We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
95
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hemingway room bed and breakfast mackinac island each morning wonderful stay nancy hosts hiawatha fireplace jacuzzi
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 120 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the Hiawatha room, this past weekend (10/4 - 10/6/2013) and enjoyed it very much. Barry and Nancy and kind and interesting people who are a pleasure to talk to. The accommodations are cozy and comfortable and the location of the Inn can't be beat at all. We had a lovely stay, here, and would return in a heartbeat. :o)

Room Tip: The Hiawatha Room has a large bathroom with a claw foot tub, which, of course, I HAD to experience. And glad that I did!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just returned last month from a two week MI/WI vacation and spent two nights at the Inn. The hosts, Nancy and Barry were very nice, warm, and welcoming. We stayed in the Hemingway room and found it quite adequate for the two of us. However, you need to get use to the animals mounted all over the room and the Inn. I guess if you're a fan of taxidermy, its great; if not, you might get a little frightened if you have to get up in the middle of the night. The location was great and in walking distance to the ferry, stores, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevsouthflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Deer Head Inn recently. You can't beat the location in a quiet neighborhood for taking the ferry to Mackinac Island. The home is comfortable, and the hosts, hospitable. We were in the smallest room, the one with the Lighthouse decor. It was manageable, but a bit cramped for two people. There wasn't much room for our luggage, and there was very little space for hanging clothing. The bed, however, was the most comfortable of any place we stayed on our 10-day road trip. (All our other lodging was in hotels, not B&Bs). Mini-blinds are not room-darkening, so the light filtered in at dawn. (Fortunately, I travel with a sleep mask.) The Lighthouse Room may be the only room that does not have a mounted animal head on the wall. Nancy and Barry were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and filling although there wasn't nearly as much food the second morning as the first morning we were there. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and chatting with them around the table. There is parking for guests on the property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here three nights after being five nights on Mackinac Island. This B and B is VERY close to town and the ferries, yet felt quiet and peaceful ( like a country setting.) Barry and Nancy were awesome hosts. Nancy made terrific breakfasts and we enjoyed visiting other guests at the big table in the huge dining area. Barry was fun to visit with on the cozy front porch. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there last year for our yearly trip to the Mackinaw City area and stayed again this year. Wonderful room, short walking distance to downtown, great breakfast and wonderful hospitality. It is our go-to place to stay in Mackinaw.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews