We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time is a charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henderson Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time is a charm!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

After our initial experience I contacted Francois and he invited my wife and I for another dinner to remedy the situation, this time it was a fabulous experience and him and Mike (the new manager) made sure that we had a remarkable dining experience. Food was great and the service was excellent (Francois himself cooked tableside for us and talked to us about his french heritage and other things), after dinner Mike took us for an unofficial tour of the castle and we were blown away by the architecture and the heritage of the place.

Francois is really lucky to own this place and we hope that Henderson Castle becomes an icon of Kalamazoo under his leadership (I think it will), he was passionate about supporting local farmers and buying local produce so that was another big plus. In these days of big box stores and cheap import products I strongly believe in supporting locally made products so I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    36
    37
    24
    43
See reviews for
33
129
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Henderson Castle for the first time, and we loved it! It truly does take you back in time. The castle itself has so much character. From the woodwork to the ceilings, it's amazing architectually. We were able to stay in the Earth-Sky Room, and it was amazing. We loved the LED lights on the ceiling, as it made you feel like you were laying under the stars. Plus, the actual constellation and painting on the ceiling was unbelievable. We just sat there staring up at the ceiling forever. The service was great, and we enjoyed the freedom to walk around the castle by ourselves and explore. It was neat to see the whole castle. Everything was so historic and uniqiue, yet it was extremely clean and well taken care of. The hot tub on the roof is a must. You could see the whole entire city of Kalamazoo, yet they couldn't see you! Another perk is that here is no set "curfew." If you wanted to leave for a while for a late night snack run, you could, hassle free. It was a wonderful stay and we look forward to going back! It's a great getaway in Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We scheduled a night in the castle to celebrate our 40th birthdays with friends. We had an amazing time touring the castle, hanging out in the hot tub on the roof and even raided the kitchen (with permission) after midnight. We are already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithPlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great place had a great time loved the hot tub. The food was one of a kind and the staff was great. Gave us a tour the next day. Had the time of my life!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyechtinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owosso, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here in March. It was a nice get away close to home. The weather didn't cooperate for us to use the roof hot tub and we didn't dine, but really enjoyed the coffee in the morning! The location is perfect for walking or driving to entertainment. The staff were cordial and the atmosphere great! Planning another trip in September!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojess2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent a night with Francois and his staff in the Earth and Sky room in the fall of 2011. The room, castle, and 'hosting' was absolutely perfect. Francois is a most amazing host, and the castle itself is perfect for a night or weekend getaway. Can't say enough good things about the room, food, aura, and experience itself. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in the Italian room, which had the air of an authentic castle's Master Suite. The house is full of engineering marvels, like the heated marble flooring in the Italian room, the fiber optic "stars" in the earth & sky room, and the panel in the roof which automatically slides open to allow access to the roof and hot tub.

Francois, the owner, was extremely attentive and made sure our stay was excellent. The morning breakfast was delicious gourmet french toast made by Francois himself, the Master Chef. He treated us as though we were the only guests, even though he was preparing breakfast for a large company party that began within the hour.

The place is in need of some cosmetic repairs, but seems to be undergoing renovation in phases.

I would highly recommend this place - Francois is extremely dedicated to his work and passionately attends to the building and its guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMarie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
108 reviews
8.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Castle Inn

Property: Henderson Castle Inn
Address: 100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular bed and breakfast in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding, graduation or romantic getaway. Situated in the historic West Main Hill neighborhood, you're minutes away from the theatres, shopping and vibrant night life of downtown Kalamazoo, but secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night free from the noise of the city. When you're with us, you'll have a royal experience. Wake up to an incredible breakfast prepared by our French chef Francois Moyet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Henderson Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Castle Hotel Kalamazoo
Henderson Castle Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing