We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, clean,comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean,comfy!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is the sweetest place in Mackinaw City! The theme room was lovely. The bed the most comfortable ever! The complimentary breakfast was nicely presented and delicious. It is so nice to be able to walk right across the street to the park. Best view of the bridge ever! Can't wait to return next summer!

Room Tip: clean and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northsun2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    71
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a great place to stay in Mackinaw City. My husband and I wanted to escape the heat so we hopped on the bike and headed north. We did not have a reservation but the pool was so inviting as we drove around town, we decided to check it out. Reasonable rates for all you get. The landscape was beautiful and the rooms were spotless. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable. It was close enough to town that we were able to walk. Included was a very nice continental breakfast. There is a nice beachy park across the street where we witnessed a spectactular sunset under the bridge. Consider this hotel if you are heading to Mackinaw. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iluvdawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Try the themed rooms. This is a great little motel. While the view of the bridge is slightly obstructed, there is a great little park across the street with the best view. Easy to get to and well worth the stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Not having a reservation we choose the American Boutique Inn by the outside being manicured and very pretty. We stayed in one of the themed rooms. Decorated very nicely according to the theme. Comfy mattress, very clean room and very helpful owners and staff. A very nice end of town to stay in. Go to a chain hotel if you want your room to look like everyone elses or stay in this lovely Inn with personal attention to everything. Also a plus, right across the street from Lake Michigan and about three blocks to the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Is it just me? With all the "classy" sounding hotel names, the "Budget Host" sounded like simply settling for a hotel room that would save a few bucks. In reality, this is a really nice motel. The rooms are tasteful and clean...not cheap. The staff is excellent and very helpful. The location is one of the best "on the strip" in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aproudlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a themed room. As other reviewers have noted: the themed decoration made it seem like we were staying in a b&b instead of a motel, which was nice. We were on the 2nd floor - no elevator. Our room did have a view of a part of the bridge and the lake. Pool and grounds were beautiful. Front desk very friendly and helpful. Coffee in the lobby. Great location within walking distance of ferries, downtown, the lake and fort. My main complaint was the mattress and pillows were awful. The mattress sunk toward the middle, and the pillows were like pancakes (and I don't mean the fluffly kind!). It seemed like there were not enough surfaces to put our stuff. I would recommend this hotel to a friend but with caveats.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The rooms are a little dated, but they are also very unique. I have never stayed in a hotel with such a homestyle feel. I told my husband I felt more like we were staying at a relative's house rather than a hotel. The front desk clerk was helpful about suggesting things to do. I would stay there again. The Location was AMAZING! View of the lake and the bridge, a few blocks from the ferry docks and shopping. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
186 reviews
1.9 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Property: American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing