We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$105
Hotels.comUS$105
Expedia.comUS$105
Agoda.comUS$105
FindHotelUS$105
TravelocityUS$105
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
293
90
26
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
293
90
26
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suzette homemade bread garden area covered deck made to order breakfast koi pond next morning water pressure breakfast was amazing each morning king room hot breakfast coffee maker ss badger motel landscaping downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 427 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2020

Our Michigan journey included this, our third, stay in an old style motel, but with updated and very clean furnishings. Room was generous, the grounds were well-kept, parking was easy. Hot breakfast was well organized (delivered to rooms on time according to orders placed the evening before because of the covid-19 pandemic). Check in was efficient and handled with social distancing and other safeguards (masks). Pleasant and helpful information provided about the Maritime Museum and Jamesport Brewing restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 115hughf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2020 via mobile

This place is wonderful! I went on a solo trip and didn’t make reservations anywhere so stumbled upon this place with one open room. The room was adorable!
Super cute and clean! The staff was friendly, they have wine tasting in the evening and the best is a hot (made to order) omelette. Mine was delivered to my room because of Covid restrictions but I think in normal times you have it in the dining room.
Don’t pass this place up if given the chance!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Fearless780590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2020

We met four people who work there and they were all very helpful and personable. The room was completely updated, and clean. Nicely decorated, and it did not have that cookie cutter hotel ambiance. Very unique. Also very quiet, there were no kids. This hotel was built in 1958. Don't let that bother you - everything was new and well maintained. Nice strong shower. Thick towels. Breakfast service was very well thought out. They deliver to the room at the exact time requested. Coffee is available starting at 6:30. There is a garden courtyard that is a wonderful place for glass of wine or coffee. Easy walk to plenty of shops, sweets, and food.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JERF1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2020

Very (and I mean VERY) clean room and homemade breakfast delivered to our door every morning at 8am sharp, as we requested. This nicely updated and maintained motel is on the main road but the second you turn in the drive, the outside world falls away and you are transported back to a time when motor lodging was chic and welcoming. There are chairs for gathering all over the place, and the garden area and koi pond were absolutely lovely. We left Ludington with new friends because of this place!

Our king room (#23) was big enough for the two of us and the bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was small but again, this motel was built in a time when bathrooms were more utilitarian and not palatial retreats like they are now. Both of us (we are not tiny folks) had more than enough room in the shower and WOW, the water pressure was strong, which I love. The original tile in the bathroom and shower added nostalgia, in my opinion. If you are at all detail-oriented, the tilework was done by someone who knew what they were doing and you will notice this. This is an adults-only hotel, which kept the atmosphere incredibly serene, and quiet time (10pm, I believe) meant everyone had opportunity to get a peaceful night's sleep.

Let's talk about the homemade breakfasts for a moment. Due to COVID, they are not having everyone gather for breakfast. But unlike pretty much all the other hotels at which we've stayed this summer that are offering a pathetic excuse for a breakfast "go-bag", Summer's Inn has chosen to improve their service rather than reduce it by offering three selections for breakfast made to order that is delivered by staff (wearing gloves and a mask) to your door each morning in a covered plastic tub. And the homemade sourdough bread that came with it was ahh-mazing!

Only a couple of areas where improvement could be made, but absolutely none of these decreased our enjoyment of Summer's Inn:

1. A shelf or elevated holder of some type would be nice in the shower, so that bath scrubbers and other things can stay off the floor.
2. Air conditioner had a hard time keeping the room an even temperature. One evening we went to bed and the sheets felt kind of wet from the humidity level in the room.
3. Because this motel was built in a simpler time, it lacks proper quantities of power outlets to charge all our modern-day devices in the rooms. This can easily and inexpensively be resolved with a power strip in each room.

Bottom line - clean motel, friendly and accommodating staff, quiet and serene grounds, throwback to simpler and less stressful times. One mile from the beach. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenpomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2020

We called ahead and booked a room, told them we were arriving late off the SS Badger, arriving at nearly 8 p.m., our room #16 (as pointed out by many) was small for the money. W opened the door and was hit by the scent of cat pee or something similar. The AC was off and the room very stuffy, at this price one expects some fresh air or AC not a 88F room, the frig was off. The bathroom is from the circa 1950, harvest gold tile and a tiny shower with moldy back grout. (Guys buy some bleach and a nylon brush and clean this black crud out of the grout.)

Back to the office talked to Dante, a really nice fellow. He moved us to an upgraded room, but beware no matter where you stay, all the bathrooms are stuck in the 1950/60's. For the price they are charging they should have upgraded them.

Yes they changed the floors to pergo guess from tile or carpet, it's not fitted that well our upgraded room has a spot where they're a gap between planks.

Breakfast the next morning wonderful except we did not receive a carafe of coffee. When I said something to the staff by the office, they smiled and did nothing. So I stopped later going out of town and got a caffeine fix. In my life time I've stayed in hotels from $1,000/night to $25/night. At the price they charge it's really an old fashion court motel with new paint, a board sidewalk very quaint, that coming apart with some some loose planks. But to be fair the second room was clean and not smelly, thanks Dante.. The breakfast is lovely, nice toast, omelette sans coffee. AC's very 1970's GE window units took about an hour to cool down our room.

How others are rating this place with 4+? they must have been motel 6 clients. This is not a very delux place. Heck the the pillow on our king bed was a very tiny pillow stuffed into a King pillowcase and draped about 50% over the bed. They are trying to be stylish on a small budget, but not really executing it well. A bit of a miss: we had a Coffee maker, no coffee or cream/sweetener etc., and of course no coffee for our breakfast, food great arrived promptly.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank patricksV9805PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews