We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to love the little pancake machine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 2 July 2011

A real nice find in Mackinaw City, where little motels abound. Clean, spacious rooms, mine had a view of the nearby Mackinac Bridge. Very popular. But in the breakfast area the little, clean pancake machine was the star. Press a button, and two nicely formed pancakes come out. Keep pressing, more hotcakes. Kids love it!

Room Tip: Get an AAA membership. Discounts abound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

Located in Mackinaw City just blocks away from the fort, lighthouse, and Main Street activities. Our family of five was very comfortable in the one bedroom suite (1 king, 2 queens) and enjoyed relaxing on the balcony with view of the Mackinaw Bridge. The kids had a blast in the pool and the breakfast bar was suitable, although extremely busy during the peak season. Minutes away from the ferry docks for those visiting the island. We'll definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. Indoor pool was very nice as was the spa.
Parking lot was being re-coated so parking was congested. Many rooms were being shampoo'ed so halls were cluttered with hoses. Computer area chair was shampoo'ed and not marked as wet so when I sat down it soaked through my pants.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Clarify what floor and bed types you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyshotgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My sister and and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City. Sabrina at the front dest was very helpful with our reservations, made sure that everything went well,and always had a smile. Housekeeping did a great job in our room and it even smelled clean! This was our second stay, and we will be back! I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City!

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photogirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Perfect. Will stay here again. Clean, friendly, great cookies. Breakfast selection was best free menu selection we have experienced except at a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flychaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-Mackinawcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank you for visiting us "Up North"! Holiday Inn Express-Mackinaw City offers a great "Express Start" breakfast each and every morning until 9:30 am! Complimentary newspapers and fresh brewed coffee are available 24 hours a day! We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I thought that holiday inn was undergoing a big renovation push. This hotel is very tired and I would think should lose their flag. great nice staff but the hotel is old. bathrooms are outdated fixtures rusty basically 1970 improvements.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-Mackinawcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you for your comments. You are absolutely correct, Holiday Inns across the country are undergoing a major "Re-fresh". We have recieved the new bedding, Fresh Start Breakfast including the new made to order Pancake machine, planters, and outside lighting. The bathrooms and guest rooms are next to be rennovated. As in any successful business, our staff is our greatest asset. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express-"At the Bridge"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We drove up from Ohio on Tuesday before Labor Day and stayed for 2 nights. I advance - reserved and paid in full with res. to get the best deal, so we were committed. We have had nice times at other Holiday Inn Express locations, and we really enjoy the hot breakfasts that are served there. This was no exception. We reserved a suite and were hoping for one with a bridge view. There are some that face the other way. Well we got the best room on the top floor at the end of the hall. Anyway, this hotel is in town, not on the water. There are many hotels near the Lake Huron end of the Straits, and this is not one of them. We knew that going in. The place filled up with tour bus patrons, mature folks like us. So that was nice too. Just lucky, I guess. There was plenty to do nearby. Of course, we crossed the bridge ($3.50 each way!) and went to the casino in St. Ignace, MI on the first night. We don't gamble much, and I was surprized when we saw how large an establishment the casino property was. That was fun. The bridge is an attraction in itself. We also went a few miles west and climbed the original lighthouse to the top. There is a very small museum there and they accepted donations. The other lighthouse, closest to the hotel and the bridge charges a fee but we went in and bought a refridgerator magnet. They got 2 bucks out of us! We walked all around the nice waterfront park in the slight drizzle and visited some of the waterside hotels. I want to say here that we found the State of Michigan to be very tourist friendly, from the visitors centers to the abundant public w/c's everywhere. We went into Central Avenue and walked around and went into shops and had lunch one day. We saw lots of families with children seeming to be having a nice time. There is a Bridge Museum upstairs over the Pizza parlour. They show a documentary movie and they have lots of relics and memorabilia which I enjoy. All this free stuff, my kind of place. You could take a ferry from Central Avenue to the Island if you wanted. The weather was a little rough, and we had run out of time, so we skipped that one. Nice little vacation anyway.

Room Tip: Pre paid advance reservation worked for us here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-Mackinawcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank You for your kind words! Mackinaw City and the surronding area has alot to offer. I am glad you were able to experience some of the local attractions during the off season. Be sure to join us anytime and a big Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express "At the Bridge"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
1.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#19 of 40 in Mackinaw City
958 reviews
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
1.6 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
218 reviews
3.1 km away
The Shores At Mackinaw
The Shores At Mackinaw
#14 of 40 in Mackinaw City
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: C$114 - C$284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing