We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great find!”
other travellers have booked this property
Longere du Bois Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area
Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Lounge area
Downstairs double room
Wetroom ensuite downstairs
Upstairs king bedroom
King bedroom ensuite
Twin room
Twin room ensuite
Playfield
Playfield and swings
Our woods. Beech tree
Fern lined path in our woods
Italian Cypress in our woods
Sun on winding path in our woods
Cancale port and Aqua Sea
Mont Saint Michel
Roofs on the Mont
And to finish sunset in our woods
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avranches, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
TheLighti...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great find!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fancied May half-term in France, so limited time dictated a location close to the Channel ports with plenty to do in the surrounding area if the weather was dodgy. The Longere du Bois was spot on within easy striking distance of Mont St-Michel (touristy but great in the evening), St-Malo (ramparts), Cancale (oysters and coastal path), and Dinan (castle and riverboats) just for starters.
Travelled en famille (kids aged 11 & 13) via Caen, so including a supermarket sweep of the Carrefour at Ouistreham, we arrived safely on the doorstep less than 2 hrs later (directions impeccable). The lovely owner, Cherry, was on hand to usher us into the spotlessly clean and comfy gite with it's 2 double and 1 twin ensuite rooms, fully-equipped kitchen (more of that later) and there was just time to take a quick wander in the pint-sized "forest" with its beautifully mown paths before dashing off to Pontorson to find supper - can''t recommend La Grillon highly enough for cheap and cheerful steak and chips or traditional Breton galettes (conveniently made of buckwheat perfect for our coeliac daughter). During our stay the weather was relatively "dodgy", so we didn't make as much use of the outside space as we'd hoped, but drinks in the sunshine with Cherry one evening and several games of spectacularly inept badminton. We were joined by a friend from Paris with her two kids for a couple of nights and discovered the previously unused sofa bed to accommodate "overflow". The next day with a house full and an unappetising light drizzle forecast all day, we took the kids off to run around the fabulous topiary garden at La Ballue, just SW of Antrain. It's a great little place, stuck out in the middle of nowhere, but fantastic-for-kids hide-and-seek pathways,sculpted hedges and maze, plus delicious coffee and homemade cakes for refuelling purposes!
Suffice to say, we had a great six days at the Longere and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this terrific little gite to any one looking to stay in this part of the world. Cherry has put so much thought and attention to detail into decorating and equipping her gite that it really is a "home from home" from the stack of games (we tried to teach ourselves Cluedo, not entirely successfully), to the CD player, the kitchen extras like dishwasher tabs and bin bags, the nice smelly soap and crisp cotton duvet covers, and of course if you forget the olive oil for your ratatouille or need a pair of scales to make your birthday cake, Cherry will gallop to the rescue like the best kind of nextdoor neighbour.
So what are you waiting for? Book now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washing machine
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers477
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding fun and relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful holiday in this outstanding gite. It was comfortable, spotlessly clean and extremely cosy. It really was a 'home-from-home'. The owner was such a lovely lady, so friendly and ready to help in any way she could, whenever we needed her. She had thought of absolutely everything that a family might need for the gite - from toys and safety equipment for the children to kitchen foil to wrap picnic sandwiches! She was wonderful with our children and they adored her.
For us, with small children (aged 2 and 6), the real bonus was the huge, safe garden (with swings) and vast enclosed woodland for the children to explore. They absolutely loved it - so much so that they preferred staying at their - 'French home' to going out on day trips! But there were so many wonderful places nearby- and fairly quickly and easily accessible by car - to visit that we had to leave the place occasionally!
We really feel lucky to have found this place and would highly recommend it to anyone, particularly families with young children like ours. We all had a so much fun and a thoroughly relaxing holiday. We can't wait to go back! Amazing value for money.
Just one comment about the website - it says it is located in St Aubin de Terregate but it is actually just outside Crollon. This made initially finding the place a little tricky until we called the extremely helpful owner who talked us in and even drove to Crollon to meet us and show us the final destination! Thank you Cherry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful garden/woodland and friendly owner
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetie D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Gite in excellent location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed in a number of gites & villas and this rates as one of the best. The gite itself is in a brilliant location to explore both Normandy and Brittany as it sits near the borders. It was very clean,cosy and exceptionally well equipped, the beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed. We found the owner, Cheryl, to be friendly and welcoming. We had 2 young children, 3 & 7, and they were well catered for with night lights,games/books, bath mats ect...
We would definitely return to this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General standard of accommodation
Liked least: Proximity to road
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic quiet family orientated gite with wonderful owners”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A beautiful converted gite with plenty of freedom to allow your children to roam! The gite itself is immaculate, with three bedrooms each with their own bathrooms. The kitchen/living space is ample with the choice of using the BBQ if you wish to cook outside. The field and swings make a perfect place for children to play and the woods (all fenced in) provides the cherry on the cake. Mont saint Michel can be seen through the woods and it is actually only a twenty minutes ride in the car. It is beautiful lit up at night. Close to Ducey, Avranches and Carolles beach. Perfect for a family particularly those with members who have physical or mental impairments (as we do) as the bedroom downstairs has a walk-in shower and there is a ramp leading up to the gite. The owners are wonderful, very helpful and accommodating ( nothing is too much trouble). We will definitely be going again as it was our perfect getaway. For us no more airports, paying a fortune for a car when abroad, tedious 6-7 o'clock dinners then thinking what should we do now? And no more groundhog days of going to the beach/pool repeatedly. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom!
Liked least: Flies
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDevize...
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent gite in ideal location to explore NE Brittany”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Recently returned from a fabulous week at Longere du Bois. Gite was clean, comfortable and very well equipped and Cheryl the host couldn't have been more amiable. The kids enjoyed the adjacent woods and the play area with its swings and badminton net.

The gite is well located for exploring the NE of Brittany and parts of Normandy. Mont St Michel was just 10 mins away, while the lovely cove beaches near Cancale, the delightful port of St Malo and the medieval wonders of Dinan and Rennes were all within an hours drive. There's a quaint bakery in the nearby village of Vergoncey and several good boulangerie/patisserie in St James just a few mins drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well-equipped, comfortable gite
Liked least: The occasional noise from the odd car/tractor that passed by!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireHar...
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautifully equipped, friendly hostess”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is one of my all-time favourite gites. It is thoughtfully equipped with modern facilities but still maintaining the old-world charm of stone and wood beams.

The hostess was very friendly with excellent local recommendations. The location is very convenient for beaches, seafood, historical towns and Le Mont - St Michel.

Overall, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully equipped
Liked least: Wifi was only accessible from the garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite was so clean, attractive and welcoming.
Liked least: Not sure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing