We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river tubes cooler units michigan cabin canoe
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Pros: The cabins were stocked with everything we needed, such as being, towels, dishes, pots and pans.

The resort has lots to offer,but we didn't use any of the extras outside of the cabin.

The floors were covered in a new laminate and were very clean.

Cons: There was a strong urine smell in the bathroom - YUCK!

No wifi. :(

The bathroom sink was coming apart from the wall. There was a large crack in the shower plastic.

Stayed: May 2015
2  Thank margaritayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed last weekend at Hinchman Acres (cabin 11). The cabin was very clean and updated. Had everything we needed. Good Bed, wood stove, fire pit (stocked with wood), TV with good reception to catch up on the games, kitchen....etc. Thought it was real bargain and plan to stay again. Had we brought the wives, they would had been just as comfortable. Good Job Hinchman!

Mike P
Granger, Indiana

Room Tip: I stayed in cabin 11 so that was what I based my rating on
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This resort advertises free wifi.......so when our cabin couldn't get a signal, we decided to go for a walk....yep, two cottages down, we get a wifi signal. They "cleaned" our cabin while we were tubing. Sprayed a lot of Lysol and then buttoned up the small space to the point when we walked into it, none of us could breath. One of our guests had such a bad reaction, she had to stay at a nearby motel for the duration. I do believe if you are one of the lucky ones to get a cabin that actually has free wifi and you check in after the cabin has had a chance to dissipate the spray, you will enjoy your stay......but upon bringing these issues up to the office, they seemed like they didn't care. The hotel or the campsite across the street seem to be the best bet. We will definitely be back, but not to this place.

Room Tip: Do not choose cabin 5, no wifi, and your charcoal grill that is too close to the cabin will make the whole cabin smell like charcoal and lighter fluid. We didn't even bother using it the second day and went to breakfast at a local nasty restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tammijoe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in mid-may, and thought this was a very nice and well run resort, set in lovely grounds, next to the Au sable river.

Our visit was primarily to see Kirtland`s Warbler, and this place is perfectly situated for it - literally a 2 minute drive across the river to the ranger station. where their tour commences, so you cant get any closer.

We had booked a small 1 bedroom cabin, but were upgraded to a larger 2 bedroom cabin by Erika, the owner, who was lovely and helpful throughout

The cabin was great, with a full kitchen, and all appliances including a full-sized cooker and fridge/freezer. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. It even came with an real fire place and firewood provided- which was lovely, especially as this year`s hard winter was still not over!

Entertainment wise, there was a good choice of TV channels and free wifi , but best of all, for us as birders ,were the eye-level views of birds just outside the windows, just a few feet away.

Two other Brits we met on the tour, said their motel accommodation in Mio was more expensive and only just "OK"- by contrast we found Hinchman`s was great value and a great place to stay, and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Contact the owners in advance for advice on indivual cabins, as we did- they were very helpful to us.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 408_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent service. Cabins are really great and have everything you need. Kid friendly. Fishing, swimming, fire pits, grills, good a.c. My family had a blast both staying at the cabins and canoeing. We fit six people in their double cabin comfortably. Cable tv and internet wifi.Was 110 a night but had a good stove, microwave and all the dishes you need to cook. We saved money by not having to go out to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews