We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is its only virtue...”
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Kalamazoo
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Well located near malls and access to Main St. to drive downtown. Price is its only advantage. Sheets not smoothed out, so not sure if wrinkled sheets were changed. No one tiddied up room. Has the essentials (fridge, TV, desk) though not nearly what I'd expect from experience with Wyndham's more economic line. Ample parking near woods, quite. Night watchman outside in lieu of a back door that locks.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank J2606ZLmartinr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Rooms dim (lights flickered) , person on duty was uncooperative and at times confrontational. Heat in one of the rooms wasn't adjustable ( you had to unplug the unit) Burn holes in the bedsheets, lobby smelled of stale tobacco even though No Smoking signs were clearly posted.Toilet ran. I can go on but suffice to say I would suggest find another motel / hotel to stay when in Kalamazoo. I HAVE had great experiences at other Super 8 properties.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank michaeloK1596AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This hotel is difficult to find unless you are familiar with the city and know where it is located.

We had made reservations at this hotel as it appeared to be close to where a wedding was being held that we were attending. As we approached the exit in Kalamazoo, we noticed a hotel sign for our hotel at this exit. But, once you make the exit, there are no signs or indications of where the hotel is located.

We followed the instructions we had downloaded from the hotel map of how to get there. The instructions stated to take the exit, which we did, and to take the first right. The first right turn went into a strip mall parking lot and we didn't think that was it. We drove on about a mile looking for signs and couldn't find any so we turned around and went back looking for Maple Hill Drive. There are no road signs, thanks Michigan, so we went back to the first right after the exit. The motel is hidden behind the store at the first right turn after exit and there were trees hiding the Super 8 sign.

We checked in and the lady told us that our room was located down the stairs and about halfway down the hallway. We found our room for the next couple of nights.

The next morning we got up and got ready to make a drive to the Michigan Speedway. When we returned we saw a cleaning lady in the hall and our dirty towels in the bathtub. We heard the guy working the desk tell her not to clean up any of the "stay over" rooms. I asked her if we could get some clean towels and she told us yes, to just leave the dirty ones by the door and she will get them, so we did.

Room Tip: There are no "rooms with a view" unless it is the back of a store or parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank isaacg684
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

None of the outside doors locked. A lot of riff raff people sitting around on the ground outside these doors. We had to get our own supplies on a daily basis and apparently since no one came in to attend the room we had to put dirty laundry in the hallway and it would disappear sometime.The room need maintenance work. It would have presented better if touch up painting had been done or minor visible repairs had been done. However the front dest people were very nice.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank llb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We would not recommend this location. People were smoking just outside the doorways. The hall door squeaked every time it was opened. People were going in and out all night with the door squeaking. The breakfast area was very, very small. We felt so uncomfortable at the hotel that we left in the morning really early and had breakfast at another restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamazoo
2.3 km away
WoodSpring Suites Kalamazoo
WoodSpring Suites Kalamazoo
#12 of 32 in Kalamazoo
66 reviews
10.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
2.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 32 in Kalamazoo
112 reviews
6.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West
#16 of 32 in Kalamazoo
147 reviews
17.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kalamazoo

Address: 618 Maple Hill Dr, Off US 131 Exit 38A, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $58 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamazoo Super Eight
Kalamazoo Super 8
Super Eight Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing