We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Jackson, MI
1 review
“worst hotel ever experienced”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Room appeared clean, but very much needing updating. Bathroom was very, very small. The internet was not working at all even though it is offered "free wi-fi". We went to speak to the manager and he seemed rather annoyed and replied, "I don't recall you asking about the internet and informed us we needed a user name and password." In most situations, a hotel clerk would write this down for a guest, but he gave it to me verbally to remember. After countless times of trying, we still never connected. The TV in our room wouldn't work at all and was all scrambled. Again spoke to the manager and his reply was " the housekeeper must have not checked it and he didn't know that it wasn't working." He further stated that he would have to wait for his wife to return home before he could look at it and for US to wiggle the cables. We walked out the office thinking that we were an inconvience to him. So after the wife came home she (who was nice and attempted to be accomodating) she couldn't get the internet or the TV to work. At this point we decided that we were going to attempt to find another room in the area. It was Friday night at 6:30 p.m. and I got on the phone with Choice Hotels and complained and they got us another, much nicer room in St. Ignace for the same price as this hotel.
I will never ever stay at this hotel again... Between the outdated non-working equipment, the uncaring attitude of the male manager, no chain locks on the doors and the noise of the freeway, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbigdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    13
    9
    20
See reviews for
21
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed at this motel for one night. The owner, Dave, was nice. For a short stay, the room was perfect. The room was small and clean. The motel hasn't been updated (except for the carpet), so it's quite old. No hair dryer in the room, but there is a coffee maker. Nice restaurant next door....great for all three meals.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delsolseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

The hotel's location is very nice and you can see the foot of the bridge from your window as well as beautiful lilac bushes and a windmill.
I was shocked to find out that the part of the hotel we stayed in had two sliding glass doors and no solid exterior door. This was a real nightmare for us, as our 18-year-old son has severe autism and does not have the ability to keep himself safe.
I went to the front desk upon checking in and realizing we could never keep him safe in that room and explained the problem. After waiting for a group of people and their huge dog to be helped, I explained our situation. The man at the desk told me there was only one other room. I took the key to that room to go check it out while my husband was in the other one hanging onto my son so he could not get out.
The other room had one normal exterior door and one sliding door. There was a wasp in the room that I tried to kill so I could look over the room. It doesn't take long to look over the rooms, as they are very small.
Since we had already booked online and I wouldn't get my money back, we accepted the other room, but not happy about it. The wasp survived my attempt to kill it and my husband finally got it and then spent the next 20 minutes looking for the body on the floor. We had to rig up some clever ways to block my son from having access to the sliding door. I didn't sleep well worrying about it all.
There are no amenities to speak of, but the room was clean and there were no noisy guests. Don't plan on anything good to eat at their breakfast. It's not far from the ferry boat docks and is right by the lake. You can walk literally half a block and be at the waterfront where Lake Huron and Lake Michigan meet and walk right underneath the beautiful Mackinaw Bridge.
We had other family members who stayed in another room. I had booked their room for a rollaway bed. The man at the front desk asked if we REALLY needed it. We did! He brought it down later and it barely fit. You could barely squeeze through to get to the bathroom after it was unfolded.
It's not the place for you if you have someone with autism or another disability with you!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank autismadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

while clean, and employing a pleasant staff, this motel is extremely old and in dire need of an update. And for the price that they charge, they should be able to afford the upgrades that they need. The small chipped and cracked sink hung on the wall with a metal shelf mounted above it - I guess it was their idea of a vanity. The tub was so old, it was permanently stained. A drop ceiling is obviously in place to hide the other defects that I am sure are above it. Breakfast was bread - oh, you can toast it. My advice, pay more and get a whole lot more bang for your buck somewhere else.

  • Liked — location was convenient
  • Disliked — extremely old and obviously not even interested in basic upkeep
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingalColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed on a Friday night. Had no reservation, was given a room immediately. Friendly owner. We were on a motorcycle. Asked for some older towels to clean the cycle. Owner was very helpful.

Only glitch we had was the a/c in the room was not working properly. The room was clean. Great value. Would recommend this facility.

  • Liked — price,value
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiniWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Nice clean hotel for a very fair price on a Wednesday night.
Honored a AAA discount after quoting standard room rate.
The owner operators are very friendly people. Even when we asked for extra pillows at 10 pm the service was givin with a smile .

-Paul from New Hampshire

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgcpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2004

Old Hotel from the 60's. The motel has limited amenities, no pool and very small rooms. The noise from the adjacent freeway is very noisy.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, owner at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 29 June 2004
We welcome all comments. This response was unusual for our Bronze Award property.We rate in the top 10% of the Econo Lodge brand and are AAA rated. This 32 room property is perfect for adult travelers. Having no pool makes a quiet property as our travelers can turn their lights out early.We have fresh, updated, cozy room interiors. We are located off exit 339, 600 feet from the park at the Mackinac Bridge. Join our frequent stay guests who come back because we care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.9 km away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
147 reviews
0.8 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
186 reviews
1.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
1.0 km away
Lighthouse View Motel
Lighthouse View Motel
#4 of 8 in Mackinaw City
98 reviews
0.6 km away
Super 8 Mackinaw City/Beachfront Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Property: Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Address: 412 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9657 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Mackinaw City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing