We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
174
47
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
47
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oatmeal market street cookies front porch main street fudge stay there again bed and breakfast fresh fruit window air conditioner breakfast was delicious ice water grand hotel quiet at night hustle and bustle rooms are comfortable every morning
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 237 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

The Metivier Inn is just one small block away from all of the shops and restaurants on Mackinac Island. Dave and Blanca were very helpful getting us settled in for our first stay on the island.

Met a lot of fellow travelers on Metivier's porch. Watching (and hearing) the horses go by was always nice. The Metivier also has a lot of photos showing the history of the inn and the island.

Breakfast was very good. It consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, breads, pastries, french toast, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and OJ. Cookies, fudge, and coffee were also available in the afternoon. Sorry, no happy hour.

The cost for the room was fair. When compared to the cost of what the Grand Hotel wanted, it was quite a bargain! If you want to see the Grand Hotel, pay their $10 entrance fee, enjoy, then leave. There's a lot to enjoy on the island besides the Grand. FYI the walk from Metivier to the Grand was maybe 15 mins.

During our stay in late September an assistant innkeeper named Dan was there. He was a wealth of information telling us so much about life on Mackinac. We truly enjoyed spending time with him.

Tip: There's a small grocery store called Doud's Market on Main St. if you need to purchase everyday items.

Had a very nice dinner at The Pink Pony. Recommended if you want dine with a water-front view. Most restaurants are not on the water.

Room Tip: Only four rooms on first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

My husband and I have stayed at Metivier Inn at least a dozen times over the last twenty years. The clientele (like us) has gotten a bit older but it's one of the mosre scenic spots to enjoy your stay on the island.

We've recommended Metivier numerous times to anyone headed to Mackinaw Island. However this past trip to the inn will probably be our last.

The inn is still clean and the porch (we love that porch--it's the main reason we come to MI) and flowers are as inviting as ever. Maybe it's because we visited later in the season but we picked up on a going-through-the-motions vibe from the innkeepers. A general grumpiness along with some complaining we overheard on two occasions added up to feeling sort of unwelcome. That's tough when you're paying close to $300/night.

Also unexpected was the less than luxurious bathroom with a thimble-sized shower. Again not what you would expect for the price tag. Add to that the 70's era muzak playing in the common areas and we're headed elsewhere on our next trip to Mackinaw Island.

Room Tip: Mattresses are super soft. Pack a board if you have a bad back.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FlidaisoftheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed many places on Mackinac Island and the Metivier remains our favorite for a couples getaway. David and Blanca are wonderful hosts. Great location for hearing the Island come alive in the morning, and easy walking or biking distance to the waterfront and restaurants -IF you can tear yourself away from the front porch!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pamelarhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The Inn is very charming. The staff very friendly. The breakfast was ample and very tasty. Sitting on the front porch with hot tea after breakfast and watching the Island wake up is a treat. The Managers could not have been more friendly.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank janicem1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We thought of staying at The Grand but I am so glad we picked this Inn. It is so carefully “put together” down to the simplest detail. The gardens are magnificent, the porch a heaven for sipping tea and watching horses clip clop down the road. That is where I could have stayed for two days.
The rooms are clean, neat, small and cozy. Very much like a place of that time period.
Breakfast was excellent and then it was a rush to the front porch with my cup of tea for more carts, buggies and wagons.
Eat the brunch at The Grand and walk the grounds and through the hotel. Take the money you saved by not staying there and rent a carriage from Jacks Livery and drive yourself around the island. I recommend singing Surrey With the Fringe On Top to your horse. This was a horse women’s dream trip!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank solostarfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews