We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
187
56
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
56
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course dinner comfortable rooms walking holiday horizons generations forest village alsace
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 260 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Great views and good food; although only here for one night due to availability we loved the place and the welcome given to us and our dog was warm and friendly. Our room (24) was fresh and light with fabulous views and a good shower room completed our needs. The restaurant (see separate review) also has astounding views and makes for a perfect breakfast @13.5Eur; really good quality ingredients with a lovely selection of local cheeses and meat, home made jams and good bread as well as eggs. We dallied a little to enjoy the vista as well as the tea and coffee and would return in a flash; the young owners seem to have got the balance right. The wifi had a strong signal and both my phone and iPad worked well thanks to Matthias ensuring that I had two sign ons. One regret is that we did not see more of him and his cooking as what we did eat was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryplumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely room looking over the valley in this hotel. It was large and so was the shower room. There were two small problems, the shower pressure was very low and the wifi very erratic. It also did not have kettles, safe or minibar but it was very comfortably furnished. The staff and owners were very friendly and so was the dog! The food in the restaurant was excellent but the service a bit slow. Breakfast was good too. A beautiful area for walking.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Arrived on a very hot afternoon about 2 00pm expecting a rest and a cold drink. The situation is magnificent. The mountain views superb. The drive up a bit hair raising, but worth it. We were very disappointed to discover it closed. Gardeners were working on the garden. It looked like a building site. We assumed it was closed down and were considering our options when we discovered a sign on a door saying closed till 3 45pm. We called the tel number on this sign, but got no answer. A cleaning lady then appeared to be leaving so asked her for access from the heat. Refused until she made a call.eventually we were shown by this lady to a room. Through a not v clean hall used to store a bike, old sewing machine and baby car seat down a musty smelling stairs to a musty smelling depressing room. It must be one of the worst hotel rooms I have stayed in. However the beds were clean. No WiFi in bedrooms. Only at small reception. We had booked half board for 3 nights without realising dinner meant 3 courses for €33 pp no choice. One evening the chicken was underdone and I was afraid to eat it. Left it on my plate. Dinner was a 3 hour affair. 45mins for dessert. After waiting the 45mins we asked if we could have our dessert. My husband outlined our complaints but Madam ranted very quickly about fresh cooked food, staff shortage, etc and refused to listen to him. I asked her if she could just listen and she stalked off in a temper. We cancelled dinner the following night and were glad to leave the following morning. I certainly could only recommend the view. Awful place.

Room tip: Do not choose Room 7. The key to room 7 also opens room 8 as I discovered by mistake
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mcoffey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Have really enjoyed our visit. Place is located in a very remote rural setting. One of the places where you do not hear motorway noise (which is rare nowadays) Hotel is very clean and has all basic fittings for good quality sleep. Restaurant is worth to visit even without staying in the hotel. Food was superb, one of the rare combination of fresh ingridients, high quality cooking skills ofcthe chef and not overcomplicating the dish. Menu is not extensive that suggests regular change based on the season availability of ingridients. Breakfast was enjoyable as well with fresh bread, local honey and cheese selection. Thank you for your hospitality we will deffinetely come back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyOf2PlusOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2015

We had another very pleasant stay here, a very quiet, comfortable & relaxing base for exploring the beautiful villages of the Alsace. Our room in the main building was very comfortable and elegant in it’s simplicity, tho they do need to replace the latching mechanism in one of the windows. The bath was modern & spotless. The food was very good, though portions seemed smaller than in years past (not altogether bad if you’ve had choucroute for lunch), and the limited kitchen staff made for a very relaxed dining pace. This wasn’t an issue for us, however, since this was our evening’s entertainment. Note that both restaurant and hotel are closed Monday & Tuesday. We look forward to returning.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews