We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Overall this is a very nice property, The room was clean and spacious, had a frig. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was the elevator was taken out of service, glad we were only on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Choose west end away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 September 2017

Diane...thank you for that nice review. Recognizing our friendly staff and clean rooms is wha we all like to hear. We do apologize for the elevator...a service call was made and it was back in action just a few hours later.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express and this is a very nice one. It's beautiful and very clean. The rooms are quiet and the staff were very friendly. We slept well and enjoyed the breakfast, although it was very busy at the time we were there (8:30) and the staff member was having a hard time keeping up - out of biscuits, trays and pancakes. Still, it was a good breakfast and those items were replaced.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaribethB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Thank you Maribeth for that very nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast Bar. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Had booked prior approx 3 months for 2 night stay, got in town a day early, was very accommodating to us, to book an extra night and not having to swap rooms. Great place and friendly staff. Hotel manager even greeted ppl in bfast room and went over what was happening in the area. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Thank you Susan for that wonderful review. I'm glad we could squeeze you in a day early so you could enjoy your vacation in Mackinaw City!
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This hotel meets the needs of tourists which is what we were. The rooms are clean but not exceptional. The carpets and furnishings are a little frayed. The morning breakfast is about average for a Holiday Inn Express. Its tucked into an out of the way location near the Mackinaw bridge. This is not an asset. There's a lot of traffic noise outside. Some of that noise gets into the room but its not troublesome. Its a few blocks from the main tourist strip. You might want to use a car. Staff was friendly. We were there during the high season so don't expect any price deals.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the bridge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Les, thank you for that fine review. I appreciate your feedback...I just wish we were more exceptional in the areas of carpets and furnishings. Road noise is always an issue, being so close to the highway. We are close to downtown and have a friendly staff.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We decided to make a last minute stay in Mackinaw when we missed our ferry and ran late from Drummond Island. Deena took our reservation and was able to accommodate us. We were very surprised because it could never have been busier with the bridge walk. The breakfast was good and the lady working in the breakfast area was very upbeat and even encouraged my daughter and I to do the walk. Thank you HI Express for great customer service, we'll be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank oishiimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2017

We are so glad that we could accommodate you this past weekend. The Labor Day Bridgewalk is quite busy. Thank you for those kind words of "Great Service"...and we look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

While we only sayed one night at this hotel we had a very pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly, the room was immacukate abd very spacious. dining in Mackinaw City is very sparse after 8 in the evening. After a long rive from Detroit, we arrived in the city very hungry. We finally found Audie's Restaurant and had a well prepared, reasonably priced meal. Checkin and check out was handled very well. Our drive to the ferry after checkout took us throught the heart of the city and lasted possibly ten minutes. I would gladly return to this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EALTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Thank you for that wonderful review...I'm glad you were able to find Audies for a bite to eat, after 8pm. The staff appreciates your comments and this will be posted for all to see.
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The good: I really liked the breakfast. The cinnamon rolls were really yummy, warm and melty. They have cereal, yogurt, sausage, eggs, egg white omelets, toast, juice, etc. The staff is very nice, even the cleaning staff greets you in the hall. The room was clean and the cleaning staff kept things stocked.
The bad: Although located across from Darrow's Restaurant (good food!) and within walking distance of the fort and downtown (a bit further, but not too much), it's right next to the highway, so whenever a semi downshifts, it's really loud. The walls are very thin too, and the guy next door who had the elaborate, fifteen minute, snorting/throat clearing (vomiting?) session drove me up the wall. And the preceding argument wasn't a joy either. Lastly, although not a big deal, but more of an inconvenience, our key cards were deactivated after the second day (of a 4 day stay) and the wifi password was changed. When we discovered our card didn't work we had to go back down the four flights to get it reactivated. Well, we got our workout in!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeekInTheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

The World Famous Cinnamon Rolls are the Best! Darrow's is great for pie...
We do apologize for the noisy neighbors and the inconvenience of the key cards not working. We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Mackinaw City
Mitch, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
945 reviews
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $115 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing