We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat lunch with the kids.”
Review of The Gate House

The Gate House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A casual restaurant/bar just a short walk down Grand Hill. Serving lunch, dinner, and beverages inside and outside. Televisions and live music. Overnight guests of Grand Hotel on the Modified American Plan or Full American Plan receive a $20.00 per adult credit towards the food portion of their dinner bill. There is tipping at The Gate House. Check the Restaurant Events Calendar for live music schedule, food/drink specials and more.Hours of Operation: 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m. Luncheon: 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Dinner: 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. Late Night : 9:00p.m. - 1:30a.m. Friday and Saturday Overnight guests of Grand Hotel on the Modified American Plan receive a $20.00 per adult credit towards the food portion of their bill.There is tipping at The Gate House. The Gatehouse is a seasonal restaurant and will close for the season following dinner on October 28th. The Gatehouse will reopen in May 2019.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We went to lunch here on a rainy afternoon with the kids (3 and 7). There were plenty of options for them to eat and drink. My 3 year old choose a hamburger with fries and the 7 year old chose fish and chips, which she said was "tasty". The waitstaff were attentive, friendly and helpful. I chose one of the daily special sandwiches - a turkey reuben, which was plenty large and delicious. My husband ate a Pressed Cuban which he said he really enjoyed. There is a nice beer and mixed drink selection. Both are drinks were outstanding (rum runner and stout). They also have a nice long bar counter and bar area in front. They also have lots of patio sitting when the weather permits.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank artdecolady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis V, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your review. We enjoy sharing our establishment with families. We encourage everyone with children to join us for lunch or dinner. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 360 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2016

My family and I recently visited the island. The Gate House is one of our go to dining spots. On this trip, we had my 9 month old niece. The Gate House was so accomidating wither her stroller (as she was sleeping for the first hour there) and then with the high chair. My husband and I each got the prime rib, it was by far one of the best steaks I have had on the island. The prime rib was a little different than your normal prime rib, but it was truly outstanding and worth every penny.

Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis V, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your review. We LOVE children and we are excited to share our establishment with ALL families. It's so nice to hear that we were accommodating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Second time back here this past wk. when on the island. We sat outside, it's a bit cramped but so nice to be sitting outside.The sandwiches all sounded so good that we shared each others.If your going for lunch and don't want to over eat there is really enough for two people to share a sandwich with maybe getting an extra slaw. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive with refills. No complaints at all!!

Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis V, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Set outside under the sun umbrellas .Romantic . Ask for the table on the back . Great appetizer and stake .great server Romi . Just bellow the Grand .

Thank Bojana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis V, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your review. Romi is our Senior Server and has been with us since we opened The Gate House in 2006. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed his service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

We stayed at The Grand for 2 nights and after gorging ourselves on an obscene 5-course meal we retreated down the hill 1500 feet to the Grand's affiliated relaxed restaurant The Gate House. They have a lot of lovely outdoor seating and on a sunny summer afternoon its a lovely place for lunch or dinner

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wwalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis V, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing