We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
33
39
20
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
39
20
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenny's restaurantburger kingroom was cleanwithin walking distanceneeded a place to staywould definitely stay here againpillows
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 136 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

This property is not up to Red Roof (or any other motel chain) standards. Room was not clean and seemed to be very beat up. Red Roof needs to protect its reputation by revoking affiliation with this property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheddahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Small room, clean no amenities. But a safe clean spot to sleep. Wi-Fi is pretty spotty, but it's less than $10 to down town by Lyft on. a Wednesday night. Easy access to the highway and right across from The Crew for breakfast

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Scubansurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Scubansurf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We appreciate the compliments on our property and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay greatly. It is our goal to make sure our guest are 100% satisfied during their stay.

We do hope you may give us a chance in the future to change your opinion of us if your travels bring you back to the Kalamazoo area.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

A bit high priced by $20 in my opinion. Rooms are more well furnished than in the past. Main disappointment was a lack of sound proofing from parking lot voices and vehicles. Had to run the loud A/C fan all night to over come external noises. Next time I'll drop 20 bucks more for a better place and get a breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Mr. Bill H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent stay with Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not one to remember as it is our goal for every guest to depart with nothing but good memories of their stay. I have spoken with our staff about the issues you experienced during you stay to insure these issues don't happen again in the future. I do want to let you know that at any point and time during your stay at Red Roof Inn you experience issues with your room there is someone happy and willing to help you with those issues at our front desk 24/7.

We do hope you may give us a chance in the future to change your opinion of us if your travels bring you back to the Kalamazoo area.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

We stayed here two nights while in KZoo for a concert, and we were quite happy with our room. Staff are Very engaging and helpful. Room was comfortable with modern appointments and a good hot shower. Coffee maker and fridge in the room, fresh hot coffee in the lobby, too. Neighborhood is industrial park with other hotels and restaurants in the area. Denny's, The Crew and Burger King are within walking distance. I was even able to walk up the road to Sweetwater Donut Mill. Some of the bad reviews made me hesitant to stay here, but everything was fine. I always read reviews thinking is this a Hilton person staying in a Red Roof, which you can't really compare the two. This is a review written by a "Roof" patron saying this is a perfectly fine Red Roof Inn. Great value.

Room Tip: I think we were in 107.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Ms. Jane P.,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent experience with us at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We are so pleased that we have become a tradition in your travels both coming and going. Our most important task is to keep guest's like you returning to our Inn for years to come, while keeping them happy and comfortable during their stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us and wish you the best until then.

Sincerely,

Raj Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Booked this room for 2 nights. Placed our belongings in the room, turned on the air conditioner and drove to a local attraction. When we returned to our room, a bad musty odor was in the room. We quickly learned that the odor was coming from the air conditioning unit. The room was dark, so we opened the blinds completely for better lighting. We then also noticed that the bedspread on the bed nearest to the window had multiple heavy stains on it. Due to these conditions, we asked for a refund but were told by a night shift employee that we could only request this tomorrow with management.
We contacted 1st shift employees the following day and did recieve a full refund.
Photos of bedding at this same property posted here by guests on TripAdvisor, show similar conditions to the ones that we experienced. In my opinion, day shift management seemed fair and very understanding of the situation and especially so when I explained that a child would have been sleeping in the room that we had booked. On the other hand, the female employee that we dealt with on the aftenoon shift made the most minimal of efforts to resolve the situation. In fact, at no time did she even offer to show us another room at this property which is standard procedure. All in all, the conditions in our room were unacceptable. However, management did resolve our issues in a fair and equitable manner and do deserve credit for that . TripAdvisor travelers will have to make up their own minds on this one. Good luck.
J.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East.

We apologize for the cleanliness of your room, and want you to know that we are working very hard at correcting this. We have started sending our comforters out for dry cleaning versus washing them here at our property as we did not have all the tools needed to properly treat stains. We also have deep cleaners working on the rooms to correct anything that may have gotten behind in the rooms. We are so sorry that this was not done before your stay, and wanted you to know that it is reviews like yours that tells us how we are doing and where we need to improve and we greatly appreciate this.

We do hope in the future if you need to stop over in Kalamazoo for any reason that you may stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Amish P
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn - Kalamazoo East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews