We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location, good design but no service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
628 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, good design but no service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Arriving at this lodge I went to reception but no staff available. I did ask a employee at the bar if anyone would come to reception and the reply was "who would you like to see "I wanted to say my Preacher" The employee then told us when the meal times where and he took us to our Chalet. He was very kind and did carry the Key. We had to carry our luggage. On offer was made to assist us with the luggage. The views are just amazing and for that it is worth visiting this hotel for one night. Meals where OK service poor and the staff never greeted you when you passed by. Dirty Towels lying by the pool where not removed for hours. The carpets in the lobby turned over by a bit of wind where never turned back. It is a shame as this Lodge has a amazing location, the design is good and if they would get the service right WOW what a place this could be.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    148
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
77
319
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Level Contributor
574 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

When we arrived there was no one at reception. Eventually a reluctant individual turned up and informed us of meal times. We were given a room key. No one helped with the luggage. Room quite stylish, nice size bed, good size shower, cement floor . Bathroom amenities poor. Cheap shower gell, shampoo and body lotion in bottles differing sizes. . Shower gel bottle empty I asked for a new bottle after several hours I got a one third full bottle clogged up by old gell. Disgusting is the right word. Reception is dirty, no one sweeps or washes the floor it would seem. Animal skins on the floors stay upturned for almost as long as a guest decides to straighten them. Dirty coffee cups and plates stay on the terrace for hours. Whilst we were there someone let the towel drop into the swimming pool. It stayed by the side of the pool the whole morning and best part of the afternoon. The real shame is that the idea and the initial decor of the lodge is actually quite splendid. There are some fantastic features in the lobby. The ceiling which is made up of wooden slatts in differing heights has some amazing lighting. The long winding leather settee is really fabulous, the lighting and fixtures are modern stainless silver which contrasts beautifully with the rustic. Alas the staff is abominable, lazy, almost purposely obnoxious. Another thing, this is the first time ever that we checked in on departure. Apparently guests are too tired to check in when they arrive!!!! (nothing to do with the fact that receptionist is missing for best part of the day)
The only positive: the view from the terrace on the Fish River Canyon unsurpassable! Stay as little as you can, in fact try day visit if possible, the lodge is the pits.

Room Tip: All rooms look on to the canyon, they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The lodge it self is amazing, and it has the must stunning view of the Canyon, but it is its people led by Ruth that makes this place magical. We had the most fantastic 4 day glamping trip throught the Canyon, and our guides PJ and Ryan made sure that we arrived safely everyday to our camps.Thx for a fantastic stay, and the Wild Bunch hopes to visit you again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitewaterluksus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

After a 12 hour drive (5 on gravel roads) and one border crossing, we were shattered when we arrived, but the view when walking through to the pool area was stunning and uplifting.
Well worth staying for a couple of nights, to give you time to explore with the different options that are made available to you on arrival.

All Rooms have a great view from the edge of the canyon, 1 to 10 seem to offer a better angle though.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 to 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you are looking for peace and quite then this is the place for you. Fish River Lodge is situated some 2½ hrs away from any form of town or village on the very edge (literally) of the world's second largest canyon. To get to the lodge you must travel for 85km along a dirt road and then turn off onto a bumpy track for a further 14km. Needless to say it is best to arrive by 4x4, however, there was a couple who had driven there in a VW Polo, and a group who arrived by helicopter! However you arrive the effort is well worth it as the views are breath-taking. The accomodation consists of en-suite double occupancy units grouped around a central lodge on the edge of Fish River Canyon. As the lodge is so remote board is full and the very friendly staff offer a limited range of activities (based around drives and hikes into the canyon). Breakfast is substantial with a good choice of options, dinner is set and tends to cater for European tastes. Caters for those looking for adventure but with the need for a little luxury. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The carrot is the exceptional view that you only get at a lodge on this western side of the canyon. The service is attentive and friendly, no request is too much. The food is great. Had enough of civilisation and people? This is the place for you. Take the time to do the drive into the canyon (great job J.P. and Ryan). Be sure to swim in the rock pools. Everybody wants you to have a good time. The winds at the edge of the canyon can be a nuisance when you're trying to sleep - earplugs can be a good idea.
The stick is the 108 km drive from the paved road.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have the same breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

To arrive at the Fish River Lodge asks for some patience. The drive from Keetmanshoop is quite long and if you're driving a small car, it will be very slow. Looking back, this actually added to the overall experience we had. You feel as if you arrive at the end of the world, with the most beautiful view ever.

When we were there, only a couple of rooms were occupied, so it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were very helpful but seemed a bit bored at times. The room was very spatious and we loved the outdoor shower. Food was excellent as well.

Fish River Lodge was worth the long drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
27.4 km away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
28.2 km away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
27.3 km away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 km away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 km away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
422.1 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Lodge

Property: Fish River Lodge
Address: Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing