We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel was booked through Priceline after my bid was accepted. Another reviewer reported rude treatment from the front desk personnel; my experience was just the opposite. When we checked into our room it looked like someone had been in the room after housekeeping had cleaned it so I requested another room and Gary upgraded us to a third floor suite which was twice the size of a standard room. The room and bath were very clean even though they are dated.Breakfast was ample and included. The parking lot could stand resurfacing but it is no different from many paved roads. The location was convenient to many restaurants(within 5 miles) and the MSU campus was within ten miles. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet when there were no children in the pool in the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castello_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    198
    223
    126
    77
See reviews for
263
73
48
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It was our daughters birthday and since my mother in law won a free night from her work, she would let us have it for our family. Upon arrival we noticed all the potholes in the driveway, and the outside looked outdated. Check in lady was extrememly rude. We had requested to be on the lower level because we had three children and she switched our rooms and ended up on the second floor. The dim, long narrow hallways made it unwelcoming... There weren't enough signs telling where to go, and if you blinked you missed the elevator. Oh and did I mention the musty smell as you enter the building? The keys to the room took forever to unlock the door and my husband had to request new keys. We checked the room and found some egg on the comforter. This really turned our stomach. We went to eat at A&W which was a great fast food restaurant and then took the kids swimming. The pool area was nice and warm and liked the hot tub. My daughters needed to use the restroom, so we did and when we flushed the toilet, the toilet overflowed. So we went to bed and woke up and got their complementary breakfast. It was waffles, potato, egg, biscuits and gravy, coffee, oj, cranberry juice, yogurt, bananas,.apples, and a few danishes. It was alright. Then the checkout... a few people ahead of me asked for 3 bags for their dirty laundry, and the worker didnt even smile, just throwing them at her and the guy before me that checked out needed a reciept and she basically threw it at him... Then it was me.... rude as ever... Although it was a free night stay for us... it was THE WORST hotel expierence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank q2012dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel when traveling for business and would recommend it for business and families. The room was very nice and large. A family of five would have plenty of room. There is a large indoor pool and play area that looked really nice and the hot breakfast was very good. The staff was also very friendly at both the front desk and at breakfast. Location is close to shopping and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asnell515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here in late October 2011.

The parking lot had huge potholes everywhere. The exterior of the hotel does not look inviting - looks very dated. Checkin was easy. After walking down a long hallway I walked into my room, which was very clean. The internet worked great. The TV, while old, was decent. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was average. Processed scrambled eggs, w/ sausage one day, and bacon the next. Hard (old) pastries, and bagels. Orange juice served in cups that resemble shot glasses (I had to fill up two at a time).

The fitness center consisted of a cable machine that appeared very old, two treadmills, and a stationary bike - all in less than average condition. I walked through, but did not use the pool area. It was clean, with some children's games inside. To give an example of the hotel - there is a ping pong table in the children's area. The net is stretched, no ping pong balls, and old worn paddles. This is about what the entire hotel is like. Clean, but old, and not maintained.

I did notice someone was spray painting ceiling stains throughout the hall ways. This hotel had seen better days - but I paid less than $50, and got about what I expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed for one night. Had a room on the first floor close to the lobby. Room was large, comfortable and clean, though not perfect. Big red nail polish stain on the carpet, a rather poorly done stucco job on the bathroom ceiling, sorta lame lighting, and an outdated TV. On the other hand, the room was huge, the place was quiet, the price was right (thanks discount services!), and the hot breakfast was better than average. I might stay there again, but only if it came up as my "mystery" place in a discount deal....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAW-GRMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

People were nice and the bed was fine. And the price was very good. But otherwise: yikes! Feels like it was built in 1970 as a dorm. Very institutional. The doors were narrow. Hallways very long and straight after getting through labyrinth of heavy wooden doors.

Chair was broken. A/C unit had missing cover - many layers of dust on display. The carpet was worn. Seriouly warn. The walls were heavily scuffed. The pool area was seriously drab, though I don't think really little ones would mind. To me it was just a very depressing place.

And I walked through one of those doors into a long hallway to find a security guard hanging out by one of the doors. Wierd. Gave me a fright. Nothing wrong with having security but it felt real creepy there.

Great price for a reasonable place to rest your head but I'm not going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregOakPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have stayed here numerous times and really don't have any complaints. It's not fancy, but it is clean and the staff is nice. If there is ever a problem they will fix it very quickly, even if it means switching you to another room. The breakfast is good. The pool is nice, so is the hot tub. The beds are comfy and the rooms are well stocked with towels and toiletries. I will stay here many more times, I am sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wondra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 26 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
0.5 km away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 26 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
SpringHill Suites Lansing
#10 of 26 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 7501 W Saginaw Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917-1130 (Formerly Lansing West Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Lansing Hotel And Lansing
Holiday Inn Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing