We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main house - spacious, but not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maple Lane Cottages
Reviewed 8 August 2017

It was hard not to feel that we paid way too much for our one night stay, knowing that this was the only game in town. I suppose it was "height of the season" and all, but for any price, I would have expected it to be cleaner. The main house did have plenty of room. There was one A/C window unit in the bedroom with the double bed (which was a double, not a queen, and sagged in the middle). That meant we had to keep all the bedroom doors open all night so that the cool air could circulate. It did work. There was a widescreen TV in the living room, but it had a thick layer of dust around it. There was a new rug in the living room and a few pieces of updated furniture, but everyone kept their shoes on because the floor was sticky. There was also a kitchen, but thank goodness we didn't need to use it, because it was scary. There was a coffee maker and coffee, but when my husband went to make some in the morning, he found wet, old coffee grounds and used filter still there from a previous guest. My daughter's bedroom had a nightstand next to the bed with a nice lamp on it, but when it got dark, she discovered that not only was the lamp not plugged in, there was also no outlet anywhere nearby to plug it into. What? The front door had a storm door installed in front of it that would bang shut very hard every time it was used and kept getting stuck closed. To be fair, the bathroom was clean, the shower was decent, and the towels were fluffy. The outdoor setting was pleasant and quiet. With more attention to detail and some updating, this could be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank burzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at the main house, which was spacious and mostly comfortable. The double bed was sunken in the middle, the manager said they would be taking care of that. It's a cottage and the setting was nice, but the kitchens and utensils were filthy. We had to rewash everything before we could use any of it. Fortunately we found one frying pan that was somewhat useable, but we had to line it with foil since all of the coating was coming off (dangerous). Watch that oven, if you go to 350 degrees and open it, the smoke alarm goes off. The manager said she would have someone clean it. It's a cottage and we made do and were thankful we had the main house. The mother/mother-in-law was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with! The pluses are the central location. When we asked for extra towels and paper products they brought them promptly, we appreciated the good customer service. With a little sprucing up this place could be amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Charming cottages in a wooded rustic setting. My cottage #8 was spotless and in exceptional condition. Many of the cottage properties in northern Michigan come up woefully short in both departments. There is a nice picnic area on the grounds. The managers are wonderful; friendly and accommodating. Excellent value.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank harley5216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We have stayed here multiple times over the years. Very clean and comfortable inside. Very close to the lake. Has a kitchen, so makes it economical. Plenty of room for a family. Nice sized living room. Bedrooms also decent sized. Very reasonable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelanecottages, Manager at Maple Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Paula,
Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Quaint group of cottages comfortably set in a private quiet and relaxing area. The staff was friendly and was very attentive. Several lakes are close by and a variety of pleasant family restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J.D. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

We spent the weekend relaxing in a cute little one-bedroom cottage. It was very clean and smelled nice. It reminded me of staying at my Grandma's cottage when I was a kid. You can bring your dog, too, which is important to us when we travel. Lake City is a cute little town and the lake is very pretty.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CindiB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at Maple Lane Cottages on the Friday before Labor Day during our annual cycling ride to the Mackinaw Bridge. The place has changed owners a few times over the years, and the current owner has made some upgrades which have enhanced the quality over previous owners. Our group has felt very welcomed there under the current owner, who worked very hard to meet all the special requests from our group. The place is quiet, and conveniently located in the small vacation town of Lake City.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pinckneyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelanecottages, Owner at Maple Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our cottages! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful. We will continue to upgrade the property and hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maple Lane Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lane Cottages

Address: 406 N Main St, M-66, Lake City, MI 49651-9392
Region: United States > Michigan > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake City
Price Range: $104 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maple Lane Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fall and winter travelers: HUNTERS - we are close to many acres of state hunting area and we have a buck pole available! SNOWMOBILERS - hundreds of miles of snowmobile trails at your fingertips! Ample truck and trailer parking. Don't forget about lodging during your fall color tour! We have 5 two bedroom cottages. These cottages have a full kitchen, dining and living room. 3 one room cottages with refrigerator and microwave. Also a 3 bedroom house with kitchen and living room. Free cable and WiFi. Fire pit, picnic tables. 2 blocks to Lake Missaukee and the beach. 3 blocks to down town dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maple Lane Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Cottages Lake City, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing