We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial experience in the old vigan city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vigan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Angela Heritage House
Ranked #3 of 30 Vigan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Colonial experience in the old vigan city”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This guest house is situated nearby the main and pedestrian street of vigan. The whole property is true and old heritage mansion of the town.
Room is all made of wood and is decorated with colonial furniture. It is possible to visit other room of the house. Management is really nice helpfull and welcoming.
Unfortunately bed is also old time standard and is two much bendind of the bed base (canned type). Beds are equiped with mosquito net.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_gir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
37
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

the villa angela is one of the antique buildings of vigan with antique furnitures.
the room was lovely and staff very welcoming.
sleeping was not as good as expected due to the noise of motos and traffic in the morning, and also because an antique bed is not as comfortable as a modern one (canned bed base)
we tested the filipinos breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maguie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

For antique lovers and those who want more than a hotel experience this is a perfect place. The house has many antique furniture including the canopy beds we slept in.Walking distance to the old Spanish neighborhood and many restaurants. Helpful staff and relaxing venue. You are treated like one of the family.

Room Tip: Get a room with attached bath if your are the type to get up at night. We had to go through four set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmezedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Booked this place for its vintage feel and true enough it was.

Ms. Maricris greeted me with a sweet smile and ushered me to my room. I was traveling alone so the Pequeno room was good enough for me. Trivia - they have 4 original rooms, each to accommodate the brewing family that inhabited the place long ago. One masters room for the heads of the house, the cuarto delos hijos (supposedly for the boys), the delas hijas (for the girls), and the Pequeno room (nursery) where I stayed. There are two dormitories at the ground floor for travelers in groups.

Interesting thing about the place is the abundance of old furniture in the kitchen and living room which I enjoyed taking pictures of. And yes, this includes Tom Cruise's picture (before he was even famous, prior to his first Academy Award nomination for the movie he shoot at Ilocos) with Mrs. Angela - owner of the villa when he stayed there in 1989. Surprising part was the whole mansion was wifi-ready, but i was there for some R & R so didn't need it.

The staff were excellent. Ms. Maricris and her husband made sure my needs were attended. They even offered to drive me to the plaza for some dinner time at Cafe Leona. Their family lived at the bottom floor so they were easily available anytime you need for anything.

For breakfast, I had Vigan longganisa and some banana. Two big dining tables occupied the dining area. It felt like I was in that Noli Me Tangere scene.

Overall, the place was excellent for a vintage gal like me and the staff were really made me feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Master room has two huge windows if you like more sun. El Pequeno has no CR so you have to go out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orange_clouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The place is a very cozy colonial estate, a taste of old hispanic heritage. Very warm & hospitable accomodation with all basic needs met. Beds & beddings are in good condition; bathroom is clean and dining area is clean. You need some mosquito repellant, though. Husband & wife team as villa staff is very good & both are very easy to deal with. Yes, next time we go to Vigan it's gonna be Villa Angela again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanjung Bungah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Villa Angela is the quintessential Filipino heritage mansion, complete with capiz shell windows, narra furniture especially the dining tables, four-post beds, and giant hardwood floor boards. Most of the home's interior has been left the way it was, or at least arranged the way it might have been in the past, which is great for history/heritage enthusiasts. There have been compromises for comfort and convenience, but just enough to satisfy, without disturbing the ambience of antiquity which exudes from every corner of the house.

We stayed in the Cuarto Pequeno throughout our 3-night stay, one of the smallest in the house and probably what was once an adjoining child's room to a larger room next door. Don't be fooled though, as the room has more than enough space for 2 people, and might even fit 3, as there is both a double bed and a single bed. The room is as true to what a room from 100 years ago would have been like, except of course for the box-unit aircon, the fluorescent light and the TV - not that we were complaining! There is also a big antique wardrobe in the room for hanging clothes and placing bags, and some bits of yellowed paper stuck on the inside of the door give an interesting insight to a memorable event for a family member long ago. Sleep quality is slightly affected by the soft mattress, but more so because of the sagging 'woven net' support underneath. Some hard planks to replace the original supports would remedy this.

I was thanking the heritage gods that our room did not have an ensuite as it adds to the originality of the place. Instead, we have an assigned bathroom just past the show kitchen beside our room. The bathroom was relatively well kept, though some more cleaning and maintenance would be ideal. Hot water is always a bonus and this we had.

The sala and the antesala are like showpiece displays from a museum, but the difference is you get to sit on the chairs and sofas (surprisingly still sturdy and firm), relax on a lazy day and just dream of yourself as a wealthy mestizo tycoon. The sungka boards are an engaging way of whiling away some hours. Just ask the staff for some basic instructions!

Breakfast is included, the SE Asian way, with rice. We had chopped tomatoes drizzled with some dressing, fried egg, and either tapsilog, deep fried fish and best of all, Vigan longganisa. If you love garlic and pork, you will never forget these little sausages! Food was nicely done, and served in a private setting, either in the antesala or in the kitchen, complete with properly laid table arrangements, and quality tableware.

Service was with a smile, and with the occasional conversational insight into local lives and sights. We were kindly offered the use of the office computer when we needed to make some urgent reservations for the next leg of our trip - at no extra charge. I was asking about reference books, and the staff went and searched for some for me to go through.

Located just a few streets away from the main buzz, the location ensures some peace yet still within walking distance to food, attractions and other amenities. This is not the place for those expecting a modern hotel, or those who expect current day standards of furnishing and facility. But I cannot think of a better place for those who treasure heritage homes, like them as authentic as possible and have always dreamt of staying in one - if they served full-board, you could even stay in all day and just relax, enjoy the ambience and tuck into your favorite reading. Just to make sure, we went through town to look at all the other houses offering stays and Villa Angela was the only one without thoroughly modernized interiors or gaudy add-ons which spoilt the age-old feel.

Oh, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rudy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

One of the very few well preserved historical lodging in Vigan with its large spaces, huge doors and antique "muebles". Though a couple of blooks from Calle Crisologo, this serves a retreat to the buzzling Vigan town center. Excellent service as well from the care takers. You can ask them to cook your favorite Ilocano dish for you and guide you through different historical sites.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lancelot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 km away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
0.2 km away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
3.8 km away
One Vittoria Hotel
One Vittoria Hotel
#2 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Angela Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angela Heritage House

Property: Villa Angela Heritage House
Address: # 26 Quirino Blvd, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a rich depository of the family's relics and memorabilia acquired through the years, Villa Angela remains a showcase of the family's past and present standing in the Vigan community. The upper floor has been continuously maintained to be as elegant as it was over 100 years ago. The rooms are filled with antique furniture seen only in big colonial houses. There are four family rooms, equipped with airconditioning, cable TV, large four-poster colonial beds, and T/B. On the lower floor, what were once storage areas for the family's farm produce of rice, corn, maguey, and tobacco have been converted into two cozy dormitory-style rooms which can accommodate larger groups, between 10-12 people each, equipped with airconditioning, cable TV, and toilet/shower facilities. Rates vary for the family rooms, from P1,900 to 3,200 per room per night (regular rates). Published Room Rates for January 2017 - January 2018 CUARTO DEL SEÑOR 2 pax, a/c. ensuite T&B Bed: 1 King size four poster bed Regular: P2,900.00. Peak: P3,200.00 CUARTO DE LAS HIJAS 4 pax, a/c, ensuite T&B Beds: 1 Queen size, 1 Double size, 1 Twin size - all four poster beds Regular: P3,200.00. Peak: P3,600.00 CUARTO DE LOS HIJOS 4 pax, a/c, private T&B outside, Veranda Beds: 1 King size, 1 Double size, 1 Single size - all four poster beds Regular: P3,200.00. Peak: P3,600.00 CUARTO PEQUEÑO 2 pax, a/c, private T&B outside Beds: 1 Twin size, 1 Single size - all four poster beds Regular: P1,900.00. Peak: P2,400.00 DORMITORYO A 10 pax, a/c, private T&B Beds: 5 Single size double deck beds Regular: P5,900.00. Peak: P6,900.00 DORMITORYO B 12 pax, a/c, private T&B Beds: 6 Single size double deck beds Regular: P7,000.00. Peak: P8,200.00 DORMITORYO BARATO fan cooled, common T&B, folding cot with mattress Regular: P600/pax. Peak: P700/pax Extra Bed/Person (Can be added in all rooms) Bed: Folding cot with mattress Regular: P600.00. Peak: P700.00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Angela Heritage House Hotel Vigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing