We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Atmosphere, Great Food!”
Review of Capital City BBQ

Capital City BBQ
Ranked #50 of 512 Restaurants in Lansing
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Quirky. And delicious. If you fancy having dinner in a cell phone store, you might not mind the lack of atmosphere (which is quirky atmosphere in itself!) But then you have the food and nothing else matters. May I recommend take-out?

The Capital City BBQ offers a wonderful selection of both BBQ and Vietnamese food, available to eat in (there are only four or five tables) or take out (we saw a lot of that during our visit). We both had versions of the pulled pork. Mine was the Awesome Mess, pulled pork topped with cole slaw. It comes with a side -- I didn't realize cole slaw was on the sandwich so I ordered that. A generous (and I mean LARGE) portion, which I took home. My companion ordered the potato salad as his side and gobbled down the whole big thing! We also had the Vietnamese shrimp spring rolls. Outstanding.

Notes; Parking is minimal. We parked in the vacant lot of the office building across the street. It maybe be crowded -- be prepared to get takeout. No alcohol served.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarmeladeGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch and were pleased with the Asian twist on BBQ. Mostly a funky take out place with a couple tables (and a cell phone shop in the restaurant), they offer a nice variety of traditional and Vietnamese BBQ sandwiches and meals. We had the spring rolls which were excellent as well as a brisket banh mi and a brisket sandwich with bourbon sauce and red onion jam. Both very good. Triple D visited this place and there’s a Guy Fieri pic and signature on the wall to prove it. Don’t expect a lot from the interior but you’re there for the food...And it’s worth the visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TraverseCityDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here. Had "raw" egg rolls with shrimp..so good, so fresh, and the peanut sauce was great. All of had a sandwich for the main course. Each one was big, lots of meat. You could tell everything is super fresh. Would definitely eat here again, wish we lived closer!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank D7506DDmelissab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Yes, this is a BBQ place in a cell phone store, or a Korean place in a BBQ store, or a cell phone place in a... well, you get the drift. Don’t overthink it, it’s just really good food in the most unusual environment you might ever see. Excellent BBQ!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank cartersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Had Brisket Bahn Mi and shrimp spring rolls and it was amazing! I will definitely go back. Went there for business lunch.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JJPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capital City BBQ also viewed

Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 
Lansing, Ingham County
 
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Capital City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing