We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The room was acceptable and clean. Unfortunately during this stay I found Sammy and Deana at the front desk to be difficult and rude. My previous three stays I found the front desk very helpful and friendly when staffed by Amelia and Aaron.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 May 2016

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. i apologize for the rudeness you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. I would like to talk to you about this, if you would please call the hotel and ask for Mitch
Sincerely,
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Worst Holiday Inn Express we've been to. Tried to overcharge for the room, very noisy and tepid coffee. Not well supplied. Could hear the traffic all night long. Generally we've had good luck with these hotels, but this one was a bit of a stinker.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Sammie was professional, friendly & helpful. She does a great job of making you feel welcome. We have stayed here several times & the past several years. Good base for several days stay. We have a bridge "pass" & works well for visiting the eastern half of the upper peninsula, Mackinaw Island & northern Michigan (lower peninsula). All staff are friendly, make you feel welcome. Has larger & deeper pool than the norm. Very convient to Mackinaw City.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side & western end will have less IK-75 noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herschel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 May 2016

Thank you Herschel for that Great Review...on your Great stay with us, at the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City. I'm glad you mentioned Sammy...she does a great job at the Front Desk. And I love how you noticed our 8 ft deep pool. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

First time here and was not disappointed. The staff friendly and helpful. As an IHG rewards member got an upgrade on my room to a beautiful suite. Very comfortable and nicely decorated. Had fridge, microwave and coffee maker and 2 balconies. ....I would definitely stay here again. Did not try the breakfast bar, but if it's similar to other IHG Express it would not disappoint.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank cherbear6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 May 2016

First time here, in Mackinaw City...up graded to a suite...I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your view. We look forward to your next visit UP NORTH
Thank you
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

First of all, it's the only lodging in town that no longer uses bedspreads...which may be lovely in your home, but rarely get washed or dry cleaned in hotels. Here you get fresh duvet covers that are washed daily. I now consider the alternative germ-city. Everything else about the place is also fresh and clean. The decor, housekeeping, etc are terrific. Comfortable bed, good hot shower with curved shower rod, very kind and helpful staff, convenient location. What else could you want in Mackinaw City?

Room Tip: Rooms 228 230 328 330 428 430 all have balconies with lake and bridge views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2016

Bells Bells Bells...thank you MBQ I love your review...noticing the triple sheeting, neat and clean, fresh decor, curved shower rods. helpful staff and great location. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Stayed here just one night, I got a king size room. Room was kind of cramped. Bed was hard, but pillows were very soft. Good size pool and hot tub. Also has a sauna. Friendly staff. Overall nice hotel. I'd stay again

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 April 2016

Thank you Haley for taking the time to give us your review on our hotel...the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City. I'm glad you liked our soft pillows and large pool. We look forward to your next trip...be it business or leisure...UP NORTH
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

When in Mackinaw City we needed a place to hold a small meeting for 6-8 people.

The Holiday Inn Express gave us a nice clean meeting room complete with coffee.

The Manager was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 April 2016

Thank you James...I'm glad you enjoyed your Meeting Room, here at the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
1.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#18 of 40 in Mackinaw City
959 reviews
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
1.6 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
218 reviews
3.1 km away
The Shores At Mackinaw
The Shores At Mackinaw
#14 of 40 in Mackinaw City
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $114 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing