We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the island”
Review of Villa Taketomi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Taketomi
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Spent two nights here over the Christmas season and this place is just fantastic. It was warm and beautiful. It is easy to walk all over the island, and in the two days we were there we leisurely explored all of it. The cabins are perfect. I stayed in the "Japanese style" cabin and it felt like the true Ryukan experience. The breakfasts are delicious and the owners are extremely kind. I did find a gecko in the shower one night but he didn't bother me!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Christiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here, being given a torch to lookout for snakes on the floor at night only added to the fun. Here you'll get the real deal; authentic Japanese food (If that's your thing - if not there's a small cafe nearby with great western food), near to a lovely beach, next to bike rental, fabulous service and staff. It's a lovely island and this is the perfect place to rest up and vanish from humanity for a few days. Can't recommend it highly enough but a part of you does need to tick the adventurous box...just a little... otherwise it's probably not your thing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bendyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our stay at Villa Taketomi was incredible. First of all, it is a boutique hotel with only around 10 small villas, something I like a lot. Their service and hospitality was great – the manager picked us up from the ferry port and was very helpful in explaining about the island, including good places to eat and the various beaches to visit. The villas are located about 25 minutes’ walk from the small town.

The villas themselves are very nice. We stayed in a traditional Japanese style villa with tatami mats and a futon to sleep on, which was really comfortable and cosy. The room also had a Japanese bathroom with a soaking tub. The villa felt less like a hotel room and more like our own small space for a couple of days, which was lovely.

Probably the best thing about Taketomi Villas is the food – it’s amazing! We had breakfast and dinner included, and were very impressed with the food quality, generosity and presentation – I would rate it as five star Japanese food. The meals also varied each day and often included traditional Okinawan dishes.

Staying at Villa Taketomi was incredibly peaceful and relaxing – it felt like another world. Taketomi Island itself is very small but I would happily return to enjoy the serenity, fresh air and unique feel of the island – and of course to stay at Villa Taketomi once more. I briefly considered staying at the very high end and very expensive Hoshinoya Taketomi Resort, but am so glad I chose Taketomi Villas instead. I thought it was very good value – everything about the hotel was simple, clean and luxurious in an understated way, and as stated above, the food was of the highest standard. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Villa Taketomi for anyone travelling to Taketomi Island.

Room Tip: I recommend the Japanese style room to be immersed in Okinawan culture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

It is indeed a beautiful and peaceful island with lots to see. The whole atmosphere is just relaxing. Surprisingly you may not likely to receive a key for your villa, because there's safe, they said. Many tourists rent bicycles and you'd learn that entire bikes in the island have no keys. Unwind yourself from all the hassles when you come here. The villa offers wonderful Okinawan cuisine and you'd certainly enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank June2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank ketty◎
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tolish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
1 km away
Hotel Peace Island Taketomijima
Hotel Peace Island Taketomijima
#2 of 2 in Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
80 reviews
5.3 km away
Ishigakijima Beach Hotel Sunshine
1 km away
HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island
HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island
#1 of 2 in Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Guesthouse Sukabura
Guesthouse Sukabura
#5 of 6 in Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
8 reviews
0.7 km away
Kohamaso
Kohamaso
#5 of 16 in Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
43 reviews
5.9 km away
Fusaki Resort Village
Fusaki Resort Village
#8 of 37 in Ishigaki
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Taketomi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Taketomi

Address: 1493 Taketomi, Taketomi-cho, Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho, Yaeyama-gun 907-1101, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Yaeyama-gun > Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality lodging in Taketomi-jima Taketomi-cho
Price Range: C$166 - C$379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing