We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were lucky enoughto get the upstairs room with the balcony. Balcony was great for chilling on hammock and doing some yoga. Breakfast of pancakes is included as is tea and coffee. There is a good book swap, computer and good wifi signal. Staff are friendly and helpful. Its a short walk to central square. There is also a kitchen you can use. The staff helped us out by storing our bags whilst we headed to the beach for a night. Good for backpackers or people on a budget. We paid about $28 for the nicest room in there. More on Leon and nicaragua at www.onelongvoyage.com

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    75
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
93
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

amazing!!, super chill, great vibe, friendly knowledgable staff...full, modern kitchen with free pancake breakfast!! i came for a night and atay 7... a great place to relax and meet new people.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I literally checked every hostel in the center of Leon and could not find one better (for us). If you want to party hard, maybe try via via, but if you want the mellow vibe with good music, a nice pool table, relaxed common area, and great staff, this is the place. Santos and Olin are always around to handle any of your questions or just tell you something interesting about Nicaragua. The free pancakes are delicious. One other nice thing is the size, there aren't too many rooms, so you actually get to know most of the other travelers. The internet is very fast and free which is very nice. They also did our laundry for us while we were there and did a very good job. Go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
210 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We decided to stay at Tortuga Booluda after reading the good reviews in Lonely Planet.

It's relatively close to the city centre and 20 mins. away from the bus which takes to Las Peñitas Beach.

The atmosphere at this hostel is great with spacious common areas and a huge kitchen. They offer free breakfast (that means DIY pancakes and a mug of warm coffee) and free wifi.

Our big complain is the room we got... We decided to book a two bed room with an ensuite bathroom. When we entered the room, the first thing we noticed was how warm it was and it didn't get better. At night we temperature gets unbearable and the ventilators don't help at all.

After three days in our room, the smell of the bathroom was terrible. The lack of both proper ventilation and maintenance turned the room into a sauna.

I don't know how the other rooms were, but ours was an absolute cr**p.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tortugabooluda, Owner at Hostal La Tortuga Booluda, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
My name is Olin and I am one of the owners of Tortuga Booluda. I am so sorry your experience at our hostel was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention.

We take pride in the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, bathrooms, and common spaces. Our policy has always been to clean every bathroom in the house every single day. I apologize if this did not happen during your stay and as a result of your experience, have reiterated with each member of our staff this policy to assure that no one else has the same experience you did.

In addition, given your experience and Leon’s notoriety for being the hottest city in Nicaragua, we have now ensured that there are at least two fans in every room to help try to keep them cooler, and that there are additional fans on hand should any guests request more than two.
Again, we appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us t improve our hostel and continue to work hard to maintain the positive reputation we have earned as a clean, safe, and comfortable hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I`m not sure what to say about this place other than its a great value for you money. we paid 30 dollars for one night in a three bed room. nice and cool even without a/c. Nice staff, free pancakes for breakfast and you can walk almost anywhere. I do not recommend sleeping on the table.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hostel is good because it's a little bit further from the traveller scene so is a tranquil place to stay. The bar is well stocked and there is a nice sitting area. It's also really good value and the staff are really kind.
We did an overnight trek with Quetzaltrekkers and the reception allowed us to keep our stuff in lockers there rather than going with everything to QT.
The night receptionist recommended some good places to eat-Comedor/Buffet San Benitos and Hollywood Pizza.
The downsides are that the room we had was swelteringly hot. We could only sleep if we had a fan on each of us. This was loud but OK because we were the only two in a 6 man room as there were only 2 fans. The pancakes aren't great and it takes ages to cook enough for a good breakfast. The coffee had no milk or creamer. I'd buy something in rather than this if you're staying for long. The kitchen needs a thorough clean as the units were very sticky.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muesli_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hostel is a nice quiet retreat away from the party hostels. It's an easy walk to a lovely supermarket and has a nice kitchen and pancake mix in the mornings. It's an old house with courtyard, has wifi and book exchange. It's an easy walk to the main square, museums and some nice restaurants. The room we had was a private ensuite with two fans. It was very hot 
so cold showers were no problem! Nice owner and friendly staff. Free coffee available as well. They sell large beers at a reasonable price. We caught the Tica bus to San Pedro de Sula in Honduras and they sent a taxi very early to collect us. The night porter woke up to let us out without any problems. Would recommend for a quiet stay but they need more hammocks!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.7 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.5 km away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#4 of 62 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 km away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#2 of 62 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#7 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#5 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.1 km away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Property: Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing