We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
27
26
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
26
6
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Spent two nights here over the Christmas season and this place is just fantastic. It was warm and beautiful. It is easy to walk all over the island, and in the two days we were there we leisurely explored all of it. The cabins are perfect. I stayed in the "Japanese style" cabin and it felt like the true Ryukan experience. The breakfasts are delicious and the owners are extremely kind. I did find a gecko in the shower one night but he didn't bother me!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Christiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here, being given a torch to lookout for snakes on the floor at night only added to the fun. Here you'll get the real deal; authentic Japanese food (If that's your thing - if not there's a small cafe nearby with great western food), near to a lovely beach, next to bike rental, fabulous service and staff. It's a lovely island and this is the perfect place to rest up and vanish from humanity for a few days. Can't recommend it highly enough but a part of you does need to tick the adventurous box...just a little... otherwise it's probably not your thing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bendyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay at Villa Taketomi was incredible. First of all, it is a boutique hotel with only around 10 small villas, something I like a lot. Their service and hospitality was great – the manager picked us up from the ferry port and was very helpful in explaining about the island, including good places to eat and the various beaches to visit. The villas are located about 25 minutes’ walk from the small town.

The villas themselves are very nice. We stayed in a traditional Japanese style villa with tatami mats and a futon to sleep on, which was really comfortable and cosy. The room also had a Japanese bathroom with a soaking tub. The villa felt less like a hotel room and more like our own small space for a couple of days, which was lovely.

Probably the best thing about Taketomi Villas is the food – it’s amazing! We had breakfast and dinner included, and were very impressed with the food quality, generosity and presentation – I would rate it as five star Japanese food. The meals also varied each day and often included traditional Okinawan dishes.

Staying at Villa Taketomi was incredibly peaceful and relaxing – it felt like another world. Taketomi Island itself is very small but I would happily return to enjoy the serenity, fresh air and unique feel of the island – and of course to stay at Villa Taketomi once more. I briefly considered staying at the very high end and very expensive Hoshinoya Taketomi Resort, but am so glad I chose Taketomi Villas instead. I thought it was very good value – everything about the hotel was simple, clean and luxurious in an understated way, and as stated above, the food was of the highest standard. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Villa Taketomi for anyone travelling to Taketomi Island.

Room Tip: I recommend the Japanese style room to be immersed in Okinawan culture.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It is indeed a beautiful and peaceful island with lots to see. The whole atmosphere is just relaxing. Surprisingly you may not likely to receive a key for your villa, because there's safe, they said. Many tourists rent bicycles and you'd learn that entire bikes in the island have no keys. Unwind yourself from all the hassles when you come here. The villa offers wonderful Okinawan cuisine and you'd certainly enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews