We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We have stayed probably 4-6 times at this hotel over the four years our son attended Kalamazoo College, just two blocks up the hill. We have had variable experiences. For this lady stay we had several correctable complaints:
1. Although the rooms are spacious and have good standing reading lamps, there are no comfortable reading chairs
2. Duvet had bad stains and decorative throw was dirty
3. On Sunday morning, with a completely booked hotel, there was ONE person working both front desk and breakfast room. The property manager or owner should have been covering the staffing shortage.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellen_EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lora O, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Ellen_El,
First off I would like to thank you for your continued business with us. We are so sorry to hear of this issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. We can only imagine the frustration you had during your stay with us. Please know that we take our guests comments/suggestions very seriously and I have made sure to address these issues with the correct departments. We will be sure that this does not happen again in the future but again we are so sorry that it had happened to you. We sure hope this does not affect your decision in the future when making reservations in this area.
Sincerely,
Lora O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

I am very confused by some of these negative reviews. I have stayed here twice while attending a conference of professors at Western Michigan University, and it's just about the best place you could stay. The staff is very very kind and thoughtful and a young woman named Ashley was particularly accommodating and professional. You get more than a continental breakfast because they have sausage and eggs and oatmeal and coffee and fruit, and it's been within walking distance of where I needed to go at the university. The rooms are big and clean with a good TV and a good shower and it's just absolutely perfect, and you can't beat the price. For the discriminating Traveler and someone coming here on business and especially for adults looking for all these wonderful comforts, you can't do better than this fantastic Comfort Inn in Kalamazoo.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We were in town for a conference and paid a bit more for this hotel, so we wouldn't have to worry about finding breakfast. Bad idea, the hot breakfast items were cold! Not even a little lukewarm. Eggs - cold, Bacon -Cold, Sausage - Cold. The only thing that was a little hot was the toast and that's because I toasted it! Needless to say Sunday morning I made my way to IHOP.

Next time, I'll just pay less somewhere else, and go out for breakfast. Otherwise, the staff was nice and the room was clean enough. The bed was a little hard for me but not the usual rock hard I normally find at hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpiritParticle'... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I tried to change some things on my booking and the staff was totally uninterested. They just kept repeating to me that "they couldn't help" and that it was "just policy". Very unhelpful and I don't think I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This place offers standard amenities at a decent price. It's clean and comfortable and has a good location for getting about town. NOTE: It's close to the Western Michigan University, so don't be surprised if you get the occasional busload of kids visiting. That's what happened to us.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I stayed here several times and it was okay. Last stay however there was a note on desk saying "Please wait patiently manager will be with you shortly" Waited 15 minutes and no one showed up. The hotel was completely unattended. This is unacceptable customer service and you have lost my business.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This hotel was under construction while i stayed, but it was not noisey at all. This was the summer of 2016. There weren't many people staying here and i think that was due to the construction. It was nice to almost have the entire hotel to yourself. There was an indoor pool and a hot tub. Also they have a small fitness center. I got to swim in the pool all by myself while i was here and didn't have to worry about kids splashing around. Closer to the weekend there were a few families with kids in the pool area but still not over populated. nice area and close to restaurants.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Riki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.8 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
9.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#14 of 32 in Kalamazoo
303 reviews
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kalamazoo

Address: 739 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4518
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: C$109 - C$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kalamazoo's central business district, the Comfort Inn® hotel is within walking distance of Kalamazoo College. This Kalamazoo hotel is minutes from Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, the Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Waldo Stadium and the Kalamazoo Civic Theatre.Additional nearby points of interest include:•Gilmore Car Museum•Wings Stadium•Air Zoo•Timber Ridge ski area•Binder Park ZooSeveral golf courses are minutes away. The hotel is just seconds from many shops, restaurants, parks and entertainment options.The hotel has the ideal location for college visits, business or for experiencing the fun of Kalamazoo's legendary festivals. Beautiful downtown Kalamazoo and all its charm are just steps from the hotel.Guests of this Kalamazoo hotel will enjoy amenities and features like:•Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms•Free local calls•Exercise roomYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms have coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, some rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.The perfect location, excellent accommodations and affordable rates make the Comfort Inn hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. Make us your home away from home when visiting the Kalamazoo area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing