We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
230
188
97
48
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
188
97
48
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancake machine hi express front desk cinnamon rolls room was clean colonial michilimackinac the breakfast area ceiling fan pool area nice stay hot tub first floor biscuits and gravy yogurt bridge balcony mitch
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 595 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Worst Holiday Inn Express we've been to. Tried to overcharge for the room, very noisy and tepid coffee. Not well supplied. Could hear the traffic all night long. Generally we've had good luck with these hotels, but this one was a bit of a stinker.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 27, 2016

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Sammie was professional, friendly & helpful. She does a great job of making you feel welcome. We have stayed here several times & the past several years. Good base for several days stay. We have a bridge "pass" & works well for visiting the eastern half of the upper peninsula, Mackinaw Island & northern Michigan (lower peninsula). All staff are friendly, make you feel welcome. Has larger & deeper pool than the norm. Very convient to Mackinaw City.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side & western end will have less IK-75 noise
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herschel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 20, 2016

Thank you Herschel for that Great Review...on your Great stay with us, at the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City. I'm glad you mentioned Sammy...she does a great job at the Front Desk. And I love how you noticed our 8 ft deep pool. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

First time here and was not disappointed. The staff friendly and helpful. As an IHG rewards member got an upgrade on my room to a beautiful suite. Very comfortable and nicely decorated. Had fridge, microwave and coffee maker and 2 balconies. ....I would definitely stay here again. Did not try the breakfast bar, but if it's similar to other IHG Express it would not disappoint.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank cherbear6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 5, 2016

First time here, in Mackinaw City...up graded to a suite...I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your view. We look forward to your next visit UP NORTH
Thank you
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2016

First of all, it's the only lodging in town that no longer uses bedspreads...which may be lovely in your home, but rarely get washed or dry cleaned in hotels. Here you get fresh duvet covers that are washed daily. I now consider the alternative germ-city. Everything else about the place is also fresh and clean. The decor, housekeeping, etc are terrific. Comfortable bed, good hot shower with curved shower rod, very kind and helpful staff, convenient location. What else could you want in Mackinaw City?

Room Tip: Rooms 228 230 328 330 428 430 all have balconies with lake and bridge views.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 2, 2016

Bells Bells Bells...thank you MBQ I love your review...noticing the triple sheeting, neat and clean, fresh decor, curved shower rods. helpful staff and great location. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2016

Stayed here just one night, I got a king size room. Room was kind of cramped. Bed was hard, but pillows were very soft. Good size pool and hot tub. Also has a sauna. Friendly staff. Overall nice hotel. I'd stay again

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded April 30, 2016

Thank you Haley for taking the time to give us your review on our hotel...the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City. I'm glad you liked our soft pillows and large pool. We look forward to your next trip...be it business or leisure...UP NORTH
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews