fact, at no time did she even offer to show us another room at this property which is standard procedure. All in all, the conditions in our room were unacceptable. However, management did resolve our issues in a fair and equitable manner and do deserve credit for that . TripAdvisor travelers will have to make up their own minds on this one. Good luck.
J.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We apologize for the cleanliness of your room, and want you to know that we are working very hard at correcting this. We have started sending our comforters out for dry cleaning versus washing them here at our property as we did not have all the tools needed to properly treat stains. We also have deep cleaners working on the rooms to correct anything that may have gotten behind in the rooms. We are so sorry that this was not done before your stay, and wanted you to know that it is reviews like yours that tells us how we are doing and where we need to improve and we greatly appreciate this.

We do hope in the future if you need to stop over in Kalamazoo for any reason that you may stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Amish P
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

First impression was that it wasn't a bad place. All the daytime front desk people were very nice and helpful. They're the only reason I'm giving two stars instead of 1.

However, late night desk woman was lazy and rude. Housekeeping poured out an entire bottle of vodka I left on the desk, when I brought this to woman's attention she basically called me a liar and said housekeeping couldn't/wouldn't do it since they were Indian. (???) I asked if they had an alcohol policy and she said "No, lots of guests have alcohol in their rooms." When I asked "why the hell would they pour mine out then?" She got very upset that I "swore" and wouldn't really help after that, even though I apologized twice for offending her. Said she'd leave it for the day manager to deal with but I doubt she made a report or anything. I understand mistakes happen but her response is the reason I won't be returning or recommending this location.

Rooms are ok. Bedspread had a large burn hole in it, despite 100% free non-smoking rooms. No refrigerator. AC is loud which can be good because you can use it to tune out your neighbors who you will definitely be hearing. Housekeeping never changed my sheets and I stayed here for a week. (Although after they took liberties with my personal property I stopped letting them into the room.)

Room Tip: Take all your valuables and alcohol with you when you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not one to remember as it is our goal for every guest to depart with nothing but good memories of their stay. I have spoken with our staff about the issues you experienced during you stay to insure these issues don't happen again in the future. I do want to let you know that at any point and time during your stay at Red Roof Inn you experience issues with your room there is someone happy and willing to help you with those issues at our front desk 24/7.

We do hope you may give us a chance in the future to change your opinion of us if your travels bring you back to the Kalamazoo area.

Sincerely,

Naomi Luttrell
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East
Delete Response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

someone needs to go in there and CLEAN it......If I had known what I know now we would have went somewhere else. Bedspread was ripped. Toilet seat loose.....I was afraid to walk barefoot on the floor. Glad I had slippers...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Theresa C,

We want to thank you for your business and taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with us at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We send our sincerest apologies for the experience that you had with us and want to let you know that we take reports of this nature very seriously. We have issued a check for the full amount of your stay for the experience you have had with us and want to let you know that we can not apologize enough for this incident. We have a very strict protocol in place for issues such as this and have taken care of this matter quickly and thoroughly as we do not want another guest to have this experience during their stay. We also want you to know that we appreciate you bringing the condition of your room to our attention, we have not only met with our housekeeping team to correct these cleaning issues, but we have also brought extra help in specifically to help deep clean the rooms and fix these cleaning issues, we also have increased the number of room inspections and the extent of the inspection to help prevent things being missed in the room during cleaning after each stay.


We do hope that you may give us a chance in the future to show you the changes we have made and how serious we take our guests review and correct the issues reported right away.

Sincerely,

Naomi Luttrell
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not overy plush, but it was suitable. Got the impression that this was an older and rougher section of town. Room not plush but it was clean. Was hoping for two queens but they didn't have that would have been more comfortable.

Leslie at front desk (night shift) was EXCELLENT! Her welcome and smile helped us make the best of a less than optimal trip.

Room Tip: Close to major interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Jerry R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We will definitely tell Leslie how much you appreciated her help during your check-in with us. We are so sorry to read that we did not have the room available that you wanted, and do hope that this will not discourage you from staying with us in the future.

Please feel free the next time you have to travel to the Kalamazoo area to call us and find out what we have available at the time of your travels.

Sincerely,

Naomi Luttrell
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
12.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
10.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
10.2 km away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center

Address: 3701 E Cork St, I-94 to Sprinkle Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4611
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $64 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing