We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABC base camp trek”

Annapurna Mountain Range
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Sarangkot Sunrise Tour from Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Nepal's famed mountain ranges, the Annapurna consists of several peaks of varying heights. Of these, Annapurna I and Annapurna II are the tallest at almost 8000 meters providing a spectacular panoramic view for anyone visiting the Himalayas.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ABC base camp trek”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Highly recommend this trek. You need a medium amount of fitness and plan to walk up to elevation of 4100 meters ( from about 1000 m start point). You will cover about 80 km ( plan to walk about 4-6 hours / most days) over 9-10 days and plan on walking up & down thousands of well constructed stone steps and some trails. The accommodation is lodges/ tea houses ( very inexpensive, delightful/ friendly/ basic but comfortable. Food is "set tourist menu" is identical at all lodges in the conservation park area, includes pizza, pasta, eggs of every style, cost is inexpensive and served with friendly smile. Best route/ faster route is probably more direct naya pul - ghandruk to chhomrong options on way up/ down. Other versions are longer hours and harder work for the unprepared!! Enjoy its brilliant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dalsholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    30
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ghorepani Poon Hill Trekking with RajNepal”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Ghorepani Poon-hill trek is a colorful and challenging short adventure into the Annapurna region. Which is one of the famous short trekking In Nepal.The trail winds through patchwork valleys, dense mossy forests and past icy waterfalls where you can stop to cool your face? Around every corner is a tantalizing glimpse of the high mountains, whole horizons of which will be revealed to you as you reach the high points of your trek. This trek in the Annapurna foothills to the astounding viewpoint on Poon Hill offers all the best of trekking in Nepal. Enjoy trekking in the spectacular mountain scenery through charming villages inhabited by the Gurungs, Magars dense rhododendron forests full of birds and deep sub-tropical valleys, all set below the Annapurna with the picturesque peak of Machhapuchhare (Fish Tail Peak) dominating the skyline. At the climax of this trek you will climb Poon Hill at dawn to enjoy one of the most spectacular mountain views on Earth. As the sun touches the snow-capped summits the Himalayan giants, Dhaulagiri (8167m) and Annapurna (8091m) along with a maze of other peaks, slowly begin to appear, like magic, before our eyes. A rewarding trek that can be enjoyed by every lover of nature and beautiful landscape.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
“Annapurna Trekking Experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I had a very good experience with "Nature House Treks and Expedition". I had detailed prior information about the trek before actually going there which helped me to prepare for the trip in advanced. It was an amazing experience trekking in Annapurna Base Camp.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Annapurna trekking with our favourite guide Kaji”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We are smitten! Being Norwegians, of course we have a flair for the mountains, but this is something else completely. Our first trip was in November and a 4 days hike in front of the fantastic Annapurna mountain range and covered Ulleri, Ghorepani, Tadepani, Ghandruk and finally the city of Phokara. The sunrise over the whole mountain range at Poon Hill is a memory that haunts and comforts us on a rainy day. Kaji is from the district and has been walking these mountains for many years. He arranged the best housing and food for us every place we came as he knows everybody along the route. The second trip was in March and an 8 days hike up the eastern route all up to Humde. Breathtaking scenery - along with fresh air and great exercise. Due to snowstorm on Thorung La we had to turn around. Kaji kept informed about the conditions all the way through his wide guide network and managed to get us back in time for our plane. He has guided groups and couples ranging from youths to seniors, so you do not need to be an experienced hiker. He does not recommend the hikes for young children unless they can be carried when they get tired. We are now planning our third trip and would recommend such an experience to anyone out there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedda Hoiland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Annapurna Base Camp with Sherpa Mountain Adventures”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

They say life is short and as the years start accelerating I am beginning to believe it. As residents of Colorado, our family loves the mountains. However, there are mountains in Colorado and then there are mountains in the Himalayas. It has always been a dream to trek in the Himalayas and to see the white capped giants that dwarf the mountains in Colorado. We began planning our trip by doing what everyone does.. surf the net for information and trekking companies. We discussed the various trekking routes and in the end decided on the Annapurna Base Camp Trek for its environmental and cultural variety. Pricing was all within a few hundred dollars and I questioned what we would get if we went with a more expensive trip. However, after going on the trip and talking to other hikers, I am now well aware of the differences in trekking companies.
Sherpa Mountain Adventures is based in Boulder, Colorado. The advantage of working with a company in the US is that they have a sense of what is expected in a tour/trek. My main concerns in planning were safety and health. Trekking when your feet hurt or your stomach is upset can quickly turn a dream trip into a nightmare. I wanted to know that we would always be safe and I wanted to minimize any health issues. Of course, when you speak to travellers who have trekked in Nepal they will quickly tell you that you are going to get sick and to take Cipro with you. I was totally prepared with 25% of my luggage dedicated to pills and bandages. However, when you select a trekking company that understands the importance of health and safety, then 25% of your luggage will never be touched ( I did feel bad for the porters having to carry it all ).

Our trekking group was set up by Karma Sherpa at Sherpa Mountain Adventures. Months before we left for our trip he met us and went over our expectations. He wanted to know what was important to us. A few months before the trip he went hiking with us to make sure that we would be in shape to enjoy the trip. Karma worked hard to make sure that everything about the trip would be wonderful. I was a little concerned that for the four of us we would have a guide, an assistant guide, two porters and a cook. It seemed a little over kill but Karma’s attention to detail and desire to be prepared for anything allowed us to relax during the entire trip.
Kathmandu can be a little crazy. The airport there is not like flying into Denver International. It’s a little chaotic and after flying half way around the world, you’re a little tired. From the time we landed in Kathmandu till the time we got back on the plane to come home, our guide, Phruwa, was with us or nearby. It’s nice when someone picks you up, takes care of your baggage, takes you to your hotel, checks you in and welcomes you to his country with open arms.
We spent the next day touring Kathmandu and Bhaktapur . The nice thing about Sherpa Mountain is that they are flexible in their plans. We had a certain agenda of things we wanted to do. Our driver and guide were completely flexible on taking us to the sites that we had researched. Phruwa knew the “safe” places to eat and when to go where. Everything was timed perfectly. Our daughter and her friend wanted to Paraglide in Pokhara so we spent an afternoon paragliding and enjoying the lake. We had time to venture off to shops and to enjoy the restaurants in both Kathmandu and Pokhara.

The trek was beautiful. The scenery was outstanding, the hiking and villages were fascinating and the people were wonderful. Here is where the difference in trekking companies and trips occurs. As we hiked to Ghorepani then to the Annapura Base Camp we met people who were experiencing health problems. Having a cook travelling with you and a guide who is a stickler for sanitation was well worth any extra cost. Two and a half weeks in Nepal and we left the country with not even the slightest illness of any kind. I saw the cook and porters pre-rinsing our cups and utensils. We had hand wipes to use before our meals. They used clean water for everything and they were so careful in their food preparation even in very basic kitchen conditions. The other benefit is that we had special food that the porters carried for us. Within the Annapurna region the menu’s at the tea houses are set throughout the trek. Luckily for us, we had special treats every day...including some very fancy jalapeno and garlic tuna, cookies, chocolates and cheesecake.

One of the issues that can arise during the busy months of October and November is that the Tea Houses on the Trek can be quite crowed and in fact full. During one of our days, we had heard that trekkers were having to trek longer than expected for the day because the villages were full. This is the beauty of the assistant guide. First thing in the morning, our assistant guide woke up early and ran up to the village that we were planning on reaching in the afternoon to secure our rooms. This is what you get on a worry free vacation.
We set out on this trip to see the Himalaya Mountains but what I ended up enjoying the most was the wonderful stories that Phruwa told us. I noticed that the guiding business in Nepal has probably grown a lot and that the common factor of many guides is that they are young and they speak English. I’m not sure what qualifications you need to be a guide but there doesn’t seem to be a shortage of them. The difference in what we saw on the trail and our trip was the knowledge of the guide. Phruwa, who also happens to be Karma’s brother, is a Sherpa. I learned that Sherpa is an ethnic group that lives in the most mountainous regions of Nepal. This group of people has been helping foreigners trek and climb for years. In fact, sometimes people think that the word Sherpa means guide or porter. This is not true. I learned about the cast system that exist ( in some form ) in Nepal. I learned about the different ethnic groups and how marriages can be arranged. I learned that even though the job of a porter looks so difficult, that they can be very happy. I learned that joy is internal and only controlled by yourself. My soul experienced a transformation through the many conversations I had with Phruwa and the rest of the group.

Both Phruwa and Karma, as well as the rest of their ethnic group have been supporting treks for years. Their experience is priceless. If you want safety than you absolutely want a guide like Phruwa ( or a guide that Karma trusts) who has seen it all and knows what to do in any situation. Phruwa had wonderful stories regarding the many multinational expeditions he has supported to the many summits in the Himalayas. He told us of stories that ended in triumph as well as those that ended in tragedy. I completely trusted his judgment in every situation. We did experience some other traveller’s having a situation in the middle of the night at the base camp. Even though the party was not officially a part of our group it was Phruwa, who resolved the situation and advised the other guide of safety precautions that should be used. His priceless years of experience not only lead our trip to be successful but he also offered his wisdom to others who were experiencing altitude sickness. When you are far away in the mountains, you do want someone who knows what to do in every situation and will not hesitate to call in support if needed. This is the difference between other alternatives and Sherpa Mountain Adventures.
Lastly, I know that I will always be friends with Karma and Phruwa. We had dinner at Phruwa’s house on our last evening in Kathmandu. He treated us like family and we ate, drank and danced in his living room. For Karma, Sherpa Mountain Adventures is a conduit of how he can allow others to enjoy the beauty of the part of the world that he loves. Karma is always thinking about home. He loves his country as well as the neighboring countries and is constantly thinking of ways that he can give back to improve the lives of the villagers and all people in Nepal.

I am so happy that we decided to plan our trip with Karma. The mountains were stunning, the lodging was comfortable, the people were amazing. All of our support personnel were so pleasant and cheerful. They always had food ready when we got to the tea houses and they were always accommodating to any request made.
In the end, we planned a trip to trek through the mountains. What we got was a journey into our souls. Our lives have been enriched by not only what we saw but what we learned. Karma and Phruwa.. Thank You.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank carolm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annapurna Mountain Range also viewed

Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 
Annapurna Region, Gandaki Zone
 

Been to Annapurna Mountain Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing