We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE!!!”
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I love the Inn on Mackinac, friendly staff, and their delicious cookies!! I will never forget my engagement weekend there, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superqt11586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've just returned from our overnight visit to Mackinac Island. We've been to the Island many times and highly recommend spending the night if possible. We saw an internet special running for the end of August for the Inn on Mackinac. Previously we've stayed at the Island House, The Murray Hotel, and the Chippewa Hotel. This far surpasses all of the other places we've stayed! It was wonderful! Everything from the little touches like the cheese and cracker plate in the lobby at check in, to lemonade, coffee and water that were available all day, and the final touch that was hard to resist, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at bedtime. The room was cozy, we had a front turret room, with a queen bed. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, seriously everything was top notch.
The front porch is gorgeous, awesome place to sit and people watch and listen to the horses clomp by. The pool looked great, but the weather was too chilly for us to use it.
If you are thinking you'd like to go see Mackinac Island, between now and the end of October, DO IT...and stay at the Mackinac Inn. Look at their website to see if they are offering any specials~ I am so glad we did.
We've found our new Inn for future trips to this gorgeous Island!

Room Tip: Check their website to see if they are offering any specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dreamntrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Mackinac! " In summary, I can best describe the Inn as one which has paid particular attention to details. The staff is friendly and professional and the entire facility is immaculate. The location is perfect, being just a short walk from the busy downtown area but just far enough away to avoid the crowds. Breakfast is very much above average, cheese and lemonade was a nice extra in the early evening. They even bring freshly made cookies to the rooms!
We found a fabulous discount on their website which made our stay one of the most affordable option on the island! Thank you, Inn on Mackinac - we hope to be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Their_Grandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed overnight with wife and 3 kids. Great location: just far enough past downtown to get a little quiet and a break from the crowds, but close enough to be handy (esp. with bikes!). Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choices. Loved the spa pool--a very different look from the rest of the hotel, and a nice break from all the Victoriana. Had happy hour on the balcony and watched the crowd stream past--very nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldaddy694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Brought family members and friends for our 2nd stay at the Inn. The entire group (all adults) enjoyed the stay. Great location - near downtown but away from the "busy" blocks. Easy 5 minute walk to all central attractions. Beautiful 2nd floor patio - nice place to enjoy a cup of tea and look at the gorgeous garden below. Delicious breakfast with good variety.

Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Decent price given price ranges on the island.

Only issues were - lukewarm water in jacuzzi pool and no pool towels available (though we were there late - around 10 pm), lots of noise from upstairs room (children running?) that transmitted easily through thin walls.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrockstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent two days at the Inn on Mackinac. I had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast and, although this property is listed as a hotel, it is pretty close to a Bed & Breakfast. I found the rooms to be quite charming. The public rooms are very tastefully decorated and it was nice sitting outside on the covered porch. Breakfast comes with your room and the Inn provided a variety of food and it was well-stocked. All afternoon cheese, crackers and lemonade are available by the main staircase. At night you will find warm cookies by your bedside. The location of the hotel is on Main Street towards the outskirts of the main downtown. This location is great as you are close to everything but can get away from the mob of tourists that come in for the day on the ferries. My only complaint about the hotel was the size of the bathroom. Our bathroom was literally made out of a closet. The sink was in the bedroom and the shower/toilet were in the tiny bathroom. One had to be careful not to hit their head on the door when using the facility. All in all, I would definitely stay here again the next time I cam to Mackinac Island!

Room Tip: A 5 story hotel with no elevator. WiFi only works on the 1st and public areas of the 2nd floor. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first visit as a couple to Mackinac. I had never been there before and I am in love! Such a wonderful vacation spot! The Inn on Mackinac was perfect with lots of Victorian charm. We didn't use the spa pool, but it was really pretty and looked inviting. Loved the fluffy pillows on the comfortable beds. We were met at the docks (we took Arnold ferry, which was also great) by a porter from the inn and he took our bags for us and they were waiting in the room when we got there. I had put in the comments section when I made the reservation online that it was our 15th anniversary and they upgraded our room at no additional cost! Free half pound fudge (your choice of flavors) upon checkin (or when you want it), cheese, crackers and lemonade in the lobby each afternoon, and warm chocolate chip cookies brought to your room each evening. Such great touches! We didn't feel like leaving! The staff there was very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was yummy and filling as well. (scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, french toast, oatmeal with a variety of toppings, bagels and toast, cereal, milk, juice, and coffee or tea). Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available all day. We enjoyed the 2nd floor porch where we sipped our coffee and watched the horse and buggies and bicycles passing by. My tip would be to bring your own bike by ferry (8.00 for a pass) so that you can use it the whole time you are here. It was so convenient to hop on and ride to town (only about 1/2 mile down the road), or bike around the island (8 miles, but only took us-amatuer cyclists- 1 1/2 hours with a stop), or take a bit more advanced ride to the interior trails. If you rent a bike, you will pay 5.00 an hour or more. They do have half a day or all day rates, but we found bringing our own bikes much more affordable. We rented saddle horses for an hour and had a blast! We went on our own after being escorted out of town by one of the stable hands. We also rented a horse and buggy on a rainy day and that was fun, as well. There is so much to do on the island that we ran out of time. We will definitely go back! Only wish we didn't live so far away so that we could return more often! We will definitey recommend the Inn on Mackinac to our friends!

Room Tip: Mention if you are vacationing because of a special occasion and maybe you will get a room upgrade l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,030 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.3 km away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.6 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,050 reviews
0.5 km away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $117 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing