We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic people, absolute relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Oriental Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersa Matruh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jaz Oriental Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mersa Matruh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic people, absolute relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Surrounded by soft golden sands and a clear blue sea sits the Jaz Oriental Hotel.
An extremely clean hotel with staff that go out of their way to please their guests.
Although you are confined to the complex for the duration of your stay, there are plenty of facilities to keep you entertained including a lovely sauna, gym, tennis/football courts, archery, swimming pools and much more. Additionally, excursions can be organised via the hotel/holiday rep and are very reasonably priced.
The selection of food is excellent and the many chefs employed by this hotel will cater for all.
Within the complex are a variery of shops, albeit, overpriced but by the time you finish haggling, the prices are more than reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Borgus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    283
    81
    27
    11
See reviews for
253
361
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Jaz Oriental and we could not fault it. The facilities are superb and the staff couldn't do enough for you despite a small group of individuals complaining about anything they could possibly think of. I would highly recommend this resort if you want a totally relaxing time, good food and great surroundings. The resort is shared with the Italians and the people and the reps worked really hard to include the British in their activities including Beach volleyball and football matches (for all you fellas out there the Brits beat the Iti's 10-0!!!). The only thing I would possibly change is the entertainment at night which was geared more towards the Italian's which didn't really bother my husband and I as we met a great bunch of people and we entertained ourselves. I hope this review helps you make your desicion.....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cerilovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Came back 11 May after 2 glorious weeks in the sun, although a certain person moaned non stop and tried to involve others in his complaints, we ignored them, as the manager tried to resolve every ridiculous complaint, instantly, but there is no pleasing some people. The hotel was very clean, food and choice of food excellent, service from all staff was curteous and polite, a well run hotel. Carribean type beach. Mersa Matruh a working town and very interesting. Samir the Thompson Rep was helpful, would go back again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alister25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We have just returned from the most relaxing two weeks we have ever had. The hotel has evverything you need, even your beach towels are provided. The location is very remote, but this we did not mind. We went on a trip to El Alamein, which was to rushed, we could of spent a few more hours there, so take our advice and stay on the resort and enjoy a totally relaxed leisure experience with a beautiful beach, turquoise sea, great food and excellent service, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hello33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

I have just come back from Jaz Oriental hotel. It was really peacefull, relaxing and just what i had wished for in a holiday. The service was very good, i dont think a waiter can take your plate....'that is finished' too soon.The pool was refreshing, as it was April, and the sea was clear and beautiful. There was a party that went on during the mid week and finished at 3am, which was not a problem for most people.....but a couple of guests thought that it was the end of the world and complained till they turned blue! Which was upsetting for someone like myself who had booked the holiday to spend quality time with my mum and catch up, and didnt need people complaining all the time! The food was brill, we made friends with one of the chefs and he cooked us speacial dishes. The wine was ok.....but u have to remember that it is all inclusive! The rep was very good, and advised mum and I to go on a good educational trip which was definately worth the money. The rooms were fantastic, big, and the beds were very comfortable. For anyone that says 'where is the coral'.........why did you book north egypt????????? All in all, i was very pleased with the week away and recommend the area to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Absandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Recently returned from the Jaz oriental Mersa Matruh, we can't fault the hotel, the room was very spacious, clean and fresh linen and towels everyday. The down side the pool was not heated so very cold as the weather was not always hot as travelled at Easter, the beach/pool bar ahd limited selection of snacks and sandwiches. The food in the restaurant, make the most of the breakfast as the lunch time and evening meals were not always good and the food was always cold and nearly always left overs from the day before especially in the salad bar. There was no evening entertainment, and be aware that you have to pay for your water and milk for you tea and coffee in the room. You also have to pay for the mini bar which I think is a bit silly as you are all inclusive and they serve all these drinks for free in the bars. Just a money maker on behalf of the hotel!!The staff are very friendly and helpful but over keen in the restaurant when taking you plate away whilst you are still eating. There is no where to go apart from walking aroung the hotel complex or the beach, you can go on a trip with Thomsons to the town of Mersa Matruh but dont waste your money you spend money time on the coach than in the shops and you have an armed guard with you at all times and you go to see were Cleopatra Bath which is just crap and full of rubbish. The Rommel museum was just a cave with some old war stuff again waste of time, hense don't do the shop and rock. Would not recommend and not 5 star restaurant food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

Spent a week at this hotel. I haven't had such a relaxing break for a long while. Wish I was still there. There were some noise problems after a few days with the Italians, but I understand that this hotel will no longer be booked by Thomsons. The hotel is very clean and the beach is spectacular. I would certainly book one of the other Jaz hotels along this strip in future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersa Matruh
51.2 km away
Carols Beau Rivage
Carols Beau Rivage
#4 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
34.4 km away
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
#9 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 km away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#91 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sol Y Mar Pioneers
Sol Y Mar Pioneers
#2 of 3 in Kharga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
35.0 km away
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
#8 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
36.4 km away
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
#7 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Oriental Resort

Property: Jaz Oriental Resort
Address: North Coast | Km 37 east of Mersa Matruh, Mersa Matruh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Mersa Matruh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Spa Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Family Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mersa Matruh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Oriental Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Also Known As:
Jaz Oriental Hotel Mersa Matruh
Jaz Oriental Resort Egypt/Mersa Matruh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing