We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hamburger for lunch”

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

The Chuck Wagon is still going strong serving hamburgers for lunch. The place is always packed at lunch so expect to wait. The prices are reasonable (for the island) and the food is good.

Thank Earl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for stopping in for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2018

Like others have said it may be a hole in the wall but well worth the stop. Get there right at noon and enjoy watching the staff work at 110% effort. They are like a machine. The burgers are excellent as is the breakfast. Highly recommend checking it out.

Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

What a great compliment! Thank you for eating at our little hole in the wall. ;) We're glad you stopped in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We had lunch here twice during our visit to Mackinac Island this July. It is always a treat! Not only are the burgers simply the best - it is a fun experience eating here. The cooks are poetry in motion preparing the food and the servers interact smoothly with the diners and the cooks. From time of order to receiving our burgers was about seven minutes. So efficient!!

There is seating for about twenty people, many of the seats are at the counter (my favorite place to sit to watch the cooking and the servers) and there is usually a line down the block outside. Not to worry - It moves quickly because of their fast service. Well worth the wait!

Delicious food at a good price!!

1  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! We're glad you enjoyed the food and the experience. Hope to see you on your next trip to the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

A must! This place is very small but the food is worth the wait. We stopped by for a burger and liked it so much we went back the next day for breakfast. Both were fabulous!

1  Thank H4133PQlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I had read about this on trip advisor. We almost didn't wait, but so glad we did. While in line we were told by two different customers that it was worth the wait. It really was. It is a very small joint. The servers kick butt. They really move and get the tables turned over. I had the bleu burger and hubby had the patty melt. Both were delicious. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Food
2  Thank GatorGirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for the great review! We're glad you decided to wait in line too! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing