We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked a suite this past weekend with our son, and were joining another couple and their kids. Check in time was 4 pm. We arrived at 4:10 and were told our room was not ready yet....no problem, we would just go to the corner store and pick up some snacks and drinks for the room and return. When we got back the room was still not cleaned...again, no problem, we just waited in the lobby patiently. While we were there another family came in with wet bathing suits wondering when their room would be ready, they had been waiting since 3, room was still not ready. The woman was wondering how they might compensate her for waiting and they wouldn't do anything for her. My husband had stated quietly to the one desk clerk that it was unacceptable that the rooms weren't ready, and he was told it wasn't a perfect world. We sat for awhile longer and then one of the desk clerks asked my husband to come outside...I thought he might give him a discount for waiting, and he said, that he couldn't make us happy and we would have to leave or he would call the cops!!!!! No reasoning to this, we had to leave!!! Needless to say we will never stay in a comfort suites again. We called the Consumer Travel of Tourisim and reported him. We have since heard that he does this alot. I think it is time for him to look for a new job.. he wouldn't even give us his name....COWARD!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paradise10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    34
    51
    40
    122
See reviews for
218
44
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a totally different expirience. We thought this would be a great hotel for the kids, and had a group of people staying here. The hotel was rude, and unaccomodating, even before checking in. Some of our rooms ended up with different room types than what they expected, the staff, was the most unfriendly hotel staff i have ever seen, and I have traveled the world and stayed in everything from B & B's to mega hotels. They acted like it was our fault when the rooms we were assigned had broken tables, no bathroom ammenities, and gave us and attitude everytime something needed to be done. We had an outdoor entrance, and they did not shovel the snow, or put down salt at our entrance so my kids fell almost everytime we came out of the room on the ice. The waterpark is shared by almost every other open hotel, so it was packed at night. They had no one checking for wrist bands or lifeguard, or even someone to watch for safety or accidents, but every so often someone would come through to check to see if you had anything but water. This was their priority with tons of kids in the water. We had brought a bag in for the hours of sitting there, and the kids has gatoraid, coke, and i had a glass of wine, and we were asked to either remove them or leave. They had no common courtesy at all, and it felt like we were more in a $200 a night prison, than a nice family hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn-Michigan48706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Very impressed ... water park was great for kids 2-12 years old... Great Breakfest

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Anse
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed two nights, Sat & Sun. off season. The room was a big corner room with alot of windows, very nice, except you have a night light with the outside lights shining in the room all night. You do not have to go outside to get to the waterpark/pool area, but you do have to walk through a long cold hallway to get there. The bed seemed comfy, the bathroom was clean except for the shower head, it could use a soaking in bleach. Breakfast was nice Sunday morning, very filling and plenty of it!! We were the ONLY people staying in the hotel Sunday night and the front desk guy was very hesitant about turning the lights on in the pool area for us (and our 2yr. old son). So, we got to go in the pool/waterpark for 45 mins. that night. We woke up Monday morning only to find there was no breakfast for us, nor did the guy at the front desk offer us a coupon to have breakfast anywhere else. I do have a sour taste in my mouth about the pool/waterpark not being open for us Sunday night and not having breakfast on Monday morning, but all in all we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room is right next to the ice machine and stairs, if you have a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradheather_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay @ this hotel. We were there the first of October, spent 2 nights. Very convenient to the Mackinac Island ferries (just across the street). Lovely suite, nicely appointed. The breakfast was adequate, just stay away from the biscuits & gravy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Myself, my wife , and 15 month old arrived here on Monday October 3rd. Being towards the end of off season, there weren't many kids which was nice. Actually we might have been the youngest people there, was an older crowd.
The room was ok, clean bathroom. But the carpet was pretty dirty. My daughter had her blanket on the floor and it stunk really bad after sitting on the floor. And no dvd, only VCR...odd being they rented DVD's in the lobby.
The hotel overall was so so. They had some air freshener in the halls and elevators that resembled something one might were after hitting menopause. The windows and stairwells needed a good cleaning as well.
The waterpark was also ok. My daughter enjoyed it but there wasn't much for us to do. And yes the hot tub is huge. The water park was in need of a good cleaning though. Rust stains everywhere. It just needed to be shut down and washed really good.
Breakfast was pretty good for free, nothing great but better than a continental.
Staff was not friendly at all. No one said hello or even smiled once.
And the biggest thing, hotel security was non existent. The outside side doors never locked. And anyone who wished could come into the water park. No one checked for the wristband you were supposed to wear.
The place just came across as old and could have been cleaner. I can imagine that during the summer this place being a mad house of kids, being the other hotels in the area can use the waterpark. Not bad for $100 a night but definitely could have been better. Probably won't return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We rented three rooms at this Comfort Suites and the rooms themselves were ok. More spacious than we thought and seemed to be clean. But the suites we had were not designed well. The far room, for example, couldn't get any air conditioning unless you opened all of the doors and then it was just whatever happened to flow in; no direct heating/cooling that we could tell. Plus, the air conditioning didn't work at all in another room.

The biggest negatives were the dirty hallways and general lack of upkeep. The windows all had spider webs in them and the carpets hadn't been vacuumed in ages apparently. The breakfast wasn't very good at all and we're used to these buffet kind of breakfasts. This was on the low end of passable. The water park was just so-so.

All in all, not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michigantraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#23 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 km away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark

Property: Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark
Address: 722 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618 (Formerly Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing