We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place and atmospheric water hole” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halali Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halali Resort
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place and atmospheric water hole”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in Elephant which was very spacious especially the bathroom with the double sinks and large shower. Lovely soft white towels and bed linen. We never got to use the hot top whilst we were there it looked very clean but not that hot and no instructions but very got the time anyway. We stayed 2 nights and spent both at the waterhole hoping to see Leopard but only Rhino whilst we stayed here.

We spent from 5.30-8.30pm at the water hole and saw the Rhino about 7.30pm the first night and 7pm the following night we saw some people leave just before he arrived on both nights so felt very lucky. Its a shame they did not have a sightings board the book did not seem to get used that much and very little info on location of sightings. We saw very little in this area and understand April is not the best time to visit but we found Okaukuejo and Namutoni had much more to see, we saw lion at both of these locations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    309
    315
    91
    22
See reviews for
153
429
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Namibia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Halali camp is a straight forward rest camp in the middle of the Etosha National park. Facilities accommodate the needs of travellers. Nothing more.

The absolute gem of this camp is however the waterhole. Its fantastic in certain times of the year. The best action is normally in late afternoon and evening. The rare and elusive animals can be seen from a small hill overlooking the waterhole.

All NWR camps have been revamped in recent years. Halali has chosen to do a less glamorous upgrade then the other camps. But this means that today the facilities are less run down. Maintenance and a lack of it seems to be an issue with all state run facilities from NWR.

Overall the facilities are good value for money. Namibian residents even receive some discount. Camping is a good option. Stay in the normal rooms or for a little extra try out their honeymoon suits. Basic but good value for money.

Room Tip: For a little extra try the honeymoon suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marki663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

a beautiful waterhole. our chalet was equiped with a roof maded from glass, at night we could gaze at the stars, lying in our bed. Food is good. Nature is overwhelming

Room Tip: chalet with a transparent roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We are a family of 4 traveling for vacation in march 2012.

We really liked parts of our stay at Halali, but it certainly had some drawbacks. The good first:

The chalets are roomy and can easily hold 4 in the 2 bedrooms. Larger facilities were available. The bathrooms are nice and clean. There is a separate bathroom and shower room. There is 24 hour electricity and charging in the room. Easy to park right next to the room. Easy to walk to everything, except the water hole, can be a hike depending on where you stay.

The location is good in central etosha with lots of game in the area.

The water hole could be nice, but during the rainy season, it was a waste. Not a single animal spotted by any of the 14 groups I talked with over 2 days. 48 hours without a single animal. There is a spotlight for night viewing, but still no animals. They can't help the weather...

Now the negatives:

The food was below average. The meat was tougher when compared to other places and the quality of all the food was somewhat lower. The servers were nice, but there were not enough for the number of people compared to other places we stayed.

It was crowded in the area, even in the off season. Since it is a rather budget accommodation, lots of people and tour groups chose it. We had lots of cars at every sighting we had. The public water hole had its drawbacks as well. Very noisy with lots of tourist talking in normal voices. Very disturbing when trying to see game. We had as many as 40 people sitting around, some drinking and some smoking, some talking and laughing. It was bothersome.

The camp is fenced, so safe from animals. The pool is nice. There is fuel available and a small store to buy basic supplies.

We were ok, but will choose another camp or lodge on our next stay. Good for large groups and good for families that want to stay together in a safe, permanent structure and good for very budget conscious shoppers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odijk
Level Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Nicely located, good waterhole, but hot and facilities on park are not so good. When we stayed there most of the campsites didnt have electricity. The waterhole didnt have electricity as well, so no possibility to watch animals at night.

A large part just around the campsite had been burned as well. Also, the restaurant was swaming with wasps and very agressive birds, so you had to really protect your food. The swimming pool was fine.

Being located in the middle of the park, it is a very nice location to go on tours, since it has lots of waterholes closeby, so you can even see some close to sunset when the animals are most active.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Our 4th visit to Halali and it remains our firm favourite of the four NWR 'resorts' in Etosha. We far prefer this Waterhole although being New Year did create a lot of discarded tins and bottles that revellers were obviously too tired to carry back empty having exhausted themselves carrying them up when full! Disgusting behaviour by a stupid few.
This visit we got an 'upgrade' (what a great agent I had!!) to a Bush Chalet. Just two large two bedroom Chalets set away in their own secluded part of the Camp.
There was even an electric Christmas Tree.
Everything was clean and tidy and there was a comprehensive kitchen with even a Microwave. An outside Braai and patio area completed the ambience of the Bush experience.
We live in an apartment and at one point my wife remarked that she would swap for a bungalow on these lines.
We ate in the Restaurant, we WERE on holiday, and New years Eve was marked by a large public Braai and Champagne.
As stated we love this waterhole and were not disappointed with visits by seven Rhino the first evening and three the next. So peaceful that the Rhinos settled down to sleep right there. Perhaps they feel secure with their 'friends' just over the wire?
Game viewing is always good in the area although our favourite Waterholes of Goas and Rietfontein let us down others did not. New Years Day drive yielded 10 cheetah, many Lions and several clear views of Black Rhino.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you are offered or can afford a Bush chalet, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at Halali about a month after the large fires around the area. This we believe is the reason why there was less game around this area than Okaukuejo or Namutoni. The resort itself is very nice with very high standard of the family lodges, secluded waterhole and big pool. Dinner was possibly the best we had in Namibia! Shop poorly stocked as others have remarked. Went on a night game drive which was good, but also here rather long between the animals. Having said that, the Rietfontein waterhole met us with 50+ elephants splashing around and we had Rhinos and a leopard (!) at the Halali waterhole. (Not to count the visit by the "Halali potatoe crisp-mice") So no complaints!

Room Tip: The two secluded family chalets/houses are very good, but be specific not to be mixed up with family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
66.0 km away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
71.8 km away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
70.1 km away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 km away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
82.0 km away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
97.0 km away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halali Resort

Property: Halali Resort
Address: 70 km from Okaukuejo, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Halali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Halali Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing