We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Excellent But Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not Excellent But Ok”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect, the staff was friendly,the breakfast area was good,we didn't use the pool area so cannot comment on that. However our bed was very uncomfortable, totally not the norm for a HIE, could of at least used a mattress pad, that was are no complaint

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us to identify key areas with room for improvement, such as training/retraining for housekeeping, to make sure they do not overlook any items. It allows us the opportunity to take weaknesses and turn them into strengths. As you can imagine, our big “home” has 102 rooms with 170 beds, so for the last year we have been in the process of replacing them all, as well as new carpet, paint, flat screen TVs and many other capital improvements.

With all the renovations and improvements, we hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest. The staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express – At the Bridge want you to give us a “10” upon your departure. We strive for a “Great Hotel that Guests Love”!

Most sincerely from our Holiday Inn Brand Family to yours,

Denise A. Ruff
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express – At the Bridge
Mackinaw City MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    163
    85
    41
    28
See reviews for
164
184
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here previously and had a great time, so for this stay we opted for a "mini-suite" Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel seemed to be updated since our last stay. My wife loved the new blue color scheme of the rooms and walls, and my daughter really enjoyed the swimming pool, which was fairly large and had good hours. We will definitely stay here again next time we travel through northern michigan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Group of guys stayed for the pond hockey tourney. The staff was pleasant, breakfast was good and rooms were clean and comfortable.

Only complaint would be that the door key readers need to be upgraded. Most of us (and other guests) had to get our keys re-programmed because the doors would not open.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joemama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your feelings and comments, regarding your "Great Stay", with us, here in Mackinaw City's, Holiday Inn Express - "At the Bridge. We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to serve you, all year-round. To keep us on our toes, we welcome any feedback, so we can improve upon the clitches, such as the Key Readers. Our maintenance was able to revisit all the rooms, after the pond hockey weekend and clean all the readers. So, again, thank you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Most sincerely,
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Was there in the off-season, in the middle of winter so I can't say how they are in the busy season but my experience was fantastic. Called in for a room at the last minute and got a room on the top floor with a view of the bridge and a small deck, unexpected to say the least. The room was very clean and quiet, the king bed was great and the staff was very professional. Just a couple blocks from the Bridge makes it easy for those going to the Fort or the Bridge for sightseeing. Most businesses were closed around the hotel for the season but for those staying during the warm months will find places to eat within a couple blocks.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a card-only access floor with private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We work hard to provide fantastic service and amenities, and take pride in reviews such as yours that show how our hard work has paid off!

As you mentioned, there are a good number of local businesses that close for the season, but there are also several restaurants that are open with us year-round. In the winter months Audie’s restaurant, as well as Jr’s Taligate Pub, are within walking distance from our property.

Thank’s again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked a room through hotwire, for this hotel. The description of the room included a fireplace. Upon check-in the clerk advised us that was a mistake, however, graciously she offered to give us a room with a fireplace. We ended up spending out 3 nights in a small suite. It was clean, and cozy. The cleaning staff made our room look great each and every day, and the breakfast was hot and fresh. They have a pancake maker !!!

We took notice of the neon lemon colored hallways ... WOW!! What is up with that?? Paint Special?? We theorized that it was a deterrent to prevent hallway socialization??

All in All we would rank very good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy we were able to upgrade your room to a club level suite!

We are also happy you were able to give our newly acquired pancake maker a try! This maker has added to our hot breakfast offerings, and our guests can now expect a great pancake in addition to other hot items such as our signature cinnamon rolls.

And we highly encourage hallway socialization! The hallways were recently repainted, as well as additional lighting installed in order to brighten our halls. While we understand that the color is a little bright for some guests, the renovations have gone a long way toward making the hotel interior brighter and more welcoming.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you will stay with us again and experience our excellent customer service, clean rooms, and free hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here around Thanksgiving and found the accomodations very nice. We stayed on Wednesday night and had a room on the top floor. This was very nice (included a tv in the bathroom which my kids loved!) We then stayed again on Saturday in a regular room which was average. The rooms were clean and comfortable, The breakfast was good but after a large crowd they struggled providing hot food that was hot. The front desk staff was wonderful. Hot tub was cold...yes cold. Not even warm. The pool was warmer than the hot tub! I would stay again but probably won't pack a swimsuit for the pool :(

Room Tip: Get the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meow-Mom-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback, so we can make the nice, nicer and the not so warm, warmer! Like any home, we have obstacles to overcome and some not so simple or quick to fix. So we hope that you will visit us again, in the near future, and don’t forget your swim suit! The pool has been the main attraction this winter, for guests and locals, alike. We strive to make the Holiday Inn Express – At the Bridge, Mackinaw City, a premier family destination, that is open Year-Round. ~ Denise Ruff, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I were on our Honeymoon in Mackinaw. We made a reservation with this hotel a couple months before we were scheduled to come. When we arrived they had lost our reservation, and were very rude about it. They then told us that we were probably mistaken and made the reservation in a different city. They were very patronizing. We ended up getting a room with them anyways, and we got the jacuzzi room. When we turned the jacuzzi on hair shot out of the jets. It was so gross. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone to give us tablets to put in the jacuzzi. We then had to put them in and wait 30 minuets while it cleaned. This did not remove the hair so we gave up and went to bed. The breakfast was also lacking and the orange juice tasted terrible. I would never go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
The management and staff appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are truly disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide excellent service and a clean, comfortable room for every guest.

While there’s no excuse for the rudeness you experienced, your stay was during one of our busiest times of the year and we were catering to a full house as well as training a new employee at the time. We apologize sincerely for dropping the ball, and have implemented new procedures to ensure that any issues which may arise are handled in a way that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

We have also passed your comments on to our breakfast attendants, and they strive to ensure that our hot breakfast is of the highest possible quality.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns, and we do hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations with excellent service and a clean, comfortable room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
592 reviews
1.9 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing