We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Fish River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This lodge is absolutely fantastic.
The views from this hotel fulfills everything the pictures promises (and more).
It costs some money to stay here, bur if you are upgrading one in a lifetime, this is the place to do it!
Stay two nights here, be sure to arrive in time for sunset the fist day, go for a walk or drive down the canyon day 2, and do a rim-walk the third day before our leave.
We will never forget this wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    153
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
78
335
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

You can drive hear with any normal car. A 4WD is not needed.
I came to Fish River Lodge with very high expectations - and I was not disappointed. The word "breathtaking" may be over-used but here it is most proper. Just staying at your room is enough. There is a platform outside. Place your bed here and sleep under the stars and wake up with the canyon at your feet.
The staff is not too "professional" but very friendly. Tell them what you want and they will do their very best. You don't come here for the food, but we got a very good springbok file and enjoyed all our meals including a nice breakfast.
There are two hikes, a short and a long. Both with stunning views. There is an evening sun-downer drive. You stop at two beautiful view points and get drinks and snacks at the last.
There is a fantastic day drive as well. It takes ca 7 hours and is well worth the high prize. Adventurous 4WD roads, we saw lots of wildlife and the stops are at places with fantastic views. We ended at some rock pools where we could swim in Fish River.
You can also do hikes with camping but we did not try that.
If you have a possibility to go here - just do it!
More about it: http://namibia.ellerstrand.se/?p=4354

Room Tip: There are 20 rooms, all the same (I think). The lowest and highest room numbers have the longest wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were not sure quite what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised on arrival - you can never quite be sure if the pictures are hiding something. On the drive to the lodge we were wondering if there was even a canyon.

Then we walked through the front doors and baboom! What a site. It really is a spectacular location. Nice little refresher drink on arrival was a nice touch.

The rooms are very nice, basic but nice. The views however, WOW.

Food is quite good - especially considering there isn't a grocery store for many many miles. The chef was good at providing different things each of our nights and we were wondering where the ingredients were coming from; kiwi's are not exactly growing in Namibia for instance but there they were in the fruit salad. Again, when you see how remote you are, fresh fruit and veg is something you just are not expecting.

The tour activities are good - we opted for the canyon drive which was quite fun. The less adventurous might find spots 'iffy' and walk them rather than be in the vehicle but it really was a lot of fun to have lunch down in the canyon floor by the river (which was flowing heavy on our trip).

One thing that was surprising - how utterly quiet it is. So quiet you can hear the blood pumping in your head and hear 'static' from your ears (when the wind isn't going of course).

Pool was beautiful - but it would have to be a really hot day for me to go in as its supposedly 11c when we were there. Chilly; you would want full on summer for a dip but its great for photos.

Outdoor shower - with that view. Hard to beat (there is an indoor one as well).

Staff was very friendly.

The lodge itself is beautiful; especially if its cooler and they light the two fireplaces at night.

Downsides...the generator about 1km away runs for 5 hours (I believe) a day. Fortunately its on a schedule so you can count on it shutting off and it doesn't run at nightime (I think it was 7pm latest and you were eating dinner during that final run). Being an eco lodge, the lights are led in the bathroom and they are very dim - topped up with our flashlilght so no biggie. We found the meat tended to be cooked more than what we considered normal - medium rare was medium well; order rare!

Definitely a great place and should we be back in the area we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Depending on what you like, the 'ends' are nice places to be. That means 1 or 20. The '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puteaux, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After few hours trip...you will REALLY deserve to rest at the Fish River Lodge. Five Stars for Design room, Sundown canyon and dining place. Manager and staffs are very kind and helpful...if you are able a ask for it! I had a really time last year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lodge. We were amazed by the views and the very friendly and helpfull staff and management. For example; we did forget some clothes in another lodge and they really helped us to find it and get it back! The food was also very good. I can recomend this lodge to everyone! The ride to it was not so bad. The D-road was an easy one, only the last 19 km you have to drive slowly. We did it with a normal car, no problems!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
675 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Arriving at this lodge I went to reception but no staff available. I did ask a employee at the bar if anyone would come to reception and the reply was "who would you like to see "I wanted to say my Preacher" The employee then told us when the meal times where and he took us to our Chalet. He was very kind and did carry the Key. We had to carry our luggage. On offer was made to assist us with the luggage. The views are just amazing and for that it is worth visiting this hotel for one night. Meals where OK service poor and the staff never greeted you when you passed by. Dirty Towels lying by the pool where not removed for hours. The carpets in the lobby turned over by a bit of wind where never turned back. It is a shame as this Lodge has a amazing location, the design is good and if they would get the service right WOW what a place this could be.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
621 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

When we arrived there was no one at reception. Eventually a reluctant individual turned up and informed us of meal times. We were given a room key. No one helped with the luggage. Room quite stylish, nice size bed, good size shower, cement floor . Bathroom amenities poor. Cheap shower gell, shampoo and body lotion in bottles differing sizes. . Shower gel bottle empty I asked for a new bottle after several hours I got a one third full bottle clogged up by old gell. Disgusting is the right word. Reception is dirty, no one sweeps or washes the floor it would seem. Animal skins on the floors stay upturned for almost as long as a guest decides to straighten them. Dirty coffee cups and plates stay on the terrace for hours. Whilst we were there someone let the towel drop into the swimming pool. It stayed by the side of the pool the whole morning and best part of the afternoon. The real shame is that the idea and the initial decor of the lodge is actually quite splendid. There are some fantastic features in the lobby. The ceiling which is made up of wooden slatts in differing heights has some amazing lighting. The long winding leather settee is really fabulous, the lighting and fixtures are modern stainless silver which contrasts beautifully with the rustic. Alas the staff is abominable, lazy, almost purposely obnoxious. Another thing, this is the first time ever that we checked in on departure. Apparently guests are too tired to check in when they arrive!!!! (nothing to do with the fact that receptionist is missing for best part of the day)
The only positive: the view from the terrace on the Fish River Canyon unsurpassable! Stay as little as you can, in fact try day visit if possible, the lodge is the pits.

Room Tip: All rooms look on to the canyon, they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
27.4 km away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
458 reviews
28.2 km away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
544 reviews
43.6 km away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
261 reviews
0.0 km away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
137 reviews
0.0 km away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Lodge

Property: Fish River Lodge
Address: Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing